Author Topic: Dashed Line At Bottom Of Screen  (Read 2538 times)

hjwind

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Dashed Line At Bottom Of Screen
« on: January 18, 2005, 09:56:08 pm »
I just turned my 5500 back on after a month, and the very bottom line of pixels is dashed (black and white).  Anyone else seen this?

Thanks.

MrSquishy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
    • http://
Dashed Line At Bottom Of Screen
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2005, 02:29:04 am »
This doesnt help much but to calm your fears.  If you are the type to freak out about something like that.  I am.

I have it on one of my 5500s.

My other one often has odd colored lines on the bottom row, so I dont worry about it too much.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2005, 01:53:38 pm by MrSquishy »

hjwind

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Dashed Line At Bottom Of Screen
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2005, 03:41:07 am »
OK thanks a lot man.  It's been changing some too. Sometimes it's totally gone. Weird.

HearWa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Dashed Line At Bottom Of Screen
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2005, 12:54:41 pm »
Hello,

I have just taken my Zaurus 5500 apart and put it back together and have run into the same problem. Since the screen was removed and everything I can only think of two possible reasons for this happening.

The more optimistic reason would be this occurs on all the Zaurus 5500's, but I have somehow placed my screen to high. This seems logical since the dashes don't seem to occupy any space I need for viewing the screen, but I could be wrong since I'm judging this by looking at the cursor from a failed OZ flash.

The second reason could be I have damaged or pulled out the ribbon cable that attaches to the right side of the screen. This could be my problem too since I was having some problems putting it back together. Now, since the dashes appear only occasionally on yours this sounds like it is the case. I hope not, but it is a possibility.

If the problem really bugs me I might take it back apart and see if I could fix it somehow. If I do this I'll tell you how it went.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2005, 12:56:33 pm by HearWa »
Sharp Zaurus SL-5500 +
Sanded (600 grit) and polished (RB-538) to be black +
Open Zaurus 3.5.2, Opie-image (64-0) +
Sandisk 128MB SD Card, Verbatim 128MB CF Card +
10 Base Ethernet Card, 802.11b Wireless CF Card +
Generic leather PDA case =
One happy geek!

herbivore

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Dashed Line At Bottom Of Screen
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2005, 12:06:35 am »
Quote
Hello,

I have just taken my Zaurus 5500 apart and put it back together and have run into the same problem. Since the screen was removed and everything I can only think of two possible reasons for this happening.

The more optimistic reason would be this occurs on all the Zaurus 5500's, but I have somehow placed my screen to high. This seems logical since the dashes don't seem to occupy any space I need for viewing the screen, but I could be wrong since I'm judging this by looking at the cursor from a failed OZ flash.

The second reason could be I have damaged or pulled out the ribbon cable that attaches to the right side of the screen. This could be my problem too since I was having some problems putting it back together. Now, since the dashes appear only occasionally on yours this sounds like it is the case. I hope not, but it is a possibility.

If the problem really bugs me I might take it back apart and see if I could fix it somehow. If I do this I'll tell you how it went.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=72544\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I had the same thing happen to me, after I painted mine, it actually seemed to go away at some point on its own.  It seems to happen from time to time now, though very rarely.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2005, 12:08:14 am by herbivore »
5500
oz 3.5.3
/ on sd

tesla_cubed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • http://
Dashed Line At Bottom Of Screen
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2005, 10:00:40 am »
It isnt anything to realy wory about. Mine has the same somtimes chainging stripe of as well.  My best guess at what causes it is the task bar is 2 pixels up from the bottom of the screen, if you have a camera card you can see them changing when you before you take picture and the preview is full screen.  Had mine about 2 yrs and it has always ben there, somtimes it moves when you rotate the view as well.  When this happens You can see the edge of your background through the stripe.
SL-C3200 (pdaXii)
AmbiCom Wifi
Belkin Palmtop ir keybord

sl-5500 (runing opie whatever.latest.release.is) -touchpanel
1gb SanDisk sd