OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Program Recommendations for Debian
ArchiMark
post Jun 27 2018, 08:35 AM
Post #16





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,646
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(galodoido @ Jun 27 2018, 09:08 AM) *
Try this : remove .config/lxqt/globalkeyshortcuts.conf. logout and login.



Thanks for your help....tried it, but no change.....

blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jun 27 2018, 12:14 PM
Post #17





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,646
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Went ahead and re-flashed Gemini with the new multi-boot....now, I can boot directly into Debian without pressing any buttons....nice....

So far, all is good....

biggrin.gif

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
galodoido
post Jun 28 2018, 10:49 AM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 13-May 18
Member No.: 822,555



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Jun 27 2018, 05:14 PM) *
Went ahead and re-flashed Gemini with the new multi-boot....now, I can boot directly into Debian without pressing any buttons....nice....

So far, all is good....

biggrin.gif

Mark


What about exagear + wine ?

I will reflash my gemini, but I am planning to install exagear . But I think problem you have mentioned can occur. So, if the keyboard layout has disapearead as you said is really a big problem.
Did you reinstall exagear ?
Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kiriririn
post Jun 28 2018, 10:55 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 19-January 18
Member No.: 816,673



QUOTE(galodoido @ Jun 28 2018, 07:49 PM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Jun 27 2018, 05:14 PM) *
Went ahead and re-flashed Gemini with the new multi-boot....now, I can boot directly into Debian without pressing any buttons....nice....

So far, all is good....

biggrin.gif

Mark


What about exagear + wine ?

I will reflash my gemini, but I am planning to install exagear . But I think problem you have mentioned can occur. So, if the keyboard layout has disapearead as you said is really a big problem.
Did you reinstall exagear ?
Thank you.


I had this problem and fixed it, iirc by copying some keyboard layout related stuff in /usr from backup (seems something in the exagear installation deletes it)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
galodoido
post Jun 28 2018, 10:57 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 13-May 18
Member No.: 822,555



QUOTE(Kiriririn @ Jun 28 2018, 03:55 PM) *
QUOTE(galodoido @ Jun 28 2018, 07:49 PM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Jun 27 2018, 05:14 PM) *
Went ahead and re-flashed Gemini with the new multi-boot....now, I can boot directly into Debian without pressing any buttons....nice....

So far, all is good....

biggrin.gif

Mark


What about exagear + wine ?

I will reflash my gemini, but I am planning to install exagear . But I think problem you have mentioned can occur. So, if the keyboard layout has disapearead as you said is really a big problem.
Did you reinstall exagear ?
Thank you.


I had this problem and fixed it, iirc by copying some keyboard layout related stuff in /usr from backup (seems something in the exagear installation deletes it)


Ok. Thank you so much !

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jun 28 2018, 11:21 AM
Post #21





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,646
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Yes, reinstalled exagear and wine.

Had keyboard issue again, but restarted and so far, no problem since then.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
galodoido
post Jun 28 2018, 11:47 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 13-May 18
Member No.: 822,555



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Jun 28 2018, 04:21 PM) *
Yes, reinstalled exagear and wine.

Had keyboard issue again, but restarted and so far, no problem since then.

Ok.
Thank you again.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eric BF
post Jun 29 2018, 12:33 AM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 25-June 18
Member No.: 824,997



I installed: abiword, gnumeric, feh, rhythmbox, and then all the tools required to install and compile Emacs (gcc, git, autoconf, ..., long list).

My main use case is Emacs with org mode and my system boots directly into Debian by default.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jakfish
post Jun 29 2018, 03:40 AM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 261
Joined: 12-September 10
Member No.: 91,772



>>Yes, reinstalled exagear and wine.<<

I was looking at exagear to run in Android, but pulled back when I read that it doesn't have touch screen capability, that you have to use a mouse. Could you confirm this?

Thanks,
Jake
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SNi
post Jun 29 2018, 05:59 AM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 14-June 04
From: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Member No.: 3,682



Would be fantastic if someone could get IQNotes (source in Github) compiled/working in Debian. I used it the past 15 years on my various Zauri, it's great as an outliner, to-do, list app, etc., etc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eric BF
post Jun 30 2018, 05:03 AM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 25-June 18
Member No.: 824,997



QUOTE(SNi @ Jun 29 2018, 02:59 PM) *
Would be fantastic if someone could get IQNotes (source in Github) compiled/working in Debian. I used it the past 15 years on my various Zauri, it's great as an outliner, to-do, list app, etc., etc.

Given the instructions on the github page, it should be straightforward to compile & install. It requires qmake which is available in Debian.

