Author Topic: vi backspace key mapping  (Read 4885 times)

ewen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • http://
vi backspace key mapping
« on: January 13, 2004, 07:18:27 am »
Hi,

Could anyone let me know how to map the backspace key so that it works in vi and vim? I swear I found a tip on how to do that somewhere here before (I\'m sure I had this working before too) but recently I had to reset my zaurus, and now I can\'t remember or find out what to do...

Any help greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

/e

raybert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
vi backspace key mapping
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2004, 10:55:03 am »
IIRC, you have to put \"TERM=linux\" in your .profile

~ray

ewen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • http://
vi backspace key mapping
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2004, 04:32:25 am »
Quote
IIRC, you have to put \"TERM=linux\" in your .profile

~ray
Ah -- figured it out --  

stty erase ^?

did the trick

magicbb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • http://
vi backspace key mapping
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2005, 03:31:48 am »
Quote
Quote
IIRC, you have to put "TERM=linux" in your .profile

~ray
Ah -- figured it out --  

stty erase ^?

did the trick
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=5744\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

should i put "TERM=linux" or stty erase ^? in .profile?
i am using c1000, the .profile for root is not writable, i think it's in the rom, how can i change it
Zaurus C-1000, AmbiCom Wifi, Pdaxrom beta 3

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
vi backspace key mapping
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2005, 10:17:21 am »
why not use "nano" or "pico" ?
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

sriley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
    • http://
vi backspace key mapping
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2005, 11:57:38 am »
Quote
why not use "nano" or "pico" ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=92492\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Because those of us that work on other *nix systems can be sure we'll find vi or vim on them.  Why switch from editor to editor on different machines?

bluedevils

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1284
    • View Profile
    • http://
vi backspace key mapping
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2005, 01:58:48 pm »
You are probably not in bash.  I usually set the TERM because vi isn't working properly and stty if my shell doesn't have a backspace.  If setting the TERM helps the backspace problem throughout, then I say go for it.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2005, 01:59:15 pm by bluedevils »
I'm now an iphone user and use my zaurii as serial terminals, perl and shell scripting and when I need 640x480 screens

sl-c3100/pda cacko 1.23 | sl-6000l/needs battery | sl-c760/server pdaxrom rc12 | Former sl-5500/tkcrom owner (sister's birthday gift)