Author Topic: What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?  (Read 24418 times)

GadgetGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 321
    • View Profile
    • http://
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« on: October 03, 2005, 11:43:52 am »
I am trying to experiement with VOIP. To do that, I need a headphone with microphone, which has a 3.5mm plug.

Could anyone tell me where to get one? Or do I have to use a 3.5 mm to 2.5 mm adapter first, and then a headphone / microphone combo?

Thanks for your advice.

Miklos
Zaurus C-3100 from PriceJapan with OZ 3.5.4.1. Opie and GPE
Ambicom CF WL1100C Wifi Card and Symbol Wireless Networker CF Wifi Card
1 GB Sandisk Ultra II SD
PdAir leather case - Nintendo DS metal case
various smaller CF and SD cards
all kinds of USB cables and accessories
-------------------------------------------------------------
Previous computers: TI 99/4A, ZX81, C64, Amiga 500, Apple Powerbook 100
Previous PDA's: Palm 1000, Palm III, Palm V, Palm Vx, Audiovox Maestro Pocket PC, Psion 5mx
Current PDA: Palm Tungsten E2
Current favourite: Zaurus C3100 - my "micro laptop"

bolbit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
    • View Profile
    • http://
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2005, 12:38:06 am »
I will be very interested if it exist.
i saw that the Z1000 had a microphone "inside", but not figured out how to use it.
hope someone had tested this!
Zaurus C1000, Cacko 1.23, Symbol Wifi Card, BT USB dongle.
PdaXQtrom

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2005, 03:50:17 am »
Quote
I am trying to experiement with VOIP. To do that, I need a headphone with microphone, which has a 3.5mm plug.

Could anyone tell me where to get one? Or do I have to use a 3.5 mm to 2.5 mm adapter first, and then a headphone / microphone combo?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98011\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

What I did: I took cheap stereo earphones, cut off one of the earphones (IIRC it was the left one, but I could be wrong) and mounted the microphone of a cheap mobile phone headset to the line of the cut off earphone.

This works VERY nicely and involves very little soldering (only on the mic).
The thing now looks exactly like a standard headset.
And it costs only about 5 Euro if you buy the parts cheaply on ebay.

daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

bolbit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
    • View Profile
    • http://
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2005, 10:04:14 am »
So, one of the channel (let'say the left one) is for microphone, the orther one for the speaker mono. that'it?.

About VoIp, did you use Kphone?
Zaurus C1000, Cacko 1.23, Symbol Wifi Card, BT USB dongle.
PdaXQtrom

GadgetGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 321
    • View Profile
    • http://
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2005, 10:46:58 am »
Quote
About VoIp, did you use Kphone?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98113\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Yes, that is what I am planning to use - but I need a headphone / mic set first...

I will try to find a 3.5mm to 2.5mm adapter, so that I can try if my cell phone headset works...
Zaurus C-3100 from PriceJapan with OZ 3.5.4.1. Opie and GPE
Ambicom CF WL1100C Wifi Card and Symbol Wireless Networker CF Wifi Card
1 GB Sandisk Ultra II SD
PdAir leather case - Nintendo DS metal case
various smaller CF and SD cards
all kinds of USB cables and accessories
-------------------------------------------------------------
Previous computers: TI 99/4A, ZX81, C64, Amiga 500, Apple Powerbook 100
Previous PDA's: Palm 1000, Palm III, Palm V, Palm Vx, Audiovox Maestro Pocket PC, Psion 5mx
Current PDA: Palm Tungsten E2
Current favourite: Zaurus C3100 - my "micro laptop"

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2005, 12:28:15 pm »
Quote
Quote
About VoIp, did you use Kphone?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98113\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Yes, that is what I am planning to use - but I need a headphone / mic set first...

I will try to find a 3.5mm to 2.5mm adapter, so that I can try if my cell phone headset works...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98128\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I have used KPhone/PI a lot with the sipgate.de service and it works great with the above mentione self-made headset. As long as you don't touch the GUI while speaking, sound quality is excellent. As soon as you disturb the Zaurus by hitting keys or using the stylus, you will have interruptions.

Yes, such an adater with a standard headset may work as well. Just make sure the correct channel / mic connection.

daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

Da_Blitz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pocketnix.org
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2005, 12:23:13 am »
the connector on the zaurus has 4 rings, gnd,mic,left,right (btw the mic is also used for the remote control) cant remeber the order specifcally but i do have a picture of how to make the remote which gives a pinout

ethier way any stero headset for a mobile phone should work as long as it has 4 sections on the plug and is 3.5mm, if you use a 2.5 to 3.5 you run the risk of buying one that only supports stereo and dosent support the mic (3 ring not 4) will post the pic soon
Personal Blog
Code
Twitter

Gemini Order: #95 (roughly)
Current Device: Samsung Chromebook Gen 3
Current Arm Devices Count: ~30
Looking to acquire: Cavium Thunder X2 Hardware

griesie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2005, 03:35:58 am »
Quote
the connector on the zaurus has 4 rings, gnd,mic,left,right (btw the mic is also used for the remote control) cant remeber the order specifcally but i do have a picture of how to make the remote which gives a pinout

ethier way any stero headset for a mobile phone should work as long as it has 4 sections on the plug and is 3.5mm, if you use a 2.5 to 3.5 you run the risk of buying one that only supports stereo and dosent support the mic (3 ring not 4) will post the pic soon
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98340\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

That is as far as I know not completely true (but I might be wrong). Yes, it has 4 rings, but the 4th ring is used only for the remote control. I personally use just a nomal 2.5 mm handsfree with 3 rings and a 3.5 mm to 2.5 mm adapter and it works great with my C1000 and kphone.

