Author Topic: Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series  (Read 16373 times)

TheGreenKnight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« on: November 24, 2005, 12:53:31 pm »
Hi

I have played GNU Robbo on my Mandrake box for years and so I thought it was about time it got ported to my Zaurus SL5500

It is very stable and is configurable as far as the keys go; uses SDL.

I am in the process of reintroducing the intro screen as I ripped out all the SDL-ttf stuff.

I have added it to ZSI and ELSIX but they haven't updated their websites and so it just sits on my site with nobody knowing about it

Anyway, if you're interested go here:- http://members.fortunecity.co.uk/thegreenknight/

Cheers
TheGreenKnight
« Last Edit: December 05, 2005, 06:05:00 am by TheGreenKnight »

TheGreenKnight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2005, 01:26:57 pm »
Actually maybe the 'General Support and Discussion > Software' forum was a better place to post this. Perhaps a mod could move it.

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2005, 07:19:12 pm »
Nice little game... I like it!

If you fix your link to the zaurus_source.tar.gz I will try to make an ipk?

Thanks

Greg

TheGreenKnight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2005, 11:11:35 am »
Quote
Nice little game... I like it!

If you fix your link to the zaurus_source.tar.gz I will try to make an ipk?

Thanks

Greg
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=104876\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thanks Greg

I've fixed the link.

Fortunecity (the host of my free web space) is doing wierd things: their ftp wouldn't allow me to upload an ipk (file type not allowed) and when (using Windows) I attempt to download one of the tar.gz files it renames them .tar.tar, or maybe that's Windows!

I think the next step is to get fixed up with a sourceforge account.

Do you use ipkg-build to create ipks? Is there any other way to create them? Maybe somebody has a very simple script.

Cheers and thanks for trying it as yours is my first feedback. Nice to know it actually works on somebody elses Zaurus

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2005, 07:04:57 pm »
Quote
I've fixed the link.
I'm still getting 404 File Not Found

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3703
    • View Profile
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2005, 01:45:16 pm »
from the screen shots it looks a bit like the Sokoban game:
http://www.linux-solutions.at/projects/zau...es-Sokoban.html
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

Hrw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1366
    • View Profile
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2005, 01:55:13 pm »
Robbo is more then Sokoban. You have to collect parts, kill/avoid enemies etc.. It was one of best 8bit Atari games in 90's in Poland.
OpenZaurus 3.5.4x Release Manager
OpenEmbedded, Ångström, Poky developer
My website

Misc embedded hardware.

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2005, 10:33:41 pm »
I've built an ipk for the sharp roms on the 5xxx models (and it should 'but not tested' work on the Cxxx models also) if anyone would like to play this game on their Z. It's a quick little hacked up ipk because the link to the zaurus_source.tar.gz still doesn't work... but the ipk does. The package manager doesn't see it (not sure why and don't really care) but it installs from the terminal without any problems.

As root do:
ipkg install gnurobbo_0.57.01_arm.ipk
or use the -d switch to set destination

Edit: I almost forgot... you do have to restart qtopia to see the icon.

Please note it does require libSDL. For more info please see:
http://members.fortunecity.co.uk/thegreenknight/

Thanks and credit go to TheGreenkKnight

Maybe Hrw can add this to OE?  

Greg

Here it is: 'Removed ipk'

Please use the new ipk attached in post below.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 03:58:17 pm by Greg2 »

TheGreenKnight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2005, 10:39:10 am »
Quote
Quote
I've fixed the link.
I'm still getting 404 File Not Found
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Fortunecity is crap that's why. Got a sourceforge account now and am about to setup the project.

Ok so I've attached the source and the binary tarball for the complete game 0.57.02 (see attachments).

[a href=\"http://members.fortunecity.co.uk/thegreenknight/]http://members.fortunecity.co.uk/thegreenknight/[/url] has new screenshots and instructions. I've tested the links and they (currently) work.

Thanks for creating the ipk Greg. Post up how you hacked it together as I'd be interested. Would be nice if you could make a new one for 0.57.02 as this is basically the final complete version.

I wanted to ask what actually happens when you try to run this game on a VGA Zaurus? The screen resolution I request from SDL is 240x320, so do you get a tiny screen with big black borders or does it scale up? Also what about the keys? I want to now focus on getting it working across different Zaurii.

Regards.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2005, 04:23:59 am by TheGreenKnight »

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2005, 02:50:40 pm »
Quote
Thanks for creating the ipk Greg. Post up how you hacked it together as I'd be interested. Would be nice if you could make a new one for 0.57.02 as this is basically the final complete version.

I wanted to ask what actually happens when you try to run this game on a VGA Zaurus? The screen resolution I request from SDL is 240x320, so do you get a tiny screen with big black borders or does it scale up? Also what about the keys? I want to now focus on getting it working across different Zaurii.
Unfortunately I can't find a working ipkg-build.sh for the sharp roms. The only ones I have are for OZ and they won't work with the ipkg used by sharp.

