Author Topic: Opera 7.55 On Hentges Oz3.5.3 64-0 Opie  (Read 10548 times)

Snappy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 793
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera 7.55 On Hentges Oz3.5.3 64-0 Opie
« on: August 09, 2005, 11:55:50 am »
Hi all,

I've searched and searched but cannot find a definitive guide to installing Opera 7.55 on Hentges rom OZ3.5.3 Opie 64-0 on SD.

After installation, there is no Opera icon and when I try running the binary directly from file manager, the taskbar just briefly shows the Opera icon and disappears.

Please help!  
« Last Edit: August 09, 2005, 11:59:01 am by Snappy »
Snappy!
------------------------
Akita (Daily use)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-C1000 with Cacko 1.23 full
Accessories: Wifi XI-825 CF  |  16GB (6) SDHC (Transcend) | 1GB 80x CF (RiDATA PRO-2) </span>

Collie (Sandbox)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-5500 with OZ/GPE 3.5.4.1 alpha3 build 2006-04-27
Accessories: 512MB A-Data SD | 64MB Toshiba SD</span>

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera 7.55 On Hentges Oz3.5.3 64-0 Opie
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2005, 01:42:39 pm »
Quote
I've searched and searched but cannot find a definitive guide to installing Opera 7.55 on Hentges rom OZ3.5.3 Opie 64-0 on SD.
Instructions for SD-card installation-
D/L the opera ipk from the second post of mine here:
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=10612&st=30

Copy it to your CF-card and open a terminal:
Code: [Select]
cd /media/cf
ipkg -d sd --force-depends install opera_7.55.6079_arm.ipk
cd
ipkg-link mount /media/card
exit
Go to the Settings tab, click "Reload Icons"
Go to the Settings tab, click on Libraries, List, Applications, Opera Browser and click okay.
Surf the web.

Please note that because of the 3.5.3sharp-compat-libs you may need to click on the opera icon twice to open or close the browser.

Greg

Snappy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 793
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera 7.55 On Hentges Oz3.5.3 64-0 Opie
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2005, 02:39:14 pm »
thanks for the fast reply!  ... trying now ...

EDIT: Somehow the installation goes through, but the icon is still not there. btw, my file is opera_arm.ipk, from data.tar.gz. Is that right?

I'll retry from the link you point me again ...  

EDIT: Woopie! It works! Thanks Greg!!

Sent from Opera 7.55.6079 on OZ 3.5.3 opie
« Last Edit: August 09, 2005, 03:20:16 pm by Snappy »
Snappy!
------------------------
Akita (Daily use)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-C1000 with Cacko 1.23 full
Accessories: Wifi XI-825 CF  |  16GB (6) SDHC (Transcend) | 1GB 80x CF (RiDATA PRO-2) </span>

Collie (Sandbox)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-5500 with OZ/GPE 3.5.4.1 alpha3 build 2006-04-27
Accessories: 512MB A-Data SD | 64MB Toshiba SD</span>

tombraider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 409
    • View Profile
    • http://atoah.com/zaurus/
Opera 7.55 On Hentges Oz3.5.3 64-0 Opie
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2005, 09:25:07 am »
Quote
Quote
I've searched and searched but cannot find a definitive guide to installing Opera 7.55 on Hentges rom OZ3.5.3 Opie 64-0 on SD.
Instructions for SD-card installation-
D/L the opera ipk from the second post of mine here:
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=10612&st=30

Copy it to your CF-card and open a terminal:
Code: [Select]
cd /media/cf
ipkg -d sd --force-depends install opera_7.55.6079_arm.ipk
cd
ipkg-link mount /media/card
exit
Go to the Settings tab, click "Reload Icons"
Go to the Settings tab, click on Libraries, List, Applications, Opera Browser and click okay.
Surf the web.

Please note that because of the 3.5.3sharp-compat-libs you may need to click on the opera icon twice to open or close the browser.

Greg
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=91259\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Greg,
Thanks,  that is the first time I have been able to install a semi-working Opera on OZ.

One problem,  with which maybe you can help,  the icon which switches from column to regular view doesn't really work,  but that doesn't bother me as much as the "expand" icon to the right of it not enlarging the font.  The icon appears to just "widen" the size of the screen view WITHOUT enlarging the font.

