OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can I access the Debian fs offline?
spook
post Feb 17 2020, 04:01 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 75
Joined: 24-June 18
Member No.: 824,977



Hi all, I'm a semi Linux noob so I hope this question isn't too silly!

I have managed to stop my Gemini from booting into Linux by adding a line to /etc/fstab which apparently it doesn't like. Now it is stuck on the "Gemian booting" screen. I assume it is trying to mount the webdav addressee I added to /etc/fstab and it is getting stuck because WiFi isn't connected yet (or I just forked up with the syntax...).

Either way, I need to delete that line from /etc/fstab. I'm not dual booting - Debian in the only OS on there. So I can't boot into another OS and edit it from there. Can anyone help me with a suggestion of how I can access the file system so I can delete the offending line? Or is there a way to boot without loading /etc/fstab?

Thanks in advance for any hints and advice.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nimrod
post Feb 18 2020, 12:59 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 13-February 20
Member No.: 865,622



Hi there!

Are you still able to boot into Android? Maybe you can get access to the Gemian root partition from there - it's just normal ext4, so it should work I guess.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adam Boardman
post Feb 18 2020, 02:04 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 179
Joined: 29-December 17
Member No.: 815,489



Given that you don't have Android, then you'd be best to use the flash tool to put a lvm based boot option onto a different boot partition and install a fresh gemian on a sdcard. With an empty lvm on the sdcard. Then using a usbdrive as the source to install another gemian. You can then fix one gemian from the other etc.

See: https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=35866

This of course assumes that your current gemian is not an LVM based one, which would only be the case if you had installed sfos as thats the only default installer to use LVM. But then you could use sfos to fix gemian.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spook
post Feb 18 2020, 03:34 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 75
Joined: 24-June 18
Member No.: 824,977



Thanks Adam. Seems like I have made a lot of work for myself! Question - Can I use the Flash tool to back the current Linux up to an img, then extract the file I need, edit it and pop it back in the image, then flash it back? I have no idea if that is possible or not...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adam Boardman
post Feb 19 2020, 06:10 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 179
Joined: 29-December 17
Member No.: 815,489



Good idea, that should also work. For a one off it would be fine, but if your going to be doing it regularly you may not want the wear on the flash. Having a second install somewhere is generally a good idea for anyone wanting to tinker about with low level stuff.

The other options we've not explored is the ability to connect over USB* or SSH in. Should probably have reminded you of those first, though it depends on where its wedged as to whether they would work.

* Plug into another linux box via left USB then: ssh gemini@10.15.19.82
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spook
post Feb 19 2020, 02:23 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 75
Joined: 24-June 18
Member No.: 824,977



Thanks Adam. You're 100% correct. Knowing my unfamiliarity with Linux and my tendency to experiment, I think I need to install rooted Android or something on another partition! I actually loaded up the flash tool, but I can't seem to work out how to backup up the Linux partition.

Is it possible to parallel install a second OS without messing with the Debian install? If so, what procedure do I follow? I assume I would need to partition the drive (I believe it only currently has a single partition with Debian as the only OS). Then somehow tell the boot loader that there are now 2 partitions with 2 operating systems (I assume I can do this by downloading a new scatter file from http://support.planetcom.co.uk/partitionTool.html)?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 6th April 2020 - 01:07 PM