Author Topic: Rc10 Out For Testing..  (Read 45864 times)

hbo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #15 on: May 18, 2005, 01:50:38 am »
Quote
?!

very strange. I had loaded pdaX over sharp..and got a really basic emergency looking desktop..restored to guylhem rom.... then flashed to pdaX and got a beautiful gui.  I wouldn't have thought that would happen at all. I wonder what my partitions look like...

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=80271\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

You seem to have gotten farther than I did. I also loaded rc10 on my 6k tonight. I answered "y" when the installer asked be if I wanted to format the user flash. As a result, root had no home dir and no .xinitrc. Since the default system xinitrc is the one that has shipped with X at least as far back as X11R5, (R4 had 'awm' I think) that brought up twm as the default window manager. I managed to get focus on an xterm, and from there about all I could do was type 'reboot.' I couldn't do anything else because the pointer calibration was all messed up. The X axis was reversed, and the Y axis  was non-functional until I had the stylus about 3/4 of the way to the bottom, when it would start rising off the very bottom of the screen It got maybe a third of the way up as I brought the stylus all the way to the bottom. So it's reversed to, but there's more to it than that. As reported here by others, I couldn't use the FN shifted keys, so I couldn't type some important characters like '-'. (Try going without that at a Unix command line. 8) Since I couldn't reach the window menu because of the pointer issue and I couldn't 'kill -' anything, rebooting was the best way out.

When I logged back in, I looked through /etc/X11 for a more suitable xinitrc, and found /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.openbox. This I copied to ~root/.xinitrc. When I typed 'startx' I got a much more reasonable starting desktop, with an xterm taking up about 2/3 of the screen, and with a piece of the desktop available. However the pointer was still screwed up. The calibration ran on both startx attempts.

That's all for tonight. I look forward to further testing.
SL5500/OZ 3.53/Opie 1.2/256MB SD/Linksys WFC12
C860/CACkO 1.22a/1GB SD/Linksys WFC12
SL6000L/sharprom 1.12/4GB Microdrive

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #16 on: May 18, 2005, 01:57:20 am »
you could repeat what i did.. weird though it seems... do a restore on guylhem's image.. boot to it, shutdown and install rc10.  I expected that to have problems...  as it turned out my problems came right after a fresh factory restore...
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

badog

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #17 on: May 18, 2005, 03:33:54 am »
can unstable-feed  still be used in RC10?

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #18 on: May 18, 2005, 05:09:46 am »
I did what adf did, really nice looking!  Now we need to figure out how to start up the wireless....
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

hbo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #19 on: May 18, 2005, 07:52:49 am »
Quote
you could repeat what i did.. weird though it seems... do a restore on guylhem's image.. boot to it, shutdown and install rc10.  I expected that to have problems...  as it turned out my problems came right after a fresh factory restore...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=80292\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

It's the partitioning. With the default split, pdaXrom fills up the "read only" partition. If you load the guylhem rom first, it converts the flash partitioning to a single writeable root. This allows the pdaXrom install to complete correctly.

It looks as though pdaXrom will have to distribute either a smaller image or a NAND flash image  for the 6000L

My vote is for the latter.

On a cheerier note, let me second what others have said in this thread. This ROM is beautiful!
SL5500/OZ 3.53/Opie 1.2/256MB SD/Linksys WFC12
C860/CACkO 1.22a/1GB SD/Linksys WFC12
SL6000L/sharprom 1.12/4GB Microdrive

andrewwoods

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #20 on: May 18, 2005, 08:36:31 am »
This is GREAT. It looks good and feels (subjective I know) to be faster.

512MB SD card came today so I'm well happy.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2005, 08:40:27 am by andrewwoods »
SL-C860 pdaxrom Beta3 512MB SD
Buffalo CF WLAN RTM-8000 GPRS ANYCOM BT

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #21 on: May 18, 2005, 09:55:29 am »
Are we sure we HAVE to use wlan-ng?  I mean, if we can get the prism2 drivers to load, maybe hostap can be used?

I guess first is getting the prism2 module to load.

I put the feed on my cf in the meantime so I could see how the apps work

really really nice!
good quick office apps (full blown, too) and 3 browser options.
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

Christoph

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #22 on: May 18, 2005, 11:37:46 am »
Hi Laze,

I saw that you have packages for kde in the feed.
I thought I was the only one to be crazy enough to try it.  
Is it usable?

