Author Topic: Zaurus Bricked While Using Rc9  (Read 2758 times)

gromituk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Zaurus Bricked While Using Rc9
« on: May 28, 2005, 04:24:57 pm »
As far as I can remember, I was using XMMS to listen to an MP3 on a CF card in my 860, with the screen blanked.  I hadn't done this before.  I closed the lid and pressed the power button, and now my Z is bricked.  It will charge (yellow LED comes on and goes out after a while) but that is all.  I have left the battery out overnight, and tried OK and D+M while inserting the battery, pressing the power button, etc., but nothing.      

I might have a hardware fault, but I am worried that something in the ROM has caused this.  Is it possible?  It'll cost me a fortune to send it back to Japan for a repair they surely won't do under warranty.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2005, 04:27:29 pm by gromituk »

pgas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
    • View Profile
    • http://
Zaurus Bricked While Using Rc9
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2005, 04:33:04 pm »
hey something similar happened to me today :-) (not with xmms)

I unlock the battery
I removed the battery.
putt the battery
keep  d m pressed
 put the external power
lock the battery
press the power button (without depressing d m )

This exact sequence (in think the key is to have the d and m keys pressed when you lock the battery) bring you in the service menu.
I 've done extra menu ->reset.

And everything was ok
« Last Edit: May 28, 2005, 04:34:59 pm by pgas »
SLC-860 cacko / senao wifi

gromituk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Zaurus Bricked While Using Rc9
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2005, 06:42:47 pm »
Thanks pgas - I hope that's a useful reference, but as I suspected, as soon as I posted about my Z being bricked it would wake up again!  When it died I was about 3 days into a 2 week sailing holiday in Croatia, where I had intended to review pictures on the Z (my camera can copy its pics to 640x480 quite easily).  Perhaps it got seasick, but it came alive again after a good old mains charge (rather than from my home made 12V charger!).  I'm very relieved, and looking forward to trying rc10.  

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
Zaurus Bricked While Using Rc9
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2005, 04:28:58 pm »
I really haven't seen aoyne "brick" their devices (in a long time).
I'm not saying it can't happen, but I think the normal flashing
mechanism is pretty safe.

Whenever I had a dead device -- it was always because the battery
was completely drained... so, like one time, I replaced the drained
battery with one that was charged and the device was still dead!
Ah, but the battery I *thought* was charged, was really also drained.
Now I know to plug in, let a battery charge for 10 minutes, then
give it a try.  I've also forgotten to put the battery switch back to
lock... easy enough if you go through the steps, and notice that
you can't unlock, because it's already unlocked -- and finally,
you CAN put the batter in upside down...

I think my pda finally died, somehow -- it was up for close to
30 days... I came in and found it off, and when I pressed a
key to wake up, I had a battery notice... strange, since it
was plugged in.

Scott

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3698
    • View Profile
Zaurus Bricked While Using Rc9
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2005, 04:26:27 pm »
Quote
I really haven't seen aoyne "brick" their devices (in a long time).
I'm not saying it can't happen, but I think the normal flashing
mechanism is pretty safe.

I think my pda finally died, somehow -- it was up for close to
30 days... I came in and found it off, and when I pressed a
key to wake up, I had a battery notice... strange, since it
was plugged in.

Scott
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=82052\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I think people now only brick their Z through a hardware fault or re-flashing when the battery isn't totally full and there's a glitch?

I also notice that the Z's power circuits are not very good, in that it seems you can charge the Z *or* leave it running, but it struggles to do both at the same time... I can take mine to work, plug it in to a USB sync/charge cable and it will appear to be charging but if it's active, it barely increases the charge level over four hours or so.

Sharp could learn a few lessons from Sony about LiIon batteries and charger circuitry.
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

kahm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 657
    • View Profile
Zaurus Bricked While Using Rc9
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2005, 05:04:41 pm »
Quote
I think people now only brick their Z through a hardware fault or re-flashing when the battery isn't totally full and there's a glitch?

I also notice that the Z's power circuits are not very good, in that it seems you can charge the Z *or* leave it running, but it struggles to do both at the same time... I can take mine to work, plug it in to a USB sync/charge cable and it will appear to be charging but if it's active, it barely increases the charge level over four hours or so.

Sharp could learn a few lessons from Sony about LiIon batteries and charger circuitry.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=82181\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

That might be beacause USB only supplies .5 amps of power. The supply that came with the clamshell Zs is 1 amp. There's just not a lot of power left over from running the Z to charge the battery.
Fujitsu U8240 "Stormtrooper" -  Zaurus Supplement
Libretto U100 | Sony Librie, Sony Reader
SL-C3100: Sharp 1.11JP (Kanji Dictionary/Translator) - LCD Top swap with C1000.
SL-C3000: pdaXii13 5.4.7, SL-C3000 5.4.9 - microdrive replaced with 8gb Sandisk
SL-C1000: PDAXRom Beta3 | SL-6000L: Sharp 1.12 | SL-5500: Cacko, 64-0 kernel | SL-5000D: OZ-Opie
Linksys WCF12; Sharp CE-AG06, CE-RH2, CE-170TS; iRiver USB OTG Host cable; Socket BT rev.E CF; Hitachi 6gb Microdrive

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
Zaurus Bricked While Using Rc9
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2005, 03:29:36 pm »
I have not had any issues charging while using... my 700/760.

I've had my 760 on for a month or so, straight...

I can't speak for the 5600, etc.

Scott