Author Topic: Os Options?  (Read 2209 times)

selektor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Os Options?
« on: August 03, 2005, 02:13:11 pm »
I'm just wondering, are there other OS options besides Linux that will run on our hardware?

What prevents the Zaurus from booting something like MS Pocket PC (from a hardware perspective)?
SL-5500 :: Hentges 3.5.3 Opie ROM 64-0 :: OZ  kernel w/ suspend fix
Linksys WCF12 WiFi
1G Viking SD
128M CF
Sennheiser MX500 earbuds

microsoft/linux

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
    • View Profile
    • http://
Os Options?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2005, 02:39:51 pm »
Ummm.....Hopefully the preference of the owner:) Seriously though, While I don't know this for certain, there may be some drivers and so forth that would prevent that. And the fact that, Afaik you can't purchase a copy of MS Pocket PC.
C3200(exiguitas) Angstrom Beta(version not designated)/GPE
SL-5500(immotus) OpenZaurus 3.5.4/GPE, OpenZaurus 3.5.4/Opie(loopmount)
1GB SD Card
128MB CF Card/8MB CF Card
Gentoo/Windows XP Home SP2

Numbers rule the Universe.
        --The Pythagoreans

Microsoft/Linux

Tom61

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
    • View Profile
Os Options?
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2005, 05:29:20 pm »
I think someone was working on porting Windows CE.net to at least one model of Z. But licensing would make it hard to distribute.

MorphiusFaydal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • http://www.faydalsystem.com
Os Options?
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2005, 11:07:48 pm »
will CE even run on an ARM system?

besides.. wouldn't the OS overhead be aweful?

(This typed from a 5500/SharpROM v3.10)
SL-5500 with SharpROM v3.10
WCF12
Kingston 512MB SD Card and Crucial 128MB CF Card

FaydalSystem.com | My PC

Registered Linux User #309023

Gentoo Linux

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Os Options?
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2005, 02:17:35 am »
Uhh, what do you think is in all the iPaqs?
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

bam

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1213
    • View Profile
    • http://thegrinder.ws
Os Options?
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2005, 02:39:11 am »
and why would you want to violate a Zaurus for?
SL-C3100 current: Stock/Tetsu 18h
Socket BT CF Card
Linksys WCF-12 802.11b/Cheapie USB Ethernet

The Grinder

JohnX

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
    • http://
Os Options?
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2005, 02:53:23 am »
I heard someone had one of the BSDs running on a Zaurus.  I can't be troubled to look it up right now, but googling would surely bring it up quickly...
Zaurus SL-C1000 - Linux 2.6.22 - Angstrom/Debian dual boot - Ambicom 802.11b - 1GB Corsair SD
Nokia N800 - 2GB PQI SD card
Zaurus SL-5500 - OZ 3.5.3/Hentges T2/Opie - 64MB Lexar SD card

MorphiusFaydal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • http://www.faydalsystem.com
Os Options?
« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2005, 03:32:03 am »
Quote
Uhh, what do you think is in all the iPaqs?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=90692\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

X-Scale, which, iirc, isn't really an ARM chip, its something else, w/ and ARM compat layer.. so CE would be running on the native X-Scale stuff....

Quote
I heard someone had one of the BSDs running on a Zaurus. I can't be troubled to look it up right now, but googling would surely bring it up quickly...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=90697\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

prolly NetBSD.... i dont think there's anything it doesnt run on....
« Last Edit: August 04, 2005, 03:32:58 am by MorphiusFaydal »
SL-5500 with SharpROM v3.10
WCF12
Kingston 512MB SD Card and Crucial 128MB CF Card

FaydalSystem.com | My PC

Registered Linux User #309023

Gentoo Linux

danr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • http://
Os Options?
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2005, 03:45:55 am »
Quote
Quote
Uhh, what do you think is in all the iPaqs?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=90692\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

X-Scale, which, iirc, isn't really an ARM chip, its something else, w/ and ARM compat layer.. so CE would be running on the native X-Scale stuff....

Intel bought an architectural license from ARM, meaning they could develop a processor which executes ARM binary code.  It isn't a compat layer, as it can't execute non-ARM code.

