Author Topic: Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian  (Read 42404 times)

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #15 on: August 07, 2005, 11:33:44 am »
how do i check if flite is working or not?

okay
i checked

flite is working

but running your Gpsdrive script gives me :
Code: [Select]
oss_audio: failed to open audio device /dev/dsp
« Last Edit: August 07, 2005, 06:43:19 pm by samxiao »
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #16 on: August 07, 2005, 06:47:58 pm »
oh..
i found out the problem

i run it as "zaurus"
so therefore i don't have permission to access /dev/dsp

but if i run it as "root"
it will not have this problem

how do i solve this problem by giving "zaurus" access of "root"?




also i try to use "gpsfetchmap" and "gpsfetchmap.pl" to get the maps
i can't

i think because i'm using West Longitude instead of East
so i need to put "-" sign in front

but it doesn't seem to understand that part
how do i solve this problem?

which script you use for getting maps on gpsdrive?
« Last Edit: August 08, 2005, 12:11:35 am by samxiao »
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

suid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #17 on: August 08, 2005, 07:48:33 am »
Quote
how do i solve this problem by giving "zaurus" access of "root"?

A quick "chmod 666 /dev/dsp" should fix it. You may need to do the same with /dev/audio as well.


I normally use gpsfetchmap.pl and it works fine for me with negative numbers.  There's many arguments you can use with it - what exactly are you typing in and what output are you seeing? I know that the following  works for me :-

# su - zaurus
$ gpsfetchmap.pl --start-lat 53.9 --end-lat 54.1 --start-lon -2.9 --end-lon -2.6 -sc 10000 -p


Ian
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
C750, Cacko 1.22a, JP kernel
D-link 660W, deluo (Fortuna) CF GPS receiver,
Kingston 512Mb SD (ext2), Lexar 256Mb SD (vfat), Sandisk 64Mb CF, Transcend 1Gb SD (ext2, running debian)
[/span]

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #18 on: August 08, 2005, 11:37:38 pm »
Quote
Quote
how do i solve this problem by giving "zaurus" access of "root"?

A quick "chmod 666 /dev/dsp" should fix it. You may need to do the same with /dev/audio as well.


I normally use gpsfetchmap.pl and it works fine for me with negative numbers.  There's many arguments you can use with it - what exactly are you typing in and what output are you seeing? I know that the following  works for me :-

# su - zaurus
$ gpsfetchmap.pl --start-lat 53.9 --end-lat 54.1 --start-lon -2.9 --end-lon -2.6 -sc 10000 -p


Ian
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=91071\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

oh
i found that there's a bug in the gpsfetchmap.pl script
it can't get the Canadian map

so i have to manually tell it to get the North America maps in order to work
thanks anyways
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #19 on: August 17, 2005, 11:42:58 am »
suid:

do you encounter a problem when using Gpsdrive under X, the Screen Saver app on Qtopia launched?

how do i tell Qtopia to stop that whenever i use Gpsdrive and tell Qtopia stop the suspend when i use Gpsdrive?
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #20 on: August 17, 2005, 04:26:39 pm »
i never able to get my Debian communicate with my GPS

when i start up Gpsdrive
it can't get any info for my GPS card

so i do a

Code: [Select]
cat: /dev/ttys3: Input/output error
i don't know why this happen
but qpeGPS was working fine and if i do a "cat /dev/ttyS3" under Qtopia , it works fine
except on Debian

is there any config i need to make for this CF card?
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #21 on: August 17, 2005, 07:45:35 pm »
okay
now i think where the problem is

the LED of my GPS CF is not flashing, so i do a "cat /dev/ttyS3"
it gets nothing
because i haven't turn on the GPS CF yet

so i need to use qpeGPS to turn on the GPS CF

and i turn on my Gpsdrive

and then "start gpsd" with no serial comm.  

then it will runs

the problem is how do i turn on the GPS CF alone without using qpeGPS?

everytime i run Gpsdrive, i need to run qpeGPS first to turn on my GPS CF

is there any way to do it?
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

suid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #22 on: August 18, 2005, 05:19:29 am »
Quote
The problem is how do i turn on the GPS CF alone without using qpeGPS?

Are you running "cardctl resume" within Qtopia before you start gpsdrive in Debian? That should be all that you need to do. You can just put the command in your gpsdrive startup script if you've created a separate icon to start gpsdrive under Qtopia.

