Author Topic: 128 Mb Flash Upgrade  (Read 43269 times)

jbbrs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
    • http://
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #45 on: December 28, 2005, 05:05:18 am »
I am interested, but I haven't been able to find a place where they would do the surface mount soldering work for me. I won't risk buying the chips and having them end up like a bluetooth module I bought for the simpad...

Maybe if we could set up a "upgrade facility" for our c1000s...

jblanchard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #46 on: April 24, 2006, 12:55:50 am »
Hi there,

Just wondering if this effort to find chips has died. If not, does anyone know if the flash chip will also work in the cxx0 line? I have a brick because of faulty NAND and have nothing to lose in trying to fix it!

guylhem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
    • View Profile
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #47 on: April 24, 2006, 09:17:49 am »
Hello

It should totally work with C7xxx and SL6000. In fact, I'll soon give that a try.

Meanwhile, the effort is stopped due to the lack if chips. If they could be found, I'm ready to try - especially since I'll soon get a BGA reworking station :-)

Guylhem

jblanchard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #48 on: April 24, 2006, 11:42:13 am »
I'm not totally up on chip part numbering, but there seem to be a number of things that come up from a googling of "k9k1g08uoa" but with suffixes (K9K1G08UOA-FIBO, K9K1G08UOA-VIB0T, etc.)

Are these all the same chip we're looking for?

guylhem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
    • View Profile
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #49 on: April 24, 2006, 12:25:00 pm »
It's been a while. I suggest you look at the reference files and compare them to the chip we know to work (hint - see dismantled zaurus pics).

My understanding is as long as the prefix is identical, it will work. I'm willing to commit a machine to the test. Now I need chips.

Guylhem

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3694
    • View Profile
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #50 on: May 02, 2006, 06:33:25 pm »
I have found a possible source of the flash memory chips!

I got hold of a 128MB Lexar Memory Stick (not duo or pro, just a regular one), it's in a transparent purple case so you can see the chip inside. It says

samsung 334
k9k1g08u0a
ycbo


there seems to be a supplier here (or so they claim): http://www.partminer.com/pagedetail/5353/18

I am willing to sacrifice this memory stick and extract the memory device...  and to try and solder it into my 6000. When this subject first got discussed and I got all excited, I found someone with surface mount tools, so maybe I can resurrect this plan!

would anyone find a photo useful?


--edit: oops, it was 334 and not 324 and also added supplier
« Last Edit: May 02, 2006, 06:34:51 pm by speculatrix »
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

guylhem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
    • View Profile
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #51 on: May 03, 2006, 08:17:23 am »
also found the exact samsung chips myself on a card 4 days ago.
We just need to test that now.

PS: when you will have soldered the chip, you will need a special nand .dbk to restore from the DM menu. Tell me

Guylhem

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3694
    • View Profile
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #52 on: May 03, 2006, 04:22:29 pm »
Quote
also found the exact samsung chips myself on a card 4 days ago.
We just need to test that now.

PS: when you will have soldered the chip, you will need a special nand .dbk to restore from the DM menu. Tell me

Guylhem
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=125557\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

it might be a dumb question but would I need to unsolder the existing chip from the Z, given that the 6000 has only 64MB of flash, and we're adding the wrong size (a 128MB device) i.e trying to get 192MB of flash?

should I erase the flash chip and program with something before removing it from the memory stick if it would help (even if it were just some specific pattern that I would recognise when firing up the modified Z and thus very my address and data lines are all correct)?
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3694
    • View Profile
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #53 on: May 08, 2006, 08:11:10 am »
I've now borrowed the surface-mount rework unit, so I hope to be tackling the project quite soon!
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

guylhem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
    • View Profile
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #54 on: May 09, 2006, 05:35:36 am »
don't do anything special to the chip. just unsolder the existing 64 M one, solder the new 128 M one, then go to the DM menu and no a nand erase.

Then email me - I'll send you a nand backup

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3694
    • View Profile
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #55 on: May 09, 2006, 07:00:51 pm »
First stage complete: I removed the Samsung flash chip from the memory stick. Naturally, I took photos. I am starting to write it up here:

http://www.zaurus.org.uk/6000-memory.html

(at last, some content!)
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

the_oak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
    • http://
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #56 on: May 10, 2006, 06:59:10 am »
« Last Edit: May 10, 2006, 07:01:22 am by the_oak »
SL-6000L running Sharp 1.12 rom, (SOLD)
Fujitsu U820 with Windows 7
White Intel MacBook

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3694
    • View Profile
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #57 on: May 11, 2006, 06:00:12 pm »
Quote
http://www.zaurus.org.uk/6000-memory.html

No pictures are showing up.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126396\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

yup, they're just placeholders for the moment.. sorry, I should have said.
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3694
    • View Profile
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #58 on: May 13, 2006, 06:21:23 pm »
just to followup, I now have worries over whether I should be fitting a K9K1 or a K9D1 chip... perhaps I should post my K9K1 chip to Guylhem who can break^Wupgrade his lovely 6000W and then if^Wwhen it works I will then upgrade mine.
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

guylhem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
    • View Profile
128 Mb Flash Upgrade
« Reply #59 on: May 15, 2006, 02:43:59 pm »
speculatrix, there should be no risk doing the  upgrade - if the flash chip doesn't work, simply remove it and put back the old one instead.

The only problem may be the bootloader I told you - if you have a serial cable to get any error message it hsould be fine

Guylhem