Author Topic: Look! Remote X  (Read 5160 times)

Hertog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • http://
Look! Remote X
« on: February 16, 2005, 09:02:33 am »
Thanks to Z + pdaXrom, I no longer have to carry a laptop around when having to do 'on-call'-duty.

A nokia 6310i, a BT CFcard, a dialupaccount to work and I'm set.

Below an example of controlling a Legato Networker machine via Remote X over GSM-Data on the Zaurus.

Slow as hell (hee, it's 9600Baud!) but it works!



Gr.

Hertog

fastscirocco

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Look! Remote X
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2005, 03:41:48 pm »
IS this like Window's Remote Desktop?

bluedevils

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1284
    • View Profile
    • http://
Look! Remote X
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2005, 04:00:20 pm »
yes, but it is more flexible.  You can "remote" just the app's gui.  In Hertog's case it is just the legato software.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2005, 04:00:45 pm by bluedevils »
I'm now an iphone user and use my zaurii as serial terminals, perl and shell scripting and when I need 640x480 screens

sl-c3100/pda cacko 1.23 | sl-6000l/needs battery | sl-c760/server pdaxrom rc12 | Former sl-5500/tkcrom owner (sister's birthday gift)

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Look! Remote X
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2005, 05:26:01 pm »
very cool.
incidentally XQT will forward too, if you wanted to use a qt gui...

I had been thinking along those lines more and more myself, though I was considering setting up servers here and there and trying out X -query to see what i'd get.
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
Look! Remote X
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2005, 06:01:02 pm »
I just need a citrix client to run on the linux and I'm set for work (LAN).
Remote, I just need a web browser + java... (WAN)
[alternatively, I can vnc or browse to a machine where I have vnc up
where I have a browser that has java where I can then access my work
VPN... etc]
once inside, I use a browser to connect to a VNC where I have legato up and waiting.

but, ya, very nice :->

Scott

andrewwoods

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • http://
Look! Remote X
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2005, 03:12:42 am »
Quote
Remote, I just need a web browser + java... (WAN)
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=67381\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Sorry, can you clarify please. Are you saying that you would like to have a web browser and java or that this is what you do have today?

I need a web browser with a java plugin to access the corporate portal and, although I can see lots of posts about java, I cannot find how to get a java plugin into firefox.

Thanks Andrew
SL-C860 pdaxrom Beta3 512MB SD
Buffalo CF WLAN RTM-8000 GPRS ANYCOM BT

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
Look! Remote X
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2005, 09:50:51 pm »
right...
firefox just about kills the Z
java just about kills the Z
combining them?  hmm, seems like it would be painful.

anyway, the citrix client is good, and preferable...  however,
some VPNs have downloadable java clients, etc.

This isn't really a big deal for me.  I'm quite happy with
xterms and ssh  :-)

Scott
ps: I have yet to get java on a pdaXrom -- but I have seen
some talk of java in ipk form that was taken from blackdown,
etc.

GeneMosher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Look! Remote X
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2005, 07:12:46 pm »
I have been helping to financially support pdaXrom since December with hopes that someone would  use X to open a remote window on an X application, having the PDA run its X server.  I am interested in having anyone take a look at the point of sale application that we have at ViewTouch with remote X.  Ours is an X app which is designed to be served up to a handheld touchscreen device such as the Zaurus when it's being used as a wireless touchscreen terminal.  If anyone is interested in seeing if they can access our application then let us know what your resolution is and we'll give you the IP address of the point of sale touchsccreen application.

There are pictures of the remote displays at our web site, viewtouch.com

There aren't many X applications that are designed exactly to make the most of X on a handheld, but ours is designed for exactly that.  It's one thing to be able to open a remote desktop but it's quite another to open a window on an application that can automate a restaurant and add you to a workgroup that includes people from all over the world.