For those who are wondering how the switch between audio input and output is done: It's done via the different impedances of headphones and microphones.

regards

griesie

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2005, 03:44:15 am »
Quote
For those who are wondering how the switch between audio input and output is done: It's done via the different impedances of headphones and microphones.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98355\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Sorry, but that cannot be exactly correct.
I think the switch is done in software (dependent on the kind of software it either uses the channel as input or as output).

Reason: I can also use normal stereo earphones for KPhone/PI and use one of the earphones for listening and speak into the other one. Works well, too, but not optimal. So the decision if a mic or headphone is connected cannot be done via impedance measurement.

daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

griesie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2005, 03:58:24 am »
Hi,

if really works with a stereo headphone, then you're absolutely right (I never checked that). Anyway, the important thing is, that handsfrees with 3 rings do work ;-)


griesie

Quote
Quote
For those who are wondering how the switch between audio input and output is done: It's done via the different impedances of headphones and microphones.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98355\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Sorry, but that cannot be exactly correct.
I think the switch is done in software (dependent on the kind of software it either uses the channel as input or as output).

Reason: I can also use normal stereo earphones for KPhone/PI and use one of the earphones for listening and speak into the other one. Works well, too, but not optimal. So the decision if a mic or headphone is connected cannot be done via impedance measurement.

daniel
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98356\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Da_Blitz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pocketnix.org
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2005, 07:50:34 am »
I cant remeber if this is the exact values for the resistors (the one for the previos models uses diffrent resistors) but i thought i would post this for anyone who was intrested, it also explains how the headphone jack is wired
Personal Blog
Code
Twitter

Gemini Order: #95 (roughly)
Current Device: Samsung Chromebook Gen 3
Current Arm Devices Count: ~30
Looking to acquire: Cavium Thunder X2 Hardware

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2005, 08:40:03 am »
Quote
I cant remeber if this is the exact values for the resistors (the one for the previos models uses diffrent resistors) but i thought i would post this for anyone who was intrested, it also explains how the headphone jack is wired
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98536\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thank you! So I may finally be able to build my own remote control.
Howeer, the picture is named ..RH1. IIRC threr is another remote control with the name RH2 for the SL-Cxx00 models. So is the schematic valid for the SL-C3000?

daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

bolbit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
    • View Profile
    • http://
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #12 on: October 08, 2005, 03:14:39 am »
hi all,
i have found a 2.5 to 3.5 adaptater. i can heard sound in my telephone head set now. i do not have software to try te microphone. I have tried kphone with no success, kphone keep asking for my password, for voipbuster and fwd. i have followed the instructions found on the site of these sip providers to set up kphone. it seems that it's not possible for it to be registred ?
if i tried to dial a fixed telephone number, most of the time it will ask to login and then stop dialing. but one or two times, the phone call was done (so the logging should worked), but after 1 s  the communication was established, kphone crashed.
i'm using a c1000, the sharp rom, and kphone v1.0.0.
did anybody succeed using kphone with a c1000?
« Last Edit: October 08, 2005, 06:37:23 pm by bolbit »
Zaurus C1000, Cacko 1.23, Symbol Wifi Card, BT USB dongle.
PdaXQtrom

Da_Blitz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pocketnix.org
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #13 on: October 08, 2005, 06:45:38 am »
i will see if i can dig one up for you, i remeber getting it off the same site that tells you how to upgrade the memorye on the c8xx zaurus's
Personal Blog
Code
Twitter

Gemini Order: #95 (roughly)
Current Device: Samsung Chromebook Gen 3
Current Arm Devices Count: ~30
Looking to acquire: Cavium Thunder X2 Hardware

kahm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 657
    • View Profile
What Headphone With Microphone For The Cxx00?
« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2005, 02:01:04 pm »
Quote
Quote
I cant remeber if this is the exact values for the resistors (the one for the previos models uses diffrent resistors) but i thought i would post this for anyone who was intrested, it also explains how the headphone jack is wired
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98536\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thank you! So I may finally be able to build my own remote control.
Howeer, the picture is named ..RH1. IIRC threr is another remote control with the name RH2 for the SL-Cxx00 models. So is the schematic valid for the SL-C3000?

daniel
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98543\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

No, it isn't. The RH2 has updated resistance values - the RH1 does not work on the 3xxx Zaurii.
Fujitsu U8240 "Stormtrooper" -  Zaurus Supplement
Libretto U100 | Sony Librie, Sony Reader
SL-C3100: Sharp 1.11JP (Kanji Dictionary/Translator) - LCD Top swap with C1000.
SL-C3000: pdaXii13 5.4.7, SL-C3000 5.4.9 - microdrive replaced with 8gb Sandisk
SL-C1000: PDAXRom Beta3 | SL-6000L: Sharp 1.12 | SL-5500: Cacko, 64-0 kernel | SL-5000D: OZ-Opie
Linksys WCF12; Sharp CE-AG06, CE-RH2, CE-170TS; iRiver USB OTG Host cable; Socket BT rev.E CF; Hitachi 6gb Microdrive