Maybe someone will post a 'working' link to one, or attach one here?

Quick dirty ipk hack:
Extract your gnurobbo_xxx_zaurus_source.tar.gz to your home directory.
Cd to gnurobbo-0.57.02-zaurus/ipk
Move the 'control' file from the CONTROL directory to the ipk directory and delete the CONTROL directory.
Make or copy a debian-binary from another ipk and place in ipk directory.
Open a terminal and:
Code: [Select]
[greg@nfis greg]$ cd gnurobbo-0.57.02-zaurus/ipk
[greg@nfis ipk]$ ls
control  debian-binary  opt/
[greg@nfis ipk]$ tar czvf data.tar.gz ./opt
./opt/
./opt/QtPalmtop/
./opt/QtPalmtop/bin/
./opt/QtPalmtop/bin/gnurobbo
./opt/QtPalmtop/bin/rungnurobbo
./opt/QtPalmtop/share/
./opt/QtPalmtop/share/gnurobbo/
./opt/QtPalmtop/share/gnurobbo/ciphers-sl5x00.bmp
./opt/QtPalmtop/share/gnurobbo/icons.bmp
./opt/QtPalmtop/share/gnurobbo/levels.dat
./opt/QtPalmtop/share/gnurobbo/textsmall.bmp
./opt/QtPalmtop/apps/
./opt/QtPalmtop/apps/Games/
./opt/QtPalmtop/apps/Games/gnurobbo.desktop
./opt/QtPalmtop/pics/
./opt/QtPalmtop/pics/gnurobbo.png
[greg@nfis ipk]$ tar czvf control.tar.gz ./control
./control
[greg@nfis ipk]$ tar czvf gnurobbo_0.57.02-zaurus_arm.ipk ./data.tar.gz ./control.tar.gz ./debian-binary
./data.tar.gz
./control.tar.gz
./debian-binary
[greg@nfis ipk]$
Remove the ipk from the ipk directory and install on your Z 'with' the package manager. Yes, this one works... It installs and uninstalls cleanly with the package manager.

Would someone with a C-series please test and post what it looks like on your larger screen?

Thanks

Greg

Here it is:
Edit: Removed ipk. Please use the latest version in this thread or on TheGreenKnight's website.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2005, 09:38:40 am by Greg2 »

TheGreenKnight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2005, 05:31:50 pm »
Many many thanks Greg.

I've added your ipks to my website and credited you - http://members.fortunecity.co.uk/thegreenknight/#s5

Now I'm going to try and create an ipk from your post

I searched for the original author of the Linux port via Google as his email address was dead (2002). He's going to instate me as admin on the gnurobbo.sourceforge.net project.

Thanks

TheGreenKnight
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 05:36:54 pm by TheGreenKnight »

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2005, 06:23:49 pm »
Quote
Many many thanks Greg.
You're welcome, at least it's something I can do for your new project.
Quote
I searched for the original author of the Linux port via Google as his email address was dead (2002). He's going to instate me as admin on the gnurobbo.sourceforge.net project.
That's good to hear!

It's a nice project and I just read your todo-zaurus list... stylus support, additional levels and graphic sets sounds good.

Thanks

Greg

cybersphinx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #12 on: November 28, 2005, 08:06:01 pm »
Quote
I wanted to ask what actually happens when you try to run this game on a VGA Zaurus? The screen resolution I request from SDL is 240x320, so do you get a tiny screen with big black borders or does it scale up? Also what about the keys? I want to now focus on getting it working across different Zaurii.[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=105239\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
All I get on my C760 with Cacko ROM and the 0.57.02 ipkg is:
"QPaintDevice: Must construct a QApplication before a QPaintDevice
Aborted"
Unfortunately, I have no idea why this would happen here while it works for you.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 08:06:19 pm by cybersphinx »

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #13 on: November 28, 2005, 09:08:13 pm »
Quote
All I get on my C760 with Cacko ROM and the 0.57.02 ipkg is:
"QPaintDevice: Must construct a QApplication before a QPaintDevice
Aborted"
That's sounds like a libSDL problem... either the wrong version of libSDL for the game, or the wrong rotation?

What version of libSDL do you have?

It sounds like one version of this game will not work on both resolutions?

Greg

cybersphinx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gnu Robbo For Slxx00 And C Series
« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2005, 05:29:07 am »
Quote
That's sounds like a libSDL problem... either the wrong version of libSDL for the game, or the wrong rotation?

What version of libSDL do you have?

It sounds like one version of this game will not work on both resolutions?[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=105315\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
It's the version in the Cacko feed, 1.2.5-slzaurus20041025-j. When I start it from the console, it doesn't matter if it's portrait or landscape, and from the launcher, it switches to 240x320 (as every app does when not told to do otherwise), but nothing happens, I guess it's the same error.

I think the resolution shouldn't matter, at least if it's run from the launcher and thus starts in 240x320, this sounds more like it's missing some initialisation.