Author Topic: Idea To Replace 6000 Touchscreen  (Read 3417 times)

guylhem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
    • View Profile
Idea To Replace 6000 Touchscreen
« on: November 15, 2005, 03:34:46 pm »
Hello

IIRc someone here broke his touchscreen
Please read http://www.depega.net/Lab05_SL6000.htm

I don't have a e800 nearby to confirm, but it looks very close. You simply need a 4" touchscreen, and a e800 or a hp4700 one may work. Moreover, since these pocket- pcs are common, it should be cheaper.

I'd suggest a x50v even if it's only a 3.7" screen : http://www.gethightech.com/Merchant2/merch...tegory_Code=DIG

Ideally, you need a 4" touch panel alone, but I don't know which PDAs have one.

If you manage to get one, please tell me - I'd be happy to purchase a spare one.

Guylhem
« Last Edit: November 15, 2005, 04:22:48 pm by guylhem »

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3694
    • View Profile
Idea To Replace 6000 Touchscreen
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2005, 04:24:46 pm »
Quote
IIRc someone here broke his touchscreen
Please read http://www.depega.net/Lab05_SL6000.htm
I'd suggest a x50v even if it's only a 3.7" screen : http://www.gethightech.com/Merchant2/merch...tegory_Code=DIG

would this make a better donor for implanting a big screen into a 3100?
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

seed

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
    • http://
Idea To Replace 6000 Touchscreen
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2005, 01:25:51 am »
hummm i try the link but the page seem to be in japanese and my windows seem not to suppport it and most impotant i dont speak japanese
but i have some question
i have done sone research and as far as i know the touch is not seperable from the the screen i saw on some site that i have to change the all screen even if only the touch panel is broken
i know that some pda (sony clie...) have a screen where the part are separable ...
am i correct ? or is it possible to only change the touch screen... do sharp sell spare screen ?
thank
« Last Edit: December 07, 2005, 01:28:22 am by seed »
contact me at souldadguy2@hotmail.com

TRIsoft

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
    • View Profile
    • http://www.trisoft.de
Idea To Replace 6000 Touchscreen
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2005, 04:09:11 am »
Seed,
Quote
... or is it possible to only change the touch screen... do sharp sell spare screen ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106314\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
SHARP sells the complete "display unit". This is the combination of
backlight, LCD and touchpanel.
It is possible to get the SL-6000 display unit via the spare parts
service. The part # is : VVLS040V7DD01
The price is about 280,-- EUR + VAT.

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan

neuroshock

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
    • View Profile
    • http://
Idea To Replace 6000 Touchscreen
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2005, 07:39:32 am »
Quote
Seed,
Quote
... or is it possible to only change the touch screen... do sharp sell spare screen ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106314\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
SHARP sells the complete "display unit". This is the combination of
backlight, LCD and touchpanel.
It is possible to get the SL-6000 display unit via the spare parts
service. The part # is : VVLS040V7DD01
The price is about 280,-- EUR + VAT.

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106327\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


That roughly comes out to $327 usd just in case anyone was wondering.  Plus whatever amount the VAT adds up to.

-NeuroShock
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']SL-6000L & C3100.[/span]

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3694
    • View Profile
Idea To Replace 6000 Touchscreen
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2005, 08:22:45 am »
Quote
SHARP sells the complete "display unit". This is the combination of backlight, LCD and touchpanel. It is possible to get the SL-6000 display unit via the spare parts service. The part # is : VVLS040V7DD01
The price is about 280,-- EUR + VAT.
///TRIsoft - Marc

Whilst this might sound expensive, if you're implanting this into a c3000/3100/1000, then you'll end up with the original screen spare, which is definitely worth *something* as a spare.

Marc, how often do people need screen repairs on their Zauruses, and would you be willing to do a part-ex from a 3100 screen to a 6000 screen, assuming it was in perfect condition and fully working?

(that is to say, I am looking for find a way to make the 3100 upgrade cheaper).
« Last Edit: December 07, 2005, 08:23:28 am by speculatrix »
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

TRIsoft

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
    • View Profile
    • http://www.trisoft.de
Idea To Replace 6000 Touchscreen
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2005, 10:19:15 am »
Speculatrix,
Quote
Marc, how often do people need screen repairs on their Zauruses, and would you be willing to do a part-ex from a 3100 screen to a 6000 screen, assuming it was in perfect condition and fully working?
it's not easy to answer. It looks like last year there were 8-10 weeks
where people tried to sit on their Zauris or threw it out of windows etc.
So we had about a dozen display replacements in 2004.

This year we had one time an SL-6000 and one C-Series Zaurus with
cracked displays. It seems that putting them into cases really helps  

Also we can't mount a display unit from another model because we will
definitely run into EMV trouble here.

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Idea To Replace 6000 Touchscreen
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2005, 03:02:02 pm »
Quote
Quote
SHARP sells the complete "display unit". This is the combination of backlight, LCD and touchpanel. It is possible to get the SL-6000 display unit via the spare parts service. The part # is : VVLS040V7DD01
The price is about 280,-- EUR + VAT.
///TRIsoft - Marc

Whilst this might sound expensive, if you're implanting this into a c3000/3100/1000, then you'll end up with the original screen spare, which is definitely worth *something* as a spare.

Marc, how often do people need screen repairs on their Zauruses, and would you be willing to do a part-ex from a 3100 screen to a 6000 screen, assuming it was in perfect condition and fully working?

(that is to say, I am looking for find a way to make the 3100 upgrade cheaper).
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106360\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
more potential upgrades????  aieeeee....  I might endup with a $1000 zaurus.
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

guylhem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
    • View Profile
Idea To Replace 6000 Touchscreen
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2005, 04:52:31 am »
Regarding LCD/touchscreen being not separable - there's nothing a knife can't do :-)

I have a 6000 screen waiting to be transplanted into a clamshell (waiting for the clamshell part !)

Guylhem