Contact gene@viewtouch.com and we'll see what we can make of this.

fastscirocco

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Look! Remote X
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2005, 11:38:12 pm »
Quote
IS this like Window's Remote Desktop?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=67361\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


OK maybe this is a dumb question but my grandma said...well nevermind! :-)


I have a file server running, well not linux. Right now I use Windows XP's remote desktop to access it, could I access it with this or is it a linux only softare?

ericwerk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://www.elefantelegante.org
Look! Remote X
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2005, 01:33:14 am »
Quote
I have a file server running, well not linux. Right now I use Windows XP's remote desktop to access it, could I access it with this or is it a linux only softare?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=67901\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

you can use rdesktop, which is available as an ipk, to access a windows server which has terminal services, just like you would with windows remote desktop client.
<hr>
860, 256 MB PNY CF, 1 GIGA PQY CF, 512MB SANDISK SD, 802.11b CF
Gentoo, MacosX

fastscirocco

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Look! Remote X
« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2005, 07:38:43 am »
Quote
Quote
I have a file server running, well not linux. Right now I use Windows XP's remote desktop to access it, could I access it with this or is it a linux only softare?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=67901\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

you can use rdesktop, which is available as an ipk, to access a windows server which has terminal services, just like you would with windows remote desktop client.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=67909\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I've tried installing qtrdesktop_1[1].2.0_arm.ipk but I get an error stating that it is reliant on other packages.

Any idea what other files need to be inmstalled on my C3000 to use qtrdesktop?


Thanks

Xumbi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
Look! Remote X
« Reply #11 on: April 14, 2005, 12:17:13 pm »
Quote
Quote
Quote
I have a file server running, well not linux. Right now I use Windows XP's remote desktop to access it, could I access it with this or is it a linux only softare?
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

you can use rdesktop, which is available as an ipk, to access a windows server which has terminal services, just like you would with windows remote desktop client.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=67909\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I've tried installing qtrdesktop_1[1].2.0_arm.ipk but I get an error stating that it is reliant on other packages.

Any idea what other files need to be inmstalled on my C3000 to use qtrdesktop?


Thanks
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=75117\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Ah, you're using a C3000, so you're running the Sharp rom (someday I'm sure pdaXrom will be available for Cx000, but not yet).  Have you tried installing it from the cacko feed?

[a href=\"http://cacko.biz/cacko/feed]http://cacko.biz/cacko/feed[/url]

Just add that to your package manager, and as long as you have an internet connection you should be able to install it, and it will take care of the dependencies.

Foxdie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • http://trackmygps.co.uk
Look! Remote X
« Reply #12 on: April 14, 2005, 04:23:05 pm »
Quote
Quote
I have a file server running, well not linux. Right now I use Windows XP's remote desktop to access it, could I access it with this or is it a linux only softare?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=67901\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

you can use rdesktop, which is available as an ipk, to access a windows server which has terminal services, just like you would with windows remote desktop client.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=67909\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Jason "Foxdie" Gaunt
HTC Universal G4 with 2GB SD card running Debian Titchy Linux
[img]http://trackmygps.co.uk/signatures/foxdie.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Click image to view my GPS tracker
Follow me on Twitter: @jasongaunt

stupkid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 578
    • View Profile
    • http://
Look! Remote X
« Reply #13 on: April 14, 2005, 04:26:56 pm »
Quote
Ah, you're using a C3000, so you're running the Sharp rom (someday I'm sure pdaXrom will be available for Cx000, but not yet).  Have you tried installing it from the cacko feed?

http://cacko.biz/cacko/feed

Just add that to your package manager, and as long as you have an internet connection you should be able to install it, and it will take care of the dependencies.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=75173\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
There are a few libraries that are included in the Cacko ROM (like SSL, libreadline, etc.)  that are not in the feed.  So, you may be missing libraries on some packages like qtrdesktop.

Zaurus SL-C3200 pdaXii13v2 5.5 / Ambicom WC1100C-CF / Socket Bluetooth Rev G


OpenMoko FreeRunner - Running Tweaked OM2008.x Image

fastscirocco

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Look! Remote X
« Reply #14 on: April 14, 2005, 04:33:32 pm »
Well look at what I did...emailed these pics to my brother telling him look what I have running on my Zaurus now!

[img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v48/chrisanjenn/XPscreengrab.jpg\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-image\" /]

[img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v48/chrisanjenn/XPZaurus.jpg\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-image\" /]

[img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v48/chrisanjenn/XPscreen.jpg\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-image\" /]