Author Topic: theKompany.rom versions ?  (Read 4338 times)

Murga

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
theKompany.rom versions ?
« on: February 19, 2004, 01:26:03 am »
Hey

Can someone tell me what major differences between \"tkrom2.0alpha3\" and \"tkrom1.RC1\" ?

I have installed tkrom2.0alpha3 and I am pretty happy with it, but I was wondering what was the difference (as most people seem to be running tkc 1).

Cheers
JohnM

revdjenk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2004, 09:12:57 pm »
I find 2.0 faster.

To anyone.
I think I remember somewhere in devnet the process of putting the tkcrom on sd as home.  Can anyone point me to that thread, please?
God Bless
Doug

These are the words of him who has the Sharp...
Revelation 2:12

Anonymous

  • Guest
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2004, 12:14:41 am »
Hey

Yea, I\'d really like that thread too :-)

Cheers
JohnM

Anonymous

  • Guest
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2004, 03:33:32 pm »
Any word on a 2.0 final yet?

Anonymous

  • Guest
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2004, 03:55:20 pm »
tkrom2.0alpha3 on SL5500 cannot backup.

n8a

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
    • http://
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2004, 04:07:43 pm »
Quote
tkrom2.0alpha3 on SL5500 cannot backup.

That\'s why I\'m having those problems!!!  Seriously, I just thought I was going crazy... what\'s the best (ie latest) version of the tkcROM in which backups work?

Also, when you say that backups don\'t work, do you mean that backups via the zaurus sync software don\'t work, backups to CF or SD on the Zaurus itself, or both?  

Thanks
N8

Violator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • http://
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2004, 06:33:09 pm »
I found on tkrom2.0 alpha3 on 5500 that you can backup to PC with Sharp backup software but not to CF or SD. I found I had problems when restoring though as I could not reboot after doing a restore which led to a constant message looping on bootup. I have since given up on backup and rely on synchronisation only to safeguard my data.

Another problem I have with tkrom is the wifi status does not show signal strength as the wifi icons are all the same. Can anyone running SharpRom 3.10 or 3.13 make a copy of the wifi icons from home/qtpalmtop/pics/netmon for me. I\'m not sure whether both sets eg WIFI0.png-WIFI3.png and WIFIa0.png-WIFIa3.png are needed. This would save me reloading SharpRom purely for a few icons.

If anyone can email those icons to me I would greatly appreciate it. Email address is c.whittaker@freeuk.com  

Thanks in advance

n8a

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
    • http://
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2004, 06:41:51 pm »
Quote
I found on tkrom2.0 alpha3 on 5500 that you can backup to PC with Sharp backup software but not to CF or SD. I found I had problems when restoring though as I could not reboot after doing a restore which led to a constant message looping on bootup. I have since given up on backup and rely on synchronisation only to safeguard my data.  

With the tkcrom2.0 alpha3, I have found that I can backup and successfully restore from the synchronization software, but then my zaurus will not be able to suspend correctly.  However, it certainly was able to backup - I just can\'t use the zaurus w/o suspend!  

The restore process has inexplicably failed on me here and there, but I just flashed and did a restore again and it worked.

Anonymous

  • Guest
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2004, 11:50:37 am »
Same problem here with the tkcrom2.0 alpha3, I cant backup to my CF card, and I have another problem: When I disconect my wifi card (WCF12) it hangs, the link light on my card blinks for about 20 seconds and then it finally disconnects from the wifi connection.
I had tkcrom and never had any of those problems! What is the advantage of the tkcrom2.0 alpha3?

Thanks

SL-5500 tkcrom2.0 alpha3
Linksys WFC12

SFGREG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #9 on: February 29, 2004, 05:46:30 pm »
does tkcrom work on sl-5600? it mentioned only sl5500

mpak

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
    • http://www.travelforum.gr
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #10 on: February 29, 2004, 06:04:50 pm »
yes it does..

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #11 on: February 29, 2004, 06:45:27 pm »
Quote
does tkcrom work on sl-5600? it mentioned only sl5500

Make sure you use the correct files- here:
https://www.oesf.org/commu...tml?group_id=47

Greg

n8a

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
    • http://
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #12 on: February 29, 2004, 08:22:52 pm »
What happened to the Home on SD for the tkcROM for the 5500 and 5600?  I was surprised to not see it on the ZUG download page...

rlackey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • http://www.psd-ltd.com
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #13 on: March 01, 2004, 10:46:29 am »
Does tkcROM work with the C700, if so, which updater.sh file should be used?

Thanks
C700 - Cacko ROM 1.21a - Viking 256 SD - AmbiCom CF WiFi - Kingston 512MB CF

derekp

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
theKompany.rom versions ?
« Reply #14 on: March 01, 2004, 12:30:22 pm »
I\'ve just uploaded a new version of the prep-home-sd.sh script.  This one should fix some of the lockup issues that people have been having with certain brands of SD cards, but there are some SD\'s that can\'t be used as a permanent mount point & survive suspends.

I will also be putting together a package that will automatically re-create a modified  initrd image from either the stock Sharp image, or tkc v1 rom image, to support both this home-on-sd dual-boot method, and also allow you to boot an entirely different rom (such as OpenZaurus) from the SD card.   I should have the package finished up and tested in the next few days.