Author Topic: thekompany rom  (Read 19920 times)

Anonymous

  • Guest
thekompany rom
« Reply #60 on: January 23, 2004, 06:06:59 pm »
Quote
Is anybody can help me to sync Z (tkcrom) with Outlook WinXP via network?
Also another question - Is it possible to use smbd as samba server in local network or I seed to install samba? It seems smbd works only when usb connection.
VG


Take a look at this document from in the how-to section.  It explains how to configure Samba to work as you\'d expect.
Samba over non-USB

Violator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • http://
thekompany rom
« Reply #61 on: January 25, 2004, 04:07:38 pm »
Hi everyone, I have installed TKCRom 2.0 alpha3 on my 5500 and I am very happy with it apart from one major problem. I installed all my programs I required with no problems reported but if I try and reboot the Zaurus it goes into a loop at bootup waiting for a device. If I then try yo reset using battery switch or reset button the system will boot but never display the startup screen, only displays the taskbar. I cannot start any programs because they appear to hang. My only option is to reflash and restore from backup ( incidently I cannot backup within Zaurus as system claims not enough free memory so backup made to PC). I have now reflashed 3 times due to installing programs that cause problems. Does anyone know of the reason or a cure? I thought it may be because of Opera 7 so I may try reflashing and only installing selected programs.

Anonymous

  • Guest
thekompany rom
« Reply #62 on: January 31, 2004, 03:32:39 pm »
Hi,
I have a bluetooth AmbiCom card BT2000D. It was late to send it back when I noticed that only BT2000E model is in the hardware list. So it seems the card is not supported by bluez standard drivers. I\'ve tried all BT drivers supplied with bluez but all of them failed. Can anybody help me? Thanks in advance.
jupiter

pauln

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
thekompany rom
« Reply #63 on: February 03, 2004, 12:07:23 pm »
Can you run the original apps on the tkcROM e.g. calander, addressbook etc

bluedevils

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1284
    • View Profile
    • http://
thekompany rom
« Reply #64 on: February 03, 2004, 12:39:27 pm »
If you mean the sharp PIMs, then yes you can.
I'm now an iphone user and use my zaurii as serial terminals, perl and shell scripting and when I need 640x480 screens

sl-c3100/pda cacko 1.23 | sl-6000l/needs battery | sl-c760/server pdaxrom rc12 | Former sl-5500/tkcrom owner (sister's birthday gift)

volvox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • http://
thekompany rom
« Reply #65 on: February 16, 2004, 11:51:20 pm »
Greetings,

Newbie here. I\'m looking for the thekompany\'s rom and can\'t seem to find it. I keep getting bumped to a Sharp site www.zaurus.com that shows \"under construction\". It seems to me that I recently visited this site, and now I can\'t. Are there any mirrors with it? ...or am I just SOL untill the Sharp Dev site is back on-line.

Thanks,

Marcel

offroadgeek

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1419
    • View Profile
    • https://www.oesf.org
thekompany rom
« Reply #66 on: February 17, 2004, 12:06:03 am »
Quote
Greetings,

Newbie here. I\'m looking for the thekompany\'s rom and can\'t seem to find it. I keep getting bumped to a Sharp site www.zaurus.com that shows \"under construction\". It seems to me that I recently visited this site, and now I can\'t. Are there any mirrors with it? ...or am I just SOL untill the Sharp Dev site is back on-line.

Thanks,

Marcel

you can get it either from the ZUG Downloads area, or you can go to the community.zaurus.com mirror from the ZUG Menu on the main ZUG page.

enjoy
Search the OESF Wiki
C1000 w/Cacko 1.23 beta (from Streamline) / 760 pdaxrom rc9 / 6000L (thanks Santa's elf!) / 5500 - OZ 3.3.5 / SIMpad SL4
1GB, 256mb SanDisk CF / 2x 1GB, 512mb, 256mb, 128mb SanDisk SD
Ambicom WL100C-CF wifi / Socket 56k CF modem / AmbiCom BT2000-CF (x2)
Pocketop keyboard, Piel Frama case (1000 & 5500), PDAir case (760 & 1000)
sip:536093@fwd.pulver.com
| OESF | ELSI | Zaurus User Group | ZaurusThemes |

Anonymous

  • Guest
thekompany rom
« Reply #67 on: February 17, 2004, 07:10:03 am »
Hey All, Am I wrong or is it not now possible to easily download the TKC roms?  The link provided at the TheKompany web site refers to a zaurus dev link, and this one comes up dead for me.  I also tried the mirror mentioned above at http://myzaur.us/tkcrom but also found no page.

