Author Topic: 5600 Home Not Being Formatted  (Read 1336 times)

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
5600 Home Not Being Formatted
« on: May 24, 2005, 10:57:38 am »
Hi all. I'm reflashing my 5600. I reset & run the Update from the Maintenance Menu, which reports that the kernel & image are updated without errors, reset & then run the Format, which to my understanding is supposed to clean out the /home partition, correct? Why then after the reboot do I still see all of my old files under /home?

My main concern is that some of my old stuff in /home/root may interfere with the new setup. I've backed up everything, I'd like to start from a clean slate. Anything anybody can offer would be greatly appreciated. thks
« Last Edit: May 24, 2005, 12:52:46 pm by grog »
GROG!

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
5600 Home Not Being Formatted
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2005, 11:14:03 am »
/home isn't formatted by OZ.

I think the standard procedure is to rm -rf /home/* before flashing.


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
5600 Home Not Being Formatted
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2005, 12:51:16 pm »
Quote
/home isn't formatted by OZ.

I think the standard procedure is to rm -rf /home/* before flashing.[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81254\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
ah. That explains a lot. So if the formatting of home is left to the distro, then just what does the Maintenance Menu, Format do? thks
GROG!

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
5600 Home Not Being Formatted
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2005, 05:26:16 am »
Quote
So if the formatting of home is left to the distro, then just what does the Maintenance Menu, Format do?

No idea, I don't have a 5600, sorry,


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
5600 Home Not Being Formatted
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2005, 10:47:30 am »
Quote
Quote
So if the formatting of home is left to the distro, then just what does the Maintenance Menu, Format do?
No idea, I don't have a 5600, sorry,[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81391\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Don't be sorry, you also  have a 750! . I'm just hoping some knowledgable 5600 owner will key in here. Thanks for your help.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2005, 10:47:57 am by grog »
GROG!