I told you to run "carctl enable" in an earlier post - that was incorrect, it should be "cardctl resume".

Quote
how do i tell Qtopia to stop that whenever i use Gpsdrive and tell Qtopia stop the suspend when i use Gpsdrive?

I've never seen this, but thereagain I disabled my screensaver a long time ago! That's probably the easiest solution.


Ian
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
C750, Cacko 1.22a, JP kernel
D-link 660W, deluo (Fortuna) CF GPS receiver,
Kingston 512Mb SD (ext2), Lexar 256Mb SD (vfat), Sandisk 64Mb CF, Transcend 1Gb SD (ext2, running debian)
[/span]

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #23 on: August 18, 2005, 10:03:08 am »
Quote
Quote
The problem is how do i turn on the GPS CF alone without using qpeGPS?

Are you running "cardctl resume" within Qtopia before you start gpsdrive in Debian? That should be all that you need to do. You can just put the command in your gpsdrive startup script if you've created a separate icon to start gpsdrive under Qtopia.

I told you to run "carctl enable" in an earlier post - that was incorrect, it should be "cardctl resume".

Ian
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=92305\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


because my startup script is under Debian instead of Qtopia
so i tried "cru cardctl resume"
it doesn't seem to work for me
the LED is flashing
and "cat /dev/ttyS3" gives no data


do you know how they turn on the GPS CF under qpeGPS?
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

suid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #24 on: August 18, 2005, 06:47:38 pm »
Dou you have a running rootcmd server? If not, then the cru command won't work.

What happens when you type in "cru cardctl status" ?

Ian
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
C750, Cacko 1.22a, JP kernel
D-link 660W, deluo (Fortuna) CF GPS receiver,
Kingston 512Mb SD (ext2), Lexar 256Mb SD (vfat), Sandisk 64Mb CF, Transcend 1Gb SD (ext2, running debian)
[/span]

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #25 on: August 19, 2005, 01:53:55 pm »
Quote
Dou you have a running rootcmd server? If not, then the cru command won't work.

What happens when you type in "cru cardctl status" ?

Ian
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=92408\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


nothing shows up

how do i install the rootcmd server?
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

suid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #26 on: August 20, 2005, 12:35:00 pm »
 Looks like Meanie's distro doesn't include all the postinstall stuff that comes with Klaus Weidner's Pocket Workstation. Can you just check whether or not you have the following files under your Qtopia environment ?

/etc/debroot.conf            # PERMS -rw-rw-rw-
/etc/rc.d/init.d/zdebian    # PERMS -rwxr-xr-x

If not then you need to create them. I'm working from memory here, but I think that this should be all that you need. Proceed at your own risk. Don't blame me if this bricks your Zaurus etc, etc :-

debroot.conf

Code: [Select]
### /etc/debroot.conf
#
# Configuration for the Debian chroot environment startup process
#

# IMPORTANT: boolean settings (DEB_FOO=1) are true if not empty, so
# comment out the entry (put a '#' at the start of the line) if you
# want to deactivate it.

# The chroot directory for the Debian installation. Modify as required.
DEBROOT=/mnt/card/debroot

# The PATH to be used for programs running inside the chroot. Take your
# pick - the first one lets local programs override system defaults,
# the second one prevents that.
#
DEB_PATH=$HOME/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/games
#DEB_PATH=/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:$HOME/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/games

# Disable this if you have a fixed QPE that permits VT switching
#DEB_QPE_WARNING=1

# Mount proc inside the chroot=
#DEB_DO_MOUNTS=1

# The following files are copied from the native
# system into the chroot environment on bootup.
# Use a path relative to '/', but omit the leading
# slash.
#
# The files are modified to contain '#' comments,
# so don't do this for files that don't support
# '#' as a comment character
#
#DEB_COPY_INTO_CHROOT="etc/resolv.conf"

# The following files are copied in the opposite
# direction - from the chroot into the native
# environment on bootup.
#
#DEB_COPY_INTO_NATIVE="etc/hosts"

# A list of services to launch on bootup inside
# the chroot. Make sure to avoid conflicts with the native
# system - don't try to run two network servers on the
# same port.
#
#DEB_RUN_SERVICES=""
#DEB_RUN_SERVICES="mysql"
#DEB_RUN_SERVICES="inetd ssh lpd"
#DEB_RUN_SERVICES="ssh"

