Author Topic: Help - 3000 Looks Dead  (Read 992 times)

Zlearner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Help - 3000 Looks Dead
« on: April 28, 2005, 04:17:24 am »
Have had a slc3000 for 2 months. Worked fine until now - tried to insert a 128mb SDcard. It started to behave erratically and locked up.

Could not navigate it so rebooted it -made no difference.

Performed a soft reset -made no difference.

Hard reset resulted in the machine locking on the SHARP screen (red letters in the middle of a white/grey screen), Flashing cursor.

After about 10 seconds the cursor (blinking) on the right bottom of the screen moved to the left bottom and I could just make out the following line flashing:

grep:/var/lib/pmcia/stab:no such file or directory

Tried to do a Japanese reset as per Dynamism, but now the machine wont even switch on and the charge light wont even come on when plugged into the mains. However, in the service menu I can tell it to charge and it does until I exit the service menu.

HELP!

wiredog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Help - 3000 Looks Dead
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2005, 09:11:58 am »
Did you pull the SD card when you rebooted?  Because it sounds like it's trying to find the card.


Try the d+b boot option to get a terminal and work from there. To do that remove the battery, re-install it, and press the "On" button.  To get a terminal (without starting the GUI) hold down the "b" and "d" keys while restarting it.
Earth First!
(We can strip mine the rest later.)

Zlearner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Help - 3000 Looks Dead
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2005, 04:00:59 am »
Quote
Did you pull the SD card when you rebooted?  Because it sounds like it's trying to find the card.


Try the d+b boot option to get a terminal and work from there. To do that remove the battery, re-install it, and press the "On" button.  To get a terminal (without starting the GUI) hold down the "b" and "d" keys while restarting it.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=77355\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Hi Wiredog,
Many thanks for the info.
Can't even try that. The unit is completely dead and I can't charge it up at all, or at least the light wont come on. I can still get the service menue.

I'll send it back to Dynamism now!!!!