Poll

Which Sharp-based ROM version do you use?

Sharp stock ROM
58 (26.7%)
Cacko 1.21
5 (2.3%)
Cacko 1.22
57 (26.3%)
Cacko 1.22 Lite
26 (12%)
Cacko 1.22 + Japanese
5 (2.3%)
Whatapon ROM on 5600
13 (6%)
Cacko ROM for 5x00
12 (5.5%)
Cacko Hybrid ROM for 5x00
6 (2.8%)
My own custom ROM
3 (1.4%)
Any Sharp-based ROM sucks, OZ rules!
17 (7.8%)
Any Sharp-based ROM sucks, PDAXROM rules!
15 (6.9%)

Total Members Voted: 208

Author Topic: Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?  (Read 9023 times)

kahm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 657
    • View Profile
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #30 on: March 07, 2005, 07:36:21 pm »
Quote
It may be worth noting that some cards are having problems if you have autoconnect checked, for example my Senao card wont connect if I have thus enabled but will work if I select the profile manually. Don't know where the problem lies on this, it certainly worked OK on 1.21.

This may be your problem..... anyone know why this happens??

- Andy
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=69619\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I've got another weird 1.22 Wireless interaction. I use a linux firewall based off of Mandrake's Multi-network firewall distribution, and it provides my internal network's DHCP services using the 10.x.x.x IP block.

My wireless is a Dlink 614+ router that I uses strictly as a 4 port switch and WAP, so it's internal DHCP is turned off and the WAN port is unused. It uses 128bit WEP. If the DHCP server were enabled it would serve ips in the high 192. range - not the default 192.168.0.100+ range.

If my 860 is set to get an IP through DHCP, it manages to pull a high 192.x.x.x from the disabled DHCP server in the router, giving me access to the router's configuration pages. (!!) Every other device I have (including my 5500 running Cacko's 64-0 kernel with root on SD) correctly pulls a 10.x.x.x IP from the only active DHCP server.

This happens on 2 seperate 860's. I don't know if it affects the Sharp rom or earlier SL-Cxxx Cacko versions, but I'll definitely test it out when I get my 3000 in. Everthing works fine if I just hard code an IP on the 860.

It has to be one heck of a weird interaction to force my router to cough up an IP from it's interal DHCP server when it is disabled.
Fujitsu U8240 "Stormtrooper" -  Zaurus Supplement
Libretto U100 | Sony Librie, Sony Reader
SL-C3100: Sharp 1.11JP (Kanji Dictionary/Translator) - LCD Top swap with C1000.
SL-C3000: pdaXii13 5.4.7, SL-C3000 5.4.9 - microdrive replaced with 8gb Sandisk
SL-C1000: PDAXRom Beta3 | SL-6000L: Sharp 1.12 | SL-5500: Cacko, 64-0 kernel | SL-5000D: OZ-Opie
Linksys WCF12; Sharp CE-AG06, CE-RH2, CE-170TS; iRiver USB OTG Host cable; Socket BT rev.E CF; Hitachi 6gb Microdrive

Snooby

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
    • http://
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #31 on: March 07, 2005, 08:36:05 pm »
I use TKC 2.0 alpha 3 on my 5500

I tried cacko and found it very slow using /home on SD and full of stuff i didn't want (and couldnt remove).

Is there a bare-bones version ?
SL-5500 with tkc 2.0 Alpha 3.0 (/home on SD)
Kingston 256MB SD Card
Fujifilm 128MB CF Card
Wisgo 802.11b CF Wireless LAN Card
XP Pro, Redhat 7.3

nilch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
    • View Profile
    • http://
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #32 on: March 07, 2005, 09:57:42 pm »
Quote
Is there a bare-bones version ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=69702\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

The Cacko 1.22 lite - thats what the thread is about in the first place... the bare bones version against the full featured version usage.
New no more-C1000 / 5000D (sold my 6000 and 750) | Cacko ROM 1.23 on C1000 | 256 MB CF | 2GB PNY SD card | Socket Networker WiFi CF Card | USB Host cable from StreamlineCPUS | Mini Microphone (for voice recording) |

Snooby

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
    • http://
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #33 on: March 12, 2005, 07:53:00 pm »
It's not for the 5500 though, is it !!
SL-5500 with tkc 2.0 Alpha 3.0 (/home on SD)
Kingston 256MB SD Card
Fujifilm 128MB CF Card
Wisgo 802.11b CF Wireless LAN Card
XP Pro, Redhat 7.3

merli

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
    • http://
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #34 on: May 24, 2005, 06:46:53 am »
I am using Cacko Hybrid rom for 5500 64-30 with some changes (included mc, sshd etc ...) in rom and as Qtoplia GUI I am using part of TKC rom with also some changes (added neocalc, a few of applets, cyrillic keyboard from 1.22 Cacko rom with slovak and czech keymaps for 5500), installed on 128 SD card.  Qtopia can be installed on SD or CF card. If someone is curious to try my cross rom give reply.

