Author Topic: Wireless Problems  (Read 2342 times)

Merardon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wireless Problems
« on: March 07, 2005, 05:40:57 pm »
I've been unable to connect to the internet yet on my Zaurus 5500, in Opie, with an Ambicom CF card. The same kind a lot of others use. I've run Wellenreiter successfully, but I can't seem to be able to connect to my home network. (I've been too busy to test it out on an open network) It recognizes the card just fine, I can actually start it, but here's where the problems arise. First off, when connected, the speed is sometimes 1 MBPS, sometimes 2, sometimes 11, but it remains constant, and it will vary when I go to connect. The SSID flashes on and off repeatedly, sometimes with a bunch of garbage, and at other times with the SSID followed by a bunch of garbage. Opera won't connect to anything aside from itself.

I'm wondering if this ties into my second problem, which is DSL. I've been unable to locate a method of entering my username and password. I've added a "modem" account properly, attempted to point it to my wireless connection, with no avail. Is there something terribly obvious that I'm missing? I'm at the point of just giving wireless the finger, and I've tried everything I can think of. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2005, 11:44:15 pm by Merardon »
Zaurus SL-C3100 (Borzoi) - Cacko ROM 1.23 & OpenBSD 4.0 Beta
Zaurus SL-5500 (Collie) - OpenZaurus 3.5.4.2 RC1
[img]http://forum.zaurus.cn/data/chroot/zaurus/upcoming/c3100_126.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /][img]http://forum.zaurus.cn/data/chroot/zaurus/upcoming/5500_134.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Miscellaneous random accessories

dino

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wireless Problems
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2005, 09:09:24 am »
I've had a similar problem with a Pretec card.
It takes about 5 minutes for the card to establish a connection.
During this time the light blinks and the channel is changing, but it usually keeps hitting one particular channel longer and more frequent than the others.
I've had the card use the Orinoco and hostap drivers.  The hostap drivers cause the SSID to appear followed by garbage charecters.
SL5500, Open Zaurus 3.5.2, 128MB SD

Merardon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wireless Problems
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2005, 07:59:29 pm »
For me, the LED isn't blinking once I tell it to connect, it stays on. Additionally, the channel remains constant. Any advice?
« Last Edit: March 08, 2005, 08:28:20 pm by Merardon »
Zaurus SL-C3100 (Borzoi) - Cacko ROM 1.23 & OpenBSD 4.0 Beta
Zaurus SL-5500 (Collie) - OpenZaurus 3.5.4.2 RC1
[img]http://forum.zaurus.cn/data/chroot/zaurus/upcoming/c3100_126.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /][img]http://forum.zaurus.cn/data/chroot/zaurus/upcoming/5500_134.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Miscellaneous random accessories

Merardon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wireless Problems
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2005, 01:33:06 am »
Nobody has any suggestions to help fix this?
Zaurus SL-C3100 (Borzoi) - Cacko ROM 1.23 & OpenBSD 4.0 Beta
Zaurus SL-5500 (Collie) - OpenZaurus 3.5.4.2 RC1
[img]http://forum.zaurus.cn/data/chroot/zaurus/upcoming/c3100_126.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /][img]http://forum.zaurus.cn/data/chroot/zaurus/upcoming/5500_134.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Miscellaneous random accessories

jnmonteiro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wireless Problems
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2005, 12:48:55 am »
I use an Ambicon WL-1100C.  I connect to DSL through my wireless router.       I seem to remember disabling all security on my router and then establishing a connection using wlan0.  I believe wifi0 does nothing from the users point of view.  For this I used checked the DHCP and "Automatically Bring Up"  boxes in TCP/IP.

Once you have your unsecure connection working turn on WEP (it seems that 3.5.2 is only able to use WEP 64-bit, I may be wrong).   I had to explicity state my IP address, subnet & gateway in the TCP/IP settings.  Once I restarted the network I had to eject the wireless card, pull it out and reinsert it and my connection worked with WEP.

The extraction & re-insertion of the card probably restarted the interfaces and there may be a nifty script out there that does the same thing, but until I search & find it, this is what I did.

Maybe there is a logical explanatio why all this works.  Check around the newsgroup.