Author Topic: Wifi Card  (Read 1154 times)

Da_Blitz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pocketnix.org
Wifi Card
« on: April 21, 2005, 09:27:19 am »
I just recently purchased a NETGEAR MA701, only afterwards did i find the messages about some people not getting it to work and Netgear replacing it instead of troubleshooitng problems with the card when you called tech support

at the moment i have modified the wlan-ng.conf (or whatever it is called) to include my card and i did have it recignised by the OS for a short time, then i installed some programs and now it just ignores the card compleatly

any ideas about what i can try, i have done a search already but there is little infomation i could glean from the posts i could locate

thanks
Personal Blog
Code
Twitter

Gemini Order: #95 (roughly)
Current Device: Samsung Chromebook Gen 3
Current Arm Devices Count: ~30
Looking to acquire: Cavium Thunder X2 Hardware

V-Man

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wifi Card
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2005, 11:13:55 pm »
Let us know which Zaurus and ROM you are using and we might be able to help a bit more.
SL5500 w/Sharp ROM 3.10
Netgear MA701 WiFi
Sharp  CE-AG06 Camera Card
Various memory cards
Various homemade power/battery packs
HP 2215 iPAQ

Da_Blitz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pocketnix.org
Wifi Card
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2005, 02:48:04 am »
sorry bout that

i have a c3000 with the basic sharp rom

when i first got it the light wouldnt turn on and i had to go to the settings panel and set it all up like you would for a normal card however after this i installed some software (ie wpa supplicant and some games and apps) i also remeber fiddling with wlan-ng.conf to include the name, manfid and driver fields for my card (obtained from cardctl) however i cant remeber if i did this before or after i did the above step (i am inclined to belive it was before)

after this the thing refuses to connect, cardctl says its there cardctl ident 0 returns that it is a network card, however cardctl status 0 returns that it is 0 or nothing basically

iwconfig dosent see it, the prism2_cs module isnt loaded.

basically i am inclined to reset it, i never connected sucsefully to a wifi hotspot when the card was working (i assumed) as all my acsess points were WPA encrypted (none of that weak wep stuff)

anyone have any sugestions, as far as i see it its as simple as a reset but i need wpa to connect and was wondering if this might have stuffed it up, any one got wpa working?
Personal Blog
Code
Twitter

Gemini Order: #95 (roughly)
Current Device: Samsung Chromebook Gen 3
Current Arm Devices Count: ~30
Looking to acquire: Cavium Thunder X2 Hardware

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Wifi Card
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2005, 08:55:14 am »
I got the same Netgear card on a C3000 and did not have to do anything to get it to work, just plugged it in and it was detected and everything worked. I was so surprised! I was anticipating it do be troublesome because I was forced to get the Netgear instead of a D-LINK which was my preferred choice. I haven't tried out WPA yet though.
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

Da_Blitz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pocketnix.org
Wifi Card
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2005, 06:56:08 pm »
thanks for that guess i will have to do a reset and start from scratch, i will report back if i get wpa working
Personal Blog
Code
Twitter

Gemini Order: #95 (roughly)
Current Device: Samsung Chromebook Gen 3
Current Arm Devices Count: ~30
Looking to acquire: Cavium Thunder X2 Hardware