# Launch the VNC server in the backround on startup?
#DEB_RUN_VNCSERVER=1

# Lauch framebuffer VNC client?
#DEB_RUN_FBVNC=1

#
#DEB_ZAPM_PROXY=1

# If you already have a 'zapmd' startup script (one is
# included in the native X11 environment for the zaurus),
# disable this entry.
#DEB_RUN_ZAPMD=1

# Start the rootcmd server? It forwards shell commands sent
# by 'cru' from the chroot environment to the native system.
# This way, you can run 'cru cardctl eject' and avoid the need
# to put PCMCIA tools and configuration into the chroot.
#
DEB_ROOTCMD=1

I've commented out everything except what you need to get the rootcmd server started.

zdebian

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash

## sh [linked to ash] doesn't exec cleanly, so set to bash
SHELLCMD=/bin/bash

DEBCONF=/etc/debroot.conf
[ ! -f $DEBCONF ] && {
        echo "Can't find $DEBCONF, aborting..."
        exit 1
}

. $DEBCONF

[ "$DEBROOT" ] || exit 1
if [ ! -d "$DEBROOT" ]; then
        echo "Waiting for $DEBROOT to be fscked..."
        while ps ax | grep -v grep | grep e2fsck >/dev/null
        do
                sleep 1
        done
        sleep 1
        if [ ! -d "$DEBROOT" ]; then
                echo "Waiting for $DEBROOT to be mounted..."
                sleep 10
        fi
fi
cd $DEBROOT || exit 1

ROOTCMD_FIFO=$DEBROOT/dev/rootcmd
ZAPMD=/dev/zapmd

rootcmd_server_start () {
        rm -f $ROOTCMD_FIFO
        mkfifo -m 600 $ROOTCMD_FIFO

        (
                while true
                do
                        exec <$ROOTCMD_FIFO
                        read TTY CMD
                        $SHELLCMD -c "$CMD" $DEBROOT/$TTY 2>&1
                        sleep 1
                done
        ) &
        echo $! >/var/run/rootcmd.pid
}

rootcmd_server_stop () {
        kill $(cat /var/run/rootcmd.pid)
        rm -f /var/run/rootcmd.pid
}

zapm_proxy_start () {
        rm -f $DEBROOT$ZAPMD
        mkfifo $DEBROOT$ZAPMD

        (
                while true
                do
                        [ -e $DEBROOT$ZAPMD ] || exit 0
                        exec < $DEBROOT$ZAPMD
                        read C
                        [ -e $ZAPMD ] && echo "$C" > $ZAPMD
                        sleep 1
                done
        ) &
        echo $! >/var/run/zapm_proxy.pid
}

zapm_proxy_stop () {
        kill $(cat /var/run/zapm_proxy.pid)
        rm -f /var/run/zapm_proxy.pid
        rm -f $DEBROOT$ZAPMD
}

CR="env -i PATH=$DEB_PATH TERM=vt102 HOME=$HOME chroot $DEBROOT"

commented_copy_into_chroot () {
        [ -f "/$1" ] && (
                echo "### Do not edit this file - it was copied"
                echo "### from the native system's /$1 by $0"
                echo "### Edit $DEBCONF to deactivate this."
                echo
                cat "/$1"
                echo
                echo "### Do not edit this file - it was copied"
                echo "### from the native system's /$1 by $0"
                echo "### Edit $DEBCONF to deactivate this."
        ) > "$1"
}

commented_copy_into_native () {
        [ -f "$1" ] && (
                echo "### Do not edit this file - it was copied"
                echo "### from $DEBROOT/$1 by $0"
                echo "### Edit $DEBCONF to deactivate this."
                echo
                cat "$1"
                echo
                echo "### Do not edit this file - it was copied"
                echo "### from $DEBROOT/$1 by $0"
                echo "### Edit $DEBCONF to deactivate this."
        ) > "/$1"
}

case "$1" in
start)
        if [ "$DEB_DO_MOUNTS" ]; then
                [ ! -f proc/version ] && mount none proc -t proc
                ## FIXME: following breaks if debroot on cf card
                # [ -L /mnt/cf ] && ln -sf $DEBROOT/mnt/cf /mnt/cf
        fi