merli
merli
------
SL-C1000 - pdaxii13 5.3.3 but considering go back to beta1
Wifi D-link DCF-650W CF card - not using
bluetooth Billionton BT CF card and Samsung SGH-i310 GPRS
Pretec Cheetah 133x 4GB SD, Pretec Cheetah 80x 1GB CF

Miami_Bob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
    • View Profile
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #35 on: May 31, 2005, 03:29:14 pm »
kahm -

Thank you. Now I no longer feel odd saying that I own a pair of C860s! (G)

(Hey - ONE could break!)

In general -

I have played with all the ROMs that I have been able to get my hands on, including the Cackos, but my 24/7/365 system still runs a anglicised Sharp ROM.

1) Cacko kept locking up solid too often & too intermittantly.
2) The 24/7/365 has a LOT of stuff installed to SD & I have been too lazy to go to the trouble to replicate it entirely yet, even to the newer Sharp v1.40 setup.
Bob W - Miami FL
--------------------
"The legs of the duck are short and
 cannot be lengthened without distress
 to the duck.

The legs of the crane are long and
 cannot be shortened without distress
 to the crane."

Chuang-tzu

--------------------
C860 main - Sharp 1.40 JP ROM
Language conversion by hand

alts: Cacko 1.22 / OZ 3.5.1 / pdaXrom
512Mb SanDisk SD (x2) / 512Mb SanDisk CF (x2)
Lexar 1Gb CF / AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 802.11b WiFi

Out of Hp200LX, from HP100LX, via HP95LX
--------------------
Desktop MegaTower c/ twin DataPort HD racks;
12 removable HDs with multi OSs - no waiting.

--------------------

kahm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 657
    • View Profile
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #36 on: May 31, 2005, 09:53:18 pm »
Quote
kahm -

Thank you. Now I no longer feel odd saying that I own a pair of C860s! (G)

(Hey - ONE could break!)

In general -

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=82304\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

A pair of the same model? That's just seriously weird.

(I'm kidding. Really.  )
Fujitsu U8240 "Stormtrooper" -  Zaurus Supplement
Libretto U100 | Sony Librie, Sony Reader
SL-C3100: Sharp 1.11JP (Kanji Dictionary/Translator) - LCD Top swap with C1000.
SL-C3000: pdaXii13 5.4.7, SL-C3000 5.4.9 - microdrive replaced with 8gb Sandisk
SL-C1000: PDAXRom Beta3 | SL-6000L: Sharp 1.12 | SL-5500: Cacko, 64-0 kernel | SL-5000D: OZ-Opie
Linksys WCF12; Sharp CE-AG06, CE-RH2, CE-170TS; iRiver USB OTG Host cable; Socket BT rev.E CF; Hitachi 6gb Microdrive

Miami_Bob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
    • View Profile
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #37 on: May 31, 2005, 11:51:37 pm »
Quote
A pair of the same model? That's just seriously weird.

(I'm kidding. Really.  )
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=82330\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

LOL

No, no. You were absolutely right the first time (G). Just ask padishah_emperor; he will vouch for the fact.

I've considered having a set of matching quick draw hip holsters made to carry them in.

Sorta - "Feel lucky, Punk? Go ahead. Make my day."
Bob W - Miami FL
--------------------
"The legs of the duck are short and
 cannot be lengthened without distress
 to the duck.

The legs of the crane are long and
 cannot be shortened without distress
 to the crane."

Chuang-tzu

--------------------
C860 main - Sharp 1.40 JP ROM
Language conversion by hand

alts: Cacko 1.22 / OZ 3.5.1 / pdaXrom
512Mb SanDisk SD (x2) / 512Mb SanDisk CF (x2)
Lexar 1Gb CF / AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 802.11b WiFi

Out of Hp200LX, from HP100LX, via HP95LX
--------------------
Desktop MegaTower c/ twin DataPort HD racks;
12 removable HDs with multi OSs - no waiting.