By the way, Emacs has org mode which does all that IQNotes seems to do. You can install Emacs by simply "sudo apt install emacs25" and it should have org mode available.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SNi
post Jul 1 2018, 03:06 PM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 14-June 04
From: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Member No.: 3,682



QUOTE(Eric BF @ Jun 30 2018, 05:03 AM) *
QUOTE(SNi @ Jun 29 2018, 02:59 PM) *
Would be fantastic if someone could get IQNotes (source in Github) compiled/working in Debian. I used it the past 15 years on my various Zauri, it's great as an outliner, to-do, list app, etc., etc.

Given the instructions on the github page, it should be straightforward to compile & install. It requires qmake which is available in Debian.
By the way, Emacs has org mode which does all that IQNotes seems to do. You can install Emacs by simply "sudo apt install emacs25" and it should have org mode available.

1. I tried to install Emacs25 per your suggestion, but get 'Reading package list... Done' then 'Building dependency tree...Done' then 'E: Unable to locate package emacs 25' error message. Actually I get a similar 'unable to locate' error message for any/everything I have tried to install thus far!

Per my (admittedly extremely limited) knowledge there should be a sources.list file in /etc/apt/ that "tells" the system the repository source (at least that is what is on my desktop). On my Gemini there is no such file, but there are two files, multistrap-debian.list (pointing at the 'regular' Debian repository) and multistrap-gemian.list (pointing at thinkglobally.org) in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/ Is this the way this should be, or is this why I can't install any packages?

2. Re IQNotes: I have never compiled a program, so have been googling furiously without any luck so far. I've read that once I download the source and change to its directory I need to do ./configure to check my system for the required software needed to build the program. This gives a 'No such file or directory' error message. If I skip this step and try the instructions provided in the README.DESKTOP I get the following error message: 'qmake: could not exec '/usr/lib/aarch64-linux-gnu/qt4/bin/qmake' It may be "straightforward" to someone that knows what they are doing, but (unfortunately) that is not me! Any pointers?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jul 1 2018, 03:36 PM
Post #28





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,646
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(SNi @ Jul 1 2018, 04:06 PM) *
QUOTE(Eric BF @ Jun 30 2018, 05:03 AM) *
QUOTE(SNi @ Jun 29 2018, 02:59 PM) *
Would be fantastic if someone could get IQNotes (source in Github) compiled/working in Debian. I used it the past 15 years on my various Zauri, it's great as an outliner, to-do, list app, etc., etc.

Given the instructions on the github page, it should be straightforward to compile & install. It requires qmake which is available in Debian.
By the way, Emacs has org mode which does all that IQNotes seems to do. You can install Emacs by simply "sudo apt install emacs25" and it should have org mode available.

1. I tried to install Emacs25 per your suggestion, but get 'Reading package list... Done' then 'Building dependency tree...Done' then 'E: Unable to locate package emacs 25' error message. Actually I get a similar 'unable to locate' error message for any/everything I have tried to install thus far!

Per my (admittedly extremely limited) knowledge there should be a sources.list file in /etc/apt/ that "tells" the system the repository source (at least that is what is on my desktop). On my Gemini there is no such file, but there are two files, multistrap-debian.list (pointing at the 'regular' Debian repository) and multistrap-gemian.list (pointing at thinkglobally.org) in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/ Is this the way this should be, or is this why I can't install any packages?

2. Re IQNotes: I have never compiled a program, so have been googling furiously without any luck so far. I've read that once I download the source and change to its directory I need to do ./configure to check my system for the required software needed to build the program. This gives a 'No such file or directory' error message. If I skip this step and try the instructions provided in the README.DESKTOP I get the following error message: 'qmake: could not exec '/usr/lib/aarch64-linux-gnu/qt4/bin/qmake' It may be "straightforward" to someone that knows what they are doing, but (unfortunately) that is not me! Any pointers?


Just to make sure....

Did you first do:

CODE
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade


And then:

CODE
sudo apt-get install emacs25


If not, try it...

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eric BF
post Jul 2 2018, 12:03 AM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 25-June 18
Member No.: 824,997



I would suggest not doing a dist-upgrade as 1) it shouldn't be necessary and 2) may actually cause problems depending on what it tries to upgrade, e.g. the kernel.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jul 2 2018, 04:32 AM
Post #30





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,646
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(Eric BF @ Jul 2 2018, 01:03 AM) *
I would suggest not doing a dist-upgrade as 1) it shouldn't be necessary and 2) may actually cause problems depending on what it tries to upgrade, e.g. the kernel.



Doing dist-upgrade is certainly optional.

Others and myself have done it without any problems.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th October 2019 - 09:02 PM