Christoph
SL C850, pdaXrom rc10, fvwm

pgas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #23 on: May 18, 2005, 12:29:46 pm »
Quote
It looks as though pdaXrom will have to distribute either a smaller image or a NAND flash image for the 6000L

You can also try to use the tools in the installer to resize the root partition.
SLC-860 cacko / senao wifi

hbo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #24 on: May 18, 2005, 01:03:27 pm »
6000L WiFi Works!

Several things were key in getting this to work.
  • Follow the instructions at ftp://ftp.linux-wlan.org/pub/linux-wlan-ng/README exactly as far as editing the files in /etc/wlan. Don't mess with pcmcia or hotplug.
  • /etc/rc.d/init.d/wlan start
  • dhcpcd wlan0
  • Don't use vi, either in console or X11 mode!
It's really busybox, and it has terrible trouble with wrapped lines. The fact that the 6000L is in portrait mode makes this more likely to be a problem. Use SciTE in X11 mode (in the Office group)

Here's a relevant (censored) section from my /etc/wlan/wlancfg-mySSID, implementing 128 bit WEP:

Code: [Select]
#=======WEP===========================================
# [Dis/En]able WEP.  Settings only matter if PrivacyInvoked is true
lnxreq_hostWEPEncrypt=true     # true|false
lnxreq_hostWEPDecrypt=true     # true|false
dot11PrivacyInvoked=true        # true|false
dot11WEPDefaultKeyID=0  # 0|1|2|3
t11ExcludeUnencrypted=true      # true|false, in AP this means WEP is required.
# If PRIV_GENSTR is not empty, use PRIV_GENTSTR to generate
#  keys (just a convenience)
# add-ons/ in the tarball contains other key generators.
PRIV_GENERATOR=/sbin/nwepgen    # nwepgen, Neesus compatible
PRIV_KEY128=true                # keylength to generate
PRIV_GENSTR=""

# or set them explicitly.  Set genstr or keys, not both.
dot11WEPDefaultKey0=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
« Last Edit: May 18, 2005, 03:38:30 pm by hbo »
SL5500/OZ 3.53/Opie 1.2/256MB SD/Linksys WFC12
C860/CACkO 1.22a/1GB SD/Linksys WFC12
SL6000L/sharprom 1.12/4GB Microdrive

hbo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #25 on: May 18, 2005, 01:04:44 pm »
Quote
Quote
It looks as though pdaXrom will have to distribute either a smaller image or a NAND flash image for the 6000L

You can also try to use the tools in the installer to resize the root partition.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=80374\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

The instructions say not to, in emphatic terms.
SL5500/OZ 3.53/Opie 1.2/256MB SD/Linksys WFC12
C860/CACkO 1.22a/1GB SD/Linksys WFC12
SL6000L/sharprom 1.12/4GB Microdrive

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #26 on: May 18, 2005, 01:27:42 pm »
bravo! on thewireless.
sounds like you were pretyy interested in getting this to work
« Last Edit: May 18, 2005, 01:28:24 pm by adf »
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

hbo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #27 on: May 18, 2005, 01:45:39 pm »
Quote
bravo! on thewireless.
sounds like you were pretyy interested in getting this to work
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=80385\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Obsessed, you mean?  

I'm obsessive about gadgets and systems software. The Zaurii bring out the best (?) in me.
SL5500/OZ 3.53/Opie 1.2/256MB SD/Linksys WFC12
C860/CACkO 1.22a/1GB SD/Linksys WFC12
SL6000L/sharprom 1.12/4GB Microdrive

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #28 on: May 18, 2005, 02:10:55 pm »
hey laze --

you said replacement (new) ipks to fix the fn key thing -- does that mean that they
are up? or are you going to post with their names and when they are up, etc.

Scott

Gondola

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Rc10 Out For Testing..
« Reply #29 on: May 18, 2005, 02:46:29 pm »
hbo,

Thanks a ton! This got me online and in via ssh to my Z!

A couple small corrections to your instructions:

Code: [Select]
/etc/init.d/wlan start
should be

Code: [Select]
/etc/rc.d/init.d/wlan start
and

Code: [Select]
Here's a relevant (censored) section from my /etc/wlan/wlan-cfg-[i]mySSID[/i], implementing 128 bit WEP:
Should be

Code: [Select]
/etc/wlan/wlancfg-mySSID
No dash after wlan and before cfg in that filename.  But those two filenames are in the README, so anyone following the directions should catch those two differences.

Well done!
« Last Edit: May 18, 2005, 02:47:18 pm by Gondola »
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']Nokia 770, running latest firmware.
1GB RS-MMC sandisk card
Garmin Etrex Legend GPS/USB Earthmate GPS
Rooted, with an SSH server, VNC viewer, etc.
[/span]