Author Topic: Xfce4 Finetuning  (Read 93779 times)

wowo123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #255 on: September 28, 2006, 05:12:58 am »
Followed your footsteps and everything worked out fine on my c3200 with beta3. I have xfce4 and rox and my keymap works properly...BUT
Fn+3 /Fn+4 doesn't work for backlight. In startxfce4 I found  -kb in the defaultserverargs line, so what's wrong? Any hint? Can anyone post his working xinitrc.xfce? Thanks in advance.

takuan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #256 on: September 28, 2006, 08:20:43 am »
Hey Chero,
Thanks for all the work making the packages for xfce!
Its definately my favorite X manager and use it for everything..
I was just wondering though if you could make a wiki for the installation/current bugs/updates/etc of xfce because 18 pages of forums is a little too much to read for most people
Itd be nice if we could organize things like this into concise wiki's.
I have something in mind like the Gentoo Wikis. great stuff.

anyways, just a suggestion. if youre too busy, dont worry about it

uMP2k

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #257 on: September 28, 2006, 09:02:37 am »
Quote
Followed your footsteps and everything worked out fine on my c3200 with beta3. I have xfce4 and rox and my keymap works properly...BUT
Fn+3 /Fn+4 doesn't work for backlight. In startxfce4 I found  -kb in the defaultserverargs line, so what's wrong? Any hint? Can anyone post his working xinitrc.xfce? Thanks in advance.
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

You might want to check out [a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=21361] THIS [/url] thead for some more info on this topic.  

Basically, I had the same question as you, and although I managed to map the fn keys to work for backlighting etc, the setting did not stick through a restart of xfce.

I have ended up compromising and mapping them to alt=3 and alt+4.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2006, 09:08:22 am by uMP2k »
My new toy: C1000/pdaXrom/xfce4 and Rox - now I just have to get it all working!.

Other stuff: Axim x50v and a brace of Newtons....!

coklat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #258 on: October 06, 2006, 11:35:13 am »
I installed XFCE 4.4 beta2. The toolbar/menu icons in applications are missing, replaced by the square with cross mark in it when I tried to change the user interface theme to xfce-dusk. Anyone know how to fix this? I'm sorry if this is a stupid question. I'm new to Linux and just flashed my C1000 with pdaXrom
SL-C1000 owner, jumping around between Cacko, OZ & pdaXrom...
Most usable: Cacko, most fun: pdaXrom
My ideal Zaurus: Powerful like a notebook and easy to use like Palm PDA
Just a user though ;)

webslngr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #259 on: October 06, 2006, 03:07:38 pm »
Quote
I installed XFCE 4.4 beta2. The toolbar/menu icons in applications are missing, replaced by the square with cross mark in it when I tried to change the user interface theme to xfce-dusk. Anyone know how to fix this? I'm sorry if this is a stupid question. I'm new to Linux and just flashed my C1000 with pdaXrom
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

You might want to make sure the hicolor ipk is installed. it can be found in  [a href=\"http://users.telenet.be/zaurususer/ipkgs/experimental/xfce4-4.4-beta2/hicolor_0.0.1_armv5tel.ipk]Chero's ipks[/url]

The xfce-dusk theme works on my 3100 running r121

One of the other fun things about xfce (and all related ipks) is that it REALLY likes living in / instead of another destination.
Code: [Select]
# ipkg -d root install
Hope that helps.

--webslngr
« Last Edit: October 06, 2006, 03:08:27 pm by webslngr »
c3100 running pdaXrom b3, ambicom wl1100, a 2nd 4 GB Hitachi microdrive (and various other tools and gadgets)

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #260 on: October 06, 2006, 03:38:35 pm »
What packages do I need to install to run the the XFCE beta 2?

Also, can I use the old plugins with the beta 2 version of XFCE? I mostly want the taskbar plugin.

If this has already been asked, sorry to ask again, but 18 pages is a lot!  

Thanks.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2006, 04:29:58 pm by Capn_Fish »
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo

webslngr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #261 on: October 06, 2006, 05:08:34 pm »
Quote
What packages do I need to install to run the the XFCE beta 2?

Also, can I use the old plugins with the beta 2 version of XFCE? I mostly want the taskbar plugin.

If this has already been asked, sorry to ask again, but 18 pages is a lot!  

