OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Rooted Android install problems, boot options not accessible
rodgos
post Mar 6 2020, 12:03 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 2-May 18
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 822,018



I've finally bitten the bullet and installed the rooted version of Android, in line with the recent instruction set (Linux for Cosmo). It was a bit of a wrench to watch the carefully set-up and arranged screens of apps disappear down the tubes. Hey Ho.
Despite a few trepidation's, the install appeared to go well. At least, the re-boot did display the options. However, it's at this stage where the problems arose. Try as I might, I cannot invoke any of the options. The instructions are plain. "Press VOL+/VOL- to move up/down. Press ESCAPE to select". The snag here, is that VOL+/VOL- (Fnc,Fnv) does nothing. The command, when booted works perfectly in raising and dropping the speaker volume, but not in the options menu. Too, in many occasions when re-booting from a normal shut down (Long press on ESCAPE), the options menu is NOT presented. But if closed down by selecting to re-start, in the close down menu, the options are always displayed. Something I find rather annoying, is the 5 seconds before an automatic default boot begins. 5 Seconds!!!! It takes more than five seconds to read and assimilate the list of options, never mind the two key Fn command to pick an option. If such an action were actually possible.
I'm a bit reluctant to go through the process of loading in all the apps I want, setting up Contacts and the phone system, if there's a chance that I'll have to go through the install process again.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lokomoko
post Mar 6 2020, 04:25 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 21-February 20
Member No.: 866,005



QUOTE(rodgos @ Mar 6 2020, 09:03 PM) *
...
The snag here, is that VOL+/VOL- (Fnc,Fnv) does nothing.
...

Are you pressing the fingerprint rocker (on the outside of the cosmo) for Vol+/Vol-? That's how I can scroll the menu.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rodgos
post Mar 6 2020, 05:47 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 2-May 18
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 822,018



QUOTE(lokomoko @ Mar 7 2020, 12:25 AM) *
QUOTE(rodgos @ Mar 6 2020, 09:03 PM) *
...
The snag here, is that VOL+/VOL- (Fnc,Fnv) does nothing.
...

Are you pressing the fingerprint rocker (on the outside of the cosmo) for Vol+/Vol-? That's how I can scroll the menu.


Blow me, it worked!!! But why not the keyboard way? You have to key ESCAPE to select.

Cheers, lokomoko
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vistaus
post Mar 7 2020, 03:10 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 24-June 19
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 850,627



QUOTE(rodgos @ Mar 7 2020, 02:47 AM) *
QUOTE(lokomoko @ Mar 7 2020, 12:25 AM) *
QUOTE(rodgos @ Mar 6 2020, 09:03 PM) *
...
The snag here, is that VOL+/VOL- (Fnc,Fnv) does nothing.
...

Are you pressing the fingerprint rocker (on the outside of the cosmo) for Vol+/Vol-? That's how I can scroll the menu.


Blow me, it worked!!! But why not the keyboard way? You have to key ESCAPE to select.

Cheers, lokomoko


AFAIK, keyboard shortcuts are not supported by Android's recovery mode, so Planet had to use this method.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 6th April 2020 - 02:43 PM