Thanks, Mark Lachniet

Anonymous

  • Guest
thekompany rom
« Reply #68 on: February 17, 2004, 07:26:41 am »
Quote
Hey All, Am I wrong or is it not now possible to easily download the TKC roms?  The link provided at the TheKompany web site refers to a zaurus dev link, and this one comes up dead for me.  I also tried the mirror mentioned above at http://myzaur.us/tkcrom but also found no page.

Thanks, Mark Lachniet
SORRY!!  Ignore above.  Ugh, I\'m a silly silly man.  I didn\'t realize this was a multi page thread until I tried to find my own post.

dzins

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • http://
thekompany rom
« Reply #69 on: March 31, 2004, 08:49:51 pm »
I have a 5500, I installed theKompany V1.0 rom.  Is it possible to make it sync tkcAddressBook and tkcCalendar with MS Outlook?

zaferaktan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
    • http://
thekompany rom
« Reply #70 on: May 21, 2004, 08:42:05 pm »
I bought some applications from the K company.  Nice thing is that , when installed the applications creates their own tab and works perfectly with the K company rom.  I am particularly impressed their video player (mpeg) application.   Also I recorded an entire meeting (55 minutes) and it took only 6MB space on my CF hard disk.

seekyrr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
thekompany rom
« Reply #71 on: September 03, 2004, 11:50:08 am »
I just got a SL5500 with the Kompany Rom on it.

This is my first Z.

Would the Sharp user guide work for this ROM?  If not is there a user guide download?

Thanks

Seek
Z SL5500
OZ3.3.6-pre1 / Opie 1.1.4 ROM Hentges
512 Lex CF
256 Kingston SD
Ambicom Wireless CF
Pockettop IR Keyboard
DigiTrav. GPS

Krace

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • http://
thekompany rom
« Reply #72 on: September 17, 2004, 01:17:18 pm »
heya ppl,

I'm using tkcROM on my 5600, along with D-Link Wi-Fi card and an Ambicom BT2000. Wi-Fi works mint. BT refused to work for a long time, but I finally found some time to investigate it and somewhat fixed it.

When I configure a BT connection thru (BT-aware) Network Applet, nothing works. "It just sits there", as they say. I got around it manually, using "pppd dial <myConnectionName>", everything seems to work, BUT!  
Not unless you fix the rfcomm nodes in /dev: for some strange reason, /dev/rfcomm* are REGULAR FILES!     Takes an "rm /dev/rfcomm*", and then "mknod -mode 666 /dev/rfcomm0 c 216 0" to make stuff work. Also, a BT connection seems to reset-freeze the box from time to time, and upon reboot /dev/rfcomm*'s revert back to regular files. Talk about major annoyance!  


has anyone had this problem with tckROM?

KZXten

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • http://
thekompany rom
« Reply #73 on: September 20, 2004, 03:28:31 am »
I'm trying to flash to the Kompany ROM but with no luck.  I finally got a SD card so I had room for storage and thought that with the 5600 ROM update I could use the SD to do the flash, am I incorrect in that I still need a CF for the flash?

Thanks in advance

Krace

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • http://
thekompany rom
« Reply #74 on: September 21, 2004, 02:27:18 am »
Quote
I'm trying to flash to the Kompany ROM but with no luck.  I finally got a SD card so I had room for storage and thought that with the 5600 ROM update I could use the SD to do the flash, am I incorrect in that I still need a CF for the flash?

Thanks in advance
you absolutely can. must be some freaked-out sd if you do things right and still cannot flash.

make sure that the files are named properly, esp. that "zImage" (sic!)
make sure your update files are in the right place (root directory of your SD card, all three of them)
make sure you use binary transfer if downloading via ftp

check, double-check, then check again. it should work. it worked for me, anyway.  

good luck!