Thanks.
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
The panel plugins from 4.2 and before do not work the the newest (4.3 / 4.4beta) panel.

I installed the (as chero points out) "experimental" version this way:

download:
Terminal_0.2.5.r20943_armv5tel.ipk
libexo_0.3.1.6.beta1_armv5tel.ipk
popt_1.6.4_armv5tel.ipk
startxfce4
thunar_0.3.0.beta1_armv5tel.ipk
xinitrc.xfce
from [a href=\"http://users.telenet.be/zaurususer/ipkgs/experimental/]HERE[/url]
use:
Code: [Select]
# ipkg -force-depends -d root install download everything from HERE
install everything excluding the plugins you don't want.

I used a for loop to do the work:
Code: [Select]
# for i in `ls -1 *.ipk`; do ipkg -force-depends -d root install $i; doneCopy the xinitrc.xfce to your ~. Because I am running R121 (I think this is the reason) , I had to hack the xinit.xfce a little. Here is a section of mine:
Code: [Select]
MODEL=`cat /proc/deviceinfo/product`
MODEL=SL-3100
echo 'MODEL:'$MODEL
case "$MODEL" in
    SL-C860|SL-C760|SL-C750|SL-7500|SL-C700)
        test -f /etc/X11/kb/corgi.xmodmap && xmodmap /etc/X11/kb/corgi.xmodmap
       ;;
    SL-6000)
        test -f /etc/X11/kb/tosa.xmodmap && xmodmap /etc/X11/kb/tosa.xmodmap
       ;;
    SL-C1000|SL-C3000|SL-C3100)
        test -f /etc/X11/kb/Akita/xmodmap && xmodmap /etc/X11/kb/Akita/xmodmap
       ;;
    *)
        cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'Sharp-Collie' 2>/dev/null >/dev/null && test -f /etc/X11/kb/collie.xmodmap && xmodmap /etc/X11/kb/collie.xmodmap
       ;;
esac
notice the "MODEL=SL-3100" and related xmodmap lines

I think I even had to make a link from libxfce4util.so.4.0.0 to libxfce4util.so.2
Code: [Select]
# ln -s /usr/lib/libxfce4util.so.4.0.0 /usr/lib/libxfce4util.so.2 to get some of the plugins and xfce-related apps to work. You can tell if there are libxfce4util errors on the screen after you quit X

If I think of anything else, I'll edit this post.

Good luck,
--webslngr
c3100 running pdaXrom b3, ambicom wl1100, a 2nd 4 GB Hitachi microdrive (and various other tools and gadgets)

coklat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #262 on: October 06, 2006, 09:16:12 pm »
Quote
Quote
I installed XFCE 4.4 beta2. The toolbar/menu icons in applications are missing, replaced by the square with cross mark in it when I tried to change the user interface theme to xfce-dusk. Anyone know how to fix this? I'm sorry if this is a stupid question. I'm new to Linux and just flashed my C1000 with pdaXrom
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

You might want to make sure the hicolor ipk is installed. it can be found in  [a href=\"http://users.telenet.be/zaurususer/ipkgs/experimental/xfce4-4.4-beta2/hicolor_0.0.1_armv5tel.ipk]Chero's ipks[/url]

The xfce-dusk theme works on my 3100 running r121

One of the other fun things about xfce (and all related ipks) is that it REALLY likes living in / instead of another destination.
Code: [Select]
# ipkg -d root install
Hope that helps.

--webslngr
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=143347\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thanks for the reply, I tried it and it doesn't work. However, the XFCE works pretty well and I really like it. Losing one theme won't stop me from using it  So... we can actually use XFCE in r121... temptations...  Would you share your experience using XFCE in r121? If it is stable enough, then I really want to try it. I'm using beta3 at the moment.
SL-C1000 owner, jumping around between Cacko, OZ & pdaXrom...
Most usable: Cacko, most fun: pdaXrom
My ideal Zaurus: Powerful like a notebook and easy to use like Palm PDA
Just a user though ;)

scoutme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 579
    • View Profile
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #263 on: October 07, 2006, 10:08:56 am »
Hi Chero, starting xfce-session from inside X works properly, while startxfce4 script doesnt. Any idea?