Now,  I figure this may be because the fonts for Opera which have a size range from very small to very large are not installed in Opie but ARE present in the Sharp ROM.  Would you have any insight into what those fonts or ipks might be and how I could install them onto my OZ Zaurus??

I need big print for my old eyes.      And that's one of the features I LOVED about the Sharp ROM Opera.
Learning Chinese?  Have a Mac?  Try Hanzi Master: Download for free

Tombraider's Zaurus C1000 Tips Web Site

SL-3200 from Conics.net: Sharp ROM| SL-C1000: Pdaxrom Beta 3

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera 7.55 On Hentges Oz3.5.3 64-0 Opie
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2005, 10:33:59 am »
Quote
Would you have any insight into what those fonts or ipks might be and how I could install them onto my OZ Zaurus??

I need big print for my old eyes.    
Your not that much older than me... I'm typing this now wearing my trifocals.  

By default the opera.ini uses helvetica fonts... just install the qte-font-helvetica-large ipk from the opie feed. This will give you a larger font all the time, if that's not large enough let me know and I will play with some fonts to see what I get.

Greg

Yasen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera 7.55 On Hentges Oz3.5.3 64-0 Opie
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2005, 09:38:22 am »
Has anybody tryed this on poodle?
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']SL-5600 PXA-250
noname 256 MB MMC fat,
SanDisk 1GB  CF vfat
[/span]

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera 7.55 On Hentges Oz3.5.3 64-0 Opie
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2005, 10:28:08 am »
Quote
Has anybody tryed this on poodle?
Yes it works on the poodle.

EdbO

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera 7.55 On Hentges Oz3.5.3 64-0 Opie
« Reply #7 on: November 01, 2005, 05:06:56 pm »
I installed Opera, but I got an error
Code: [Select]
opera: libvxm.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directoryI search the board and googled around but cannot find something about this. Which package am I missing?

I'm using Oz/Opie 3.5.4-RC1 on Collie
« Last Edit: November 01, 2005, 05:07:35 pm by EdbO »
/**********************************/
Slackware current with Dropline Gnome on the desktop
Zaurus SL-5500  {
   OZ/Opie
   1 GB  and 64MB SD-card
   16 MB and 256 MB CF-card
   Sitecom (Billionton) bluetoothcard
}

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera 7.55 On Hentges Oz3.5.3 64-0 Opie
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2005, 05:26:28 pm »
Quote
I installed Opera, but I got an error
Code: [Select]
opera: libvxm.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directoryI search the board and googled around but cannot find something about this. Which package am I missing?

I'm using Oz/Opie 3.5.4-RC1 on Collie
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=101748\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
That is part of the voice package included with the 'multimodal.ipk' and is not used with OZ... so you can disregard that error.

You will howerver have to install some fonts for opera to start properly with OZ3.5.4-rc.
I use qte-font-helvetica-large from the opie feed and have no problems... you may however use a smaller helvetica font if your eyes are better then mine.  

Please note that this (the one linked in this thread) opera ipk was built for OZ3.5.2 which used no packages directory. If you (or anyone) are still having problems because of this... just ask and I will build you a new ipk for 3.5.4.

Greg
« Last Edit: November 02, 2005, 05:30:51 pm by Greg2 »

EdbO

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera 7.55 On Hentges Oz3.5.3 64-0 Opie
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2005, 06:32:47 am »
Thanks for the repy, but I got this error and next opera gives me a segfault   I thought that this was related to the libvxm.so file.

If you have the time, please create an opera-package for Oz/Opie 3.5.4.
/**********************************/
Slackware current with Dropline Gnome on the desktop
Zaurus SL-5500  {
   OZ/Opie
   1 GB  and 64MB SD-card
   16 MB and 256 MB CF-card
   Sitecom (Billionton) bluetoothcard
}

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera 7.55 On Hentges Oz3.5.3 64-0 Opie
« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2005, 12:07:11 pm »
Quote
If you have the time, please create an opera-package for Oz/Opie 3.5.4.
Here it is... please follow the instructions:
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=15885&hl=

Greg