I worked for ARM for seven years you know  

Dan
SL-C860 running Debian EABI on top of Angstrom 2.6 kernel

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Os Options?
« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2005, 11:08:25 am »
Not the current iPaqs, the 3000 series, and I believe the 4000 series.
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

MorphiusFaydal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • http://www.faydalsystem.com
Os Options?
« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2005, 12:10:01 pm »
Quote
Quote
Quote
Uhh, what do you think is in all the iPaqs?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=90692\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

X-Scale, which, iirc, isn't really an ARM chip, its something else, w/ and ARM compat layer.. so CE would be running on the native X-Scale stuff....

Intel bought an architectural license from ARM, meaning they could develop a processor which executes ARM binary code.  It isn't a compat layer, as it can't execute non-ARM code.

I worked for ARM for seven years you know  

Dan
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=90705\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

heh... did not know that.

Well then, if you really wanted to try, you could probably get CE running on 5500/5600.

Actually.... you'd probably have to have source code access to make some of the hardware work.......
SL-5500 with SharpROM v3.10
WCF12
Kingston 512MB SD Card and Crucial 128MB CF Card

FaydalSystem.com | My PC

Registered Linux User #309023

Gentoo Linux

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Os Options?
« Reply #11 on: August 04, 2005, 02:46:14 pm »
if you wants to run Windows
why not buy a Dell
it's cheaper
faster
and has everything you want it
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

Tom61

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
    • View Profile
Os Options?
« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2005, 05:49:56 pm »
Quote
heh... did not know that.

Well then, if you really wanted to try, you could probably get CE running on 5500/5600.

Actually.... you'd probably have to have source code access to make some of the hardware work.......
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=90755\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

The Platform Builder SDK has enough that you should be able to put Win CE on the Z, with some effort. You'd just never be able to legally distribute it, without paying M$ huge fees. There is a loop-hole(claiming everyone that downloads it is a developer), but you still have to buy the Platform Builder, which costs serveral hundred dollars.


Quote
if you wants to run Windows
why not buy a Dell
it's cheaper
faster
and has everything you want it

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=90773\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Including a slide-out reveal keyboard, or a clamshell design?  
« Last Edit: August 04, 2005, 05:51:00 pm by Tom61 »

eekee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Os Options?
« Reply #13 on: August 06, 2005, 02:05:23 pm »
Searched the forums (to scratch an "I know I read about it somewhere" itch) and found this: https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...151&#entry90151

Not much info there other than that it's OpenBSD not Net, but it shouldn't be too hard to find the project. I wouldn't use it myself, I use BSD in Darwin/Mac OS X form regularly on my iBook and by 'eck I prefer the GNU file- and textutils.
Hardware: 'well-used' SL-5500; 1GB SD-Card; 128MB CF card
ROM: OZ GPE (Wanted to use OPIE but it locks up on suspend, X seems to fix it somehow. Found GPE more powerful than it first looked, if a little flakey.)
Considering: Putting together a ROM oriented towards scripting. Will probably be OZ based with X11.

Snappy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 793
    • View Profile
    • http://
Os Options?
« Reply #14 on: August 07, 2005, 09:27:07 am »
Quote
will CE even run on an ARM system?

besides.. wouldn't the OS overhead be aweful?

(This typed from a 5500/SharpROM v3.10)
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=90681\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

wince ran on StrongArm devices back in 2000 or even earlier. The very first few series of iPaqs were running on SA1100 devices. HPCs like Jornada720 have ARM chips inside as well and run wince3.0 (HPC2000). Siemens SL4 (SA1100) runs HPC2000 (wince3.0) and WinCE.NET 4.0/4.1/4.2.

The wince builds for ARM are native code, no abstraction or compatibility layers. I think you may be confused with Palm's strategy. Palm PDAs ran on DragonBall processors for ages (too long). And when the switch to XScale cpus, they chose to include a layer which allows existing Palm prc apps to run as it were without recompilation for the new cpu. This compatibility layer *did* cause a performance lag, though most of these older apps were running plenty fast on the older 33Mhz dragon balls, so factoring in a performance hit, they still ran as fast if not faster on the newer PXA250 400Mhz XScale cpus.

Even the earlier 200Mhz or 300Mhz versions were more than sufficient to run them anywayz
Snappy!
------------------------
Akita (Daily use)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-C1000 with Cacko 1.23 full
Accessories: Wifi XI-825 CF  |  16GB (6) SDHC (Transcend) | 1GB 80x CF (RiDATA PRO-2) </span>

Collie (Sandbox)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-5500 with OZ/GPE 3.5.4.1 alpha3 build 2006-04-27
Accessories: 512MB A-Data SD | 64MB Toshiba SD</span>