Chero

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1140
    • View Profile
    • http://users.telenet.be/zaurususer/Chero
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #264 on: October 07, 2006, 02:19:59 pm »
Quote
Hi Chero, starting xfce-session from inside X works properly, while startxfce4 script doesnt. Any idea?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=143385\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I guess there is something wrong with the script  

Could you PM me you're startx script ?

Chero.
HP-95LX -> HP Jornada 680 -> SL-C860 -> SL-C3100 -> Fuji u810 -> SL-C1000 -> HTC uni -> SL-C860 -> SL-C760.
March 12 2009 : Back because the Zaurus is one of a kind.
SL-C760 : pdaXrom
Pandora pre-ordered -> received and tested : great device but not my cup of tea -> sold.

webslngr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #265 on: October 09, 2006, 01:41:53 pm »
Quote
Thanks for the reply, I tried it and it doesn't work. However, the XFCE works pretty well and I really like it. Losing one theme won't stop me from using it  So... we can actually use XFCE in r121... temptations...  Would you share your experience using XFCE in r121? If it is stable enough, then I really want to try it. I'm using beta3 at the moment.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=143370\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

So far it is fine. I haven't had any real problems with it. xfrun4 doesn't seem to be in the package; it throws a lot of errors on the console while running, but nothing serious.

I am in and out of it quite a bit, so I can't comment on the long term stability, but imagine it is fine. it goes in and out of suspends with out too much trouble as well.

--webslngr
c3100 running pdaXrom b3, ambicom wl1100, a 2nd 4 GB Hitachi microdrive (and various other tools and gadgets)

macwiz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
    • http://www.macwiz.co.uk
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #266 on: October 18, 2006, 05:48:16 pm »
Quote
Hi Chero, starting xfce-session from inside X works properly, while startxfce4 script doesnt. Any idea?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=143385\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I'm having the same problem with xfce4 on r121. I am using a c860.

Any help would be appreciated!
Macwiz
c860, never quite lived up to my expectations... my fault I guess
17in MacBook Pro lovely xxxx
iPhone 3G ummm
SE P990i with UIQ3. Never enough RAM.
Pocket Loox 720 used for designing ebooks. Just don't like it though!

macwiz: apple mac support in Oxfordshire
Twitter: @boffinboy

Chero

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1140
    • View Profile
    • http://users.telenet.be/zaurususer/Chero
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #267 on: October 19, 2006, 02:33:50 am »
Quote
Quote
Hi Chero, starting xfce-session from inside X works properly, while startxfce4 script doesnt. Any idea?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=143385\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I'm having the same problem with xfce4 on r121. I am using a c860.

Any help would be appreciated!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144311\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Could you PM me your startx script ?

Chero.
HP-95LX -> HP Jornada 680 -> SL-C860 -> SL-C3100 -> Fuji u810 -> SL-C1000 -> HTC uni -> SL-C860 -> SL-C760.
March 12 2009 : Back because the Zaurus is one of a kind.
SL-C760 : pdaXrom
Pandora pre-ordered -> received and tested : great device but not my cup of tea -> sold.

macwiz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
    • http://www.macwiz.co.uk
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #268 on: October 21, 2006, 08:32:49 am »
Sorry Chero but I have managed to drop back to beta 3 and haven't installed xfce4 there yet. If I have problems I'll shout. Thanks for your hard work making the Z more like the laptop it ought to be!

Best Wishes

John
Macwiz
c860, never quite lived up to my expectations... my fault I guess
17in MacBook Pro lovely xxxx
iPhone 3G ummm
SE P990i with UIQ3. Never enough RAM.
Pocket Loox 720 used for designing ebooks. Just don't like it though!

macwiz: apple mac support in Oxfordshire
Twitter: @boffinboy

coklat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xfce4 Finetuning
« Reply #269 on: October 27, 2006, 08:59:18 am »
Finally, I flashed my C1000 to r121 and installed xfce4. The main problem with xfce is when I quit the xfce, all of the stuff in the panel are gone (the error is: "unexpectedly removed") and I don't have the logout dialog as well. There were also some messages about segmentation fault in xfce-session. Does it mean that I have to compile xfce using pdaX r121 if I want it to work in r121?
SL-C1000 owner, jumping around between Cacko, OZ & pdaXrom...
Most usable: Cacko, most fun: pdaXrom
My ideal Zaurus: Powerful like a notebook and easy to use like Palm PDA
Just a user though ;)