        [ "$DEB_COPY_INTO_CHROOT" ] && for F in $DEB_COPY_INTO_CHROOT
        do
                commented_copy_into_chroot $F
        done

        [ "$DEB_COPY_INTO_NATIVE" ] && for F in $DEB_COPY_INTO_NATIVE
        do
                commented_copy_into_native $F
        done

        [ "$DEB_ROOTCMD" ] && rootcmd_server_start
        [ "$DEB_ZAPM_PROXY" ] && zapm_proxy_start

        [ "$DEB_RUN_SERVICES" ] && for S in $DEB_RUN_SERVICES
        do
                $CR /etc/init.d/$S start
        done
        [ "$DEB_RUN_VNCSERVER" ] && /usr/local/bin/Vncserver
        [ "$DEB_RUN_FBVNC" ] && /usr/local/bin/Fbvnc

       ;;
stop)
        if [ "$DEB_DO_MOUNTS" ]; then
                umount proc
        fi

        [ "$DEB_ROOTCMD" ] && rootcmd_server_stop
        [ "$DEB_ZAPM_PROXY" ] && zapm_proxy_stop

        [ "$DEB_RUN_SERVICES" ] && for S in $DEB_RUN_SERVICES
        do
                $CR /etc/init.d/$S stop
        done
        [ "$DEB_RUN_VNCSERVER" ] && echo "Not stopping Xvnc, do that manually if you need to."
       ;;
restart)
        $0 stop
        $0 start
       ;;
esac
#echo "zdebian finished."
exit 0

Run /etc/rc.d/init.d/zdebian from the command line, then start up Debian and try "cru cardctl status" again. If this works, you can create the links so that zdebian (and rootcmd) will start up automatically when you boot the Z.

Create the necessary links to start up zdebian during boot :-

# ln -s /etc/rc.d/init.d/zdebian /etc/rc.d/rc5.d/S50zdebian

(or, rather that creating S50zdebian, you could just run "/etc/rc.d/init.d/zdebian start" when you start up Debian)

# ln -s /etc/rc.d/init.d/zdebian /etc/rc.d/rc0.d/K50zdebian
# ln -s /etc/rc.d/init.d/zdebian /etc/rc.d/rc1.d/K50zdebian


If everything is working okay, then my original script at the start of this thread should now work.

Good Luck!

Ian
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
C750, Cacko 1.22a, JP kernel
D-link 660W, deluo (Fortuna) CF GPS receiver,
Kingston 512Mb SD (ext2), Lexar 256Mb SD (vfat), Sandisk 64Mb CF, Transcend 1Gb SD (ext2, running debian)
[/span]

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #27 on: August 20, 2005, 06:56:53 pm »
thanks suid
it works great
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

suid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #28 on: March 15, 2006, 06:17:11 pm »
Full Debian package now compiled and can be downloaded from:

Gpsdrive

Note ... gpsd is no longer included in the package.



Cheers

Ian
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
C750, Cacko 1.22a, JP kernel
D-link 660W, deluo (Fortuna) CF GPS receiver,
Kingston 512Mb SD (ext2), Lexar 256Mb SD (vfat), Sandisk 64Mb CF, Transcend 1Gb SD (ext2, running debian)
[/span]

Merlin_fr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #29 on: June 26, 2006, 11:30:37 am »
Hi,

I'm trying to install gpsdrive on my C3000.
I use the cacko ROM v1.23beta, with pdaXqtRom (downloaded here : pdaXqtROM)
I use the version 0.7.9.

Then I read this post, and tried to install the packages I found here: http://www.ostertag.name/gpsdrive/Zaurus/pdaXrom.html

I had to create the user gps, and allow it to access to /opt/QtPalmtop/lib
I linked libpcre:
Code: [Select]
cd /usr/lib
ln -s libpcre.so.0 libpcre.so.3


When I try to run gpsdrive-run.sh, I got the following error:
Code: [Select]
non-network local connections being added to access control list

libmysqlclient.so not found.

MySQL support disabled.

PDA mode

/home/gps/.gpsdrive/way.txt: No such file or directory

no garmin support compiled in

GLib-ERROR **: gmem.c:141:g_malloc(): failed to allocate 4294967168 bytes
aborting...


Does anyone have any clue ?