Author Topic: 1.0rc3 Released  (Read 100467 times)

rip

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #15 on: October 24, 2005, 08:17:04 am »
i suposed its in /etc/wlan/wlan.conf

but this file is empty, only the usual text... normal?
zaurus 6000L

orodriguez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #16 on: October 24, 2005, 08:32:18 am »
Regarding wifi.

To connect to a WEP enabled network I used this script:

Code: [Select]
ZAURUSIP=192.168.0.15
GATEIP=192.168.0.1
MYWLAN=NETESSID
WEPEY=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX

wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_ifstate ifstate=enable
wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_hostwep decrypt=true encrypt=true
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKeyID=1            
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11ExcludeUnencrypted=true      
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11PrivacyInvoked=true          
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey0=$WEPKEY
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey1=$WEPKEY
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey2=$WEPKEY
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey3=$WEPKEY
wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_autojoin ssid=$MYWLAN authtype=opensystem
ifconfig wlan0 $ZAURUSIP up
route add default gw $GATEIP


Regarding SD, just executing this, fixed my problems:

Code: [Select]
modprobe sharp_mmcsd_m
mount -o noatime /dev/mmcda1 /mnt/card/


BTW, mine is an MMC card so this may or may not work with SD.


Guylhem: Great work! Thank you very much!
« Last Edit: October 24, 2005, 08:37:18 am by orodriguez »

rip

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #17 on: October 24, 2005, 08:46:57 am »
quick feebback, your trick made my sd seen by 6k
great!
will it be persistent? or needed to be done again?

will try the wifi script later on.

thanks you  very much
zaurus 6000L

the_oak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #18 on: October 24, 2005, 08:56:21 am »
Quote
Regarding SD, just executing this, fixed my problems:

Code: [Select]
modprobe sharp_mmcsd_m
mount -o noatime /dev/mmcda1 /mnt/card/


BTW, mine is an MMC card so this may or may not work with SD.


Guylhem: Great work! Thank you very much!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100723\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


That also fixed my SD card formatted ext2 (I thought my SD card had been erased!) Now I can see all my files I had on that card!! Thanks!!!
SL-6000L running Sharp 1.12 rom, (SOLD)
Fujitsu U820 with Windows 7
White Intel MacBook

orodriguez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #19 on: October 24, 2005, 09:11:02 am »
Quote
quick feebback, your trick made my sd seen by 6k
great!
will it be persistent? or needed to be done again?

It seems that the problem has something to do with sharp kernel module, maybe just loading it on startup fixes the problem even between reboots, will try it later.

rip

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #20 on: October 24, 2005, 09:18:31 am »
mhhh sd card disapereared, reboot does not help, done your tip again but no joy, send me an error sg telling no such device
zaurus 6000L

the_oak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #21 on: October 24, 2005, 09:30:28 am »
I also got "no such device". Tried modprobing wlanctl-ng, wlan-ng, prism2, hostap, and everything else I can think of, but get "can't locate module whatever" response.
(Not really sure what I should be modprobing anyway, so these are just guesses.)
SL-6000L running Sharp 1.12 rom, (SOLD)
Fujitsu U820 with Windows 7
White Intel MacBook

orodriguez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #22 on: October 24, 2005, 09:35:56 am »
Quote
mhhh sd card disapereared, reboot does not help, done your tip again but no joy, send me an error sg telling no such device

Try to reboot without the SD card.

If the trick does not work at all, look at /dev/mmcda* to see what devices are available and use those dev instead.

If there is no one, maybe you could reload the kernel module and create device nodes with mknod:

Code: [Select]
mknod  -m 644 /dev/mmcda b 60 0
mknod  -m 644 /dev/mmcda1 b 60 1
mknod  -m 644 /dev/mmcda2 b 60 2

And try again. If the error persists, tell us exactly what the error message is.

Good luck!
« Last Edit: October 24, 2005, 09:37:14 am by orodriguez »

orodriguez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #23 on: October 24, 2005, 09:50:42 am »
Quote
I also got "no such device". Tried modprobing wlanctl-ng, wlan-ng, prism2, hostap, and everything else I can think of, but get "can't locate module whatever" response.
(Not really sure what I should be modprobing anyway, so these are just guesses.)
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100732\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

modprobe just loads kernel modules ("device drivers").

Those modules have nothing to do with SD card, they are wifi related.