--------------------

Ragnorok

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
    • View Profile
    • http://
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #38 on: June 02, 2005, 08:04:11 pm »
- Depends on what's meant by a "custom" ROM.  Since I discovered the C1000 allows me to mount the "ROM" in read-write mode (thanks tumnus!), I've, uh, done some changes.  Out went Netfront, calendar, addressbook, todo, calculator, jisho, 35MB of useless Japanese dictionary (for this u.s. citizen at least), bunko, and whatever else seemed extraneous at the time.  (cheshire grin)  In went the PIMpi suite 2.1.4, neoCal 2.4, Opera 7.3, QPdf, and PortaBase, leaving me with 17MB of available space in the "ROM" section, compressed, so I can put more than 17MB of stuff in there.
- I'm still playing with it.  (foolish giggle)  Opera's icons are still in main storage, and I haven't figured out how to get QKonsole linked over 'cause it's running in order to execute commands to move things around.  (grin)  I'm currently trying to figure out where bash/sh gets its path from so I can put Blackdown's JVM 1.3.1 in there.  I'm hoping I can get my main storage up to at least 60MB free.  Stylin!
- But the kernel and base operating system are plain-vanilla Sharp ROM.  If that means I'm using Sharp, then that's what I'm using, primarily because the C1000 has a very limited selection of alternates available at this time, and the ones I've seen have rather basic issues, like primary-use buttons not working, and USB, and other things I don't feel I can live without.  (shrug)  Not complaining, mind you.  The C1k just hasn't been out long enough for more options to be out there yet.  I can wait.
- If all those mods mean I'm using a "custom" ROM, then that's what I'm using.  Far as I'm concerned, it's Sharp, though.
- Cricket is using plain vanilla Sharp 'cause I can't mount it in read/write mode to re-organize it.  Then again, if all goes well, someone will buy Cricket and I'll be down to just one Z.  (wink)
| I shed a tear for the passing of Hiroshi; he served me well
| Zaurus zealot since Nov 2002, PDA user since Oct 1991
| Replaced Z with UMID BZ February 2010

brashley46

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • http://brashley46.no-ip.info
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #39 on: June 19, 2005, 09:42:00 pm »
Heh. On my new-to-me 5500 I'm running the 3.1.3 ROM at the moment. I like the relative ease of file transfer.
B. Ross Ashley
http://brashley46.livejournal.com
http://brashley46.no-ip.info
Home desktops: Hewlett-Packard Kayak XM600 running Xandros Desktop Home Edition Premium (4.1), on a P3 Coppermine processor w/ 20G harddrive, 256 MB RAM; Abyss X2 server running on a local shop-built special with Intel Celeron 1.8GHz processor, 40G harddrive running Win XP Home SP2; and my wife's eMac running OS X3.9

Handheld: C860 running CACkO 1.23, with a Panasonic Class 2 1G SD card and a GXT 1G CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF wifi card, and a CE-AG06 camera card.

gyver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #40 on: August 01, 2005, 12:10:14 pm »
I voted Cacko 1.22 but in fact I use 1.23b1 on my C3k

clofland

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • http://www.lofland.net/
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #41 on: August 02, 2005, 11:44:25 am »
I use Lite, but at this point it isn't saving me any space b/c I've added so many of the base apps back on.   I would switch back to the non-lite version if I felt like reflashing.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2005, 11:44:50 am by clofland »
[span style=\'font-size:14pt;line-height:100%\']C-760 pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3[/span]
- Sandisk UltraII 1GB SD card - Socket LP CF LAN card - Socket LP CF WLAN card - Socket CF Bluetooth Card Rev H -

eekee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #42 on: August 06, 2005, 12:15:45 pm »
Quote
I've considered having a set of matching quick draw hip holsters made to carry them in.

Sorta - "Feel lucky, Punk? Go ahead. Make my day."[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=82338\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
This made me laugh out loud IRL.

Anyway, I haven't voted as I've hardly started messing with my Z, but amongst other things I use it for rapidly noting things down when I'm having a creative rush. Creative rushes are not nice things to have interupted, especially not repeatedly by your own tools so if I had an unstable rom I'd quickly end up wanting to shoot the thing.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2005, 12:16:34 pm by eekee »
Hardware: 'well-used' SL-5500; 1GB SD-Card; 128MB CF card
ROM: OZ GPE (Wanted to use OPIE but it locks up on suspend, X seems to fix it somehow. Found GPE more powerful than it first looked, if a little flakey.)
Considering: Putting together a ROM oriented towards scripting. Will probably be OZ based with X11.

phisch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Which Sharp-based Rom Do You Use?
« Reply #43 on: August 20, 2005, 10:34:58 pm »
Quote
I was wondering how many users have decided to use Cacko lite version of the ROM instead of full one. While creating a poll I decided to add other options just for the completeness...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=69071\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Say, I see one of the vote choices is for "Cacko ROM for 5X00"  Does that mean there is a version of cacko that will run on my SL-5600?  I sure hope so!
Thanks in advance
-Phil
« Last Edit: August 20, 2005, 10:35:41 pm by phisch »
SL-5600
Watapon 1.6.1