Author Topic: Hd On 3100  (Read 1954 times)

DrWowe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 696
    • View Profile
    • http://
Hd On 3100
« on: June 15, 2005, 08:03:05 am »
Anyone have an early model, or just want to speculate?

Anyway, now that the 3100 has as much flash as the non-HD C models, I want to know if it's possible to selectively disable the hard drive and just operate the machine from flash.  This would save on battery life when the extra space isn't in use.

John Galt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Hd On 3100
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2005, 11:39:59 am »
Quote
Anyone have an early model, or just want to speculate?

Anyway, now that the 3100 has as much flash as the non-HD C models, I want to know if it's possible to selectively disable the hard drive and just operate the machine from flash.  This would save on battery life when the extra space isn't in use.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84334\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I suppose you could, but the question is why would you spend good money on  the 3100 and then not use the most important part of that device, the 4GB hard drive? Why  not just get the 1000 instead?
Zaurus SL-C3000 with pdaXii13
4GB CF, 4GB SD, AmbiCom CF Wireless card

DrWowe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 696
    • View Profile
    • http://
Hd On 3100
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2005, 12:47:40 pm »
Quote
but the question is why would you spend good money on  the 3100 and then not use the most important part of that device, the 4GB hard drive? Why  not just get the 1000 instead?

Simple.  The device is used for different purposes at different times.  I didn't ask about how to permanently disable the HD.  I asked about selective enabling and disabling it depending on current needs.

omega

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 626
    • View Profile
    • http://
Hd On 3100
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2005, 01:02:21 pm »
Interesting. The microdrive automatically spins down immediately after access... standby current is also quite high....  Does power get removed i wonder when you eject the slot...

So to answer your question, you should just be able to "eject" the CF slot in software, and reenable after a suspend automatically.
Gorgeous C860, 256 Sandisk SD, 1Gig Pretec 40x CF, PDAIR leather case & the really cool retractable iPDA USB sync/charge cable. Powered by PDAXROM BETA 1.

My wish - to have a Command & Conquer style game on my Z! (FREECNC!!!) Simcity 2000 would also be great.

wiredog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Hd On 3100
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2005, 01:32:34 pm »
According to Dynamism it's going to have VGA out.  

VGA out+USB mouse and keyboard==full laptop replacement.
Earth First!
(We can strip mine the rest later.)

sriley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
    • http://
Hd On 3100
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2005, 01:36:40 pm »
I'm pretty sure the VGA out is via CF card, maybe 6 or 8 frames per second.  Not really usable for anything other than a slide presentation.

daemon1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
Hd On 3100
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2005, 12:57:06 am »
Quote
According to Dynamism it's going to have VGA out.   

VGA out+USB mouse and keyboard==full laptop replacement.
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

they said the same thing for the 3000... the optional vga out is the compact flash card that conics also sells [a href=\"http://conics.net/shp/pda/zaurus-sl-c700/cfxga/]http://conics.net/shp/pda/zaurus-sl-c700/cfxga/[/url]
C3000 - Debian EABI - Kernel 2.6.23 of Angstrom

wiredog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Hd On 3100
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2005, 07:43:15 am »
Quote
they said the same thing for the 3000... the optional vga out is the compact flash card that conics also sells http://conics.net/shp/pda/zaurus-sl-c700/cfxga/
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84464\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I wonder what the refresh rate is.
Earth First!
(We can strip mine the rest later.)