To load wlan module you can issue a:
Code: [Select]
modprobe prism2_usb prism2_doreset=1
sharp_mmcsd_m is the sharp binary module for SD and MMC cards.

I am not able to reproduce your problem.

Maybe you can describe the steps performed before you got the error message and will try to reproduce it in my Z.

rip

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #24 on: October 24, 2005, 09:57:16 am »
/dev/mmcda    stdin
/dev/mmcda1  stdout
/dev/mmcda2  ts

reboot without sd doesnt help
mknod  -m 644 /dev/mmcda1 b 60 1 file exist

same msg on 2 others
reset without sd does not help...
zaurus 6000L

the_oak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #25 on: October 24, 2005, 10:08:23 am »
Quote
Regarding wifi.

To connect to a WEP enabled network I used this script:

Code: [Select]
ZAURUSIP=192.168.0.15
GATEIP=192.168.0.1
MYWLAN=NETESSID
WEPEY=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX

wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_ifstate ifstate=enable
wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_hostwep decrypt=true encrypt=true
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKeyID=1            
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11ExcludeUnencrypted=true      
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11PrivacyInvoked=true          
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey0=$WEPKEY
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey1=$WEPKEY
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey2=$WEPKEY
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey3=$WEPKEY
wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_autojoin ssid=$MYWLAN authtype=opensystem
ifconfig wlan0 $ZAURUSIP up
route add default gw $GATEIP

 It was regarding this wlan script that I got the error "no such device" The SD card fix worked fine for me. But the wlan script complains as follows:

Quote
# ./tmp_wlan_up
wlanctl-ng: No such device
wlanctl-ng: No such device
wlanctl-ng: No such device
wlanctl-ng: No such device
wlanctl-ng: No such device
mibattribute="data_string_too_short"
message=dot11req_mibset
  mibattribute=data_string_too_short
  resultcode=no_value
mibattribute="data_string_too_short"
message=dot11req_mibset
  mibattribute=data_string_too_short
  resultcode=no_value
mibattribute="data_string_too_short"
message=dot11req_mibset
  mibattribute=data_string_too_short
  resultcode=no_value
mibattribute="data_string_too_short"
message=dot11req_mibset
  mibattribute=data_string_too_short
  resultcode=no_value
wlanctl-ng: No such device
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
wlan0: unknown interface: No such devicewlan0: unknown interface: No such deviceSIOCADDRT: Network is unreachable 
SL-6000L running Sharp 1.12 rom, (SOLD)
Fujitsu U820 with Windows 7
White Intel MacBook

Gorth

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #26 on: October 24, 2005, 10:47:31 am »
look at /usr/local/bin/net.wifi scripts.  modprobe p80211, prism2_usb, then  usbctl on 1.  Now you will have device wlan0.

Gorth

the_oak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #27 on: October 24, 2005, 12:46:34 pm »
Quote
look at /usr/local/bin/net.wifi scripts.  modprobe p80211, prism2_usb, then  usbctl on 1.  Now you will have device wlan0.

Gorth
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100751\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

All that did for me was turn on the green light. I used the net.wifi.local script after putting my essid in the script.
SL-6000L running Sharp 1.12 rom, (SOLD)
Fujitsu U820 with Windows 7
White Intel MacBook

guylhem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
    • View Profile
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #28 on: October 24, 2005, 01:38:36 pm »
the file to edit in /opt/qtopia/etc is keycode.tbl

regarding the wifi issues you must change /etc/wlan/wlan.conf

Attached a minimal (if you must type it by hand) and a complete (if you can copy it) file to that message

orodriguez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
1.0rc3 Released
« Reply #29 on: October 24, 2005, 02:59:38 pm »
Quote
/dev/mmcda    stdin
/dev/mmcda1  stdout
/dev/mmcda2  ts

reboot without sd doesnt help
mknod  -m 644 /dev/mmcda1 b 60 1 file exist

same msg on 2 others
reset without sd does not help...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100740\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Just wondering, maybe there is something wrong with mounts. Is there any /mnt/card or /dev/mmcda1 in /proc/mounts? Trying to find out why you are having problems with SD I found /dec/mmcda1 mounted in /proc/mounts but not in /mnt/card so I tried (as root):

1) umount /mnt/card
2) rmmod sharp_mmcsd_m
3) modprobe sharp_mmcsd_m
4) mount /mnt/card

some commands displayed errors (none of them harmful) but cannot remember exactly which ones did work and which didn't.

This was a little bit wierd but haven't found why happened.