Author Topic: New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita  (Read 85263 times)

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« on: March 27, 2006, 04:22:15 am »
Hi all  

I've finished GPE for Akita yesterday so I thought I'd upload it to get some feedback.
Opie & E17 images will be uploaded when they are ready (maybe next week).

Download the tarball:
EDIT:The new URL is http://hentges.net/tmp/do_not_use/

Content:
Kernel - The current 3.5.4.1 kernel (2.6.15)
    tarballs - tar.gz rootfs to be used with altboots tar.gz installer to create a bootable SD / CF card
    loop-images - ext2 loop-images. These can be booted directly off SD / CF using       altboot. Requires kernel 2.6.15 to work
    hentges-*-akita*.tar.gz - Flashable initrd for this release

The tarball includes two different images: GPE and bootstrap. The bootstrap image doesn't have a GUI installed, just the commandline. The GPE image is probably the one your are after  

For a normal installation (into the flash) all you need is
 - The kernel
 - hentges-gpe-akita*.tar.gz or hentges-bootstrap-akita*.tar.gz
 - updater.sh from OZ3.5.4*

To use the .ext2 loop-image all you need is
 - An already installed 2.6.15 kernel (the one from 3.5.4.1-apha* should work just fine)
- An already installed altboot bootmanager (again, the one from 3.5.4.1-alpha works just fine)
- One or more ext2 loop-images from the "loop-images" folder
- Rename the .ext2 file so that it ends in "-rootfs.bin" (example: hentges-gpe-image-rootfs.bin and / or hentges-boostrap-image-rootfs.bin)
- Create a folder called "boot-images" on your SD or CF card
- Copy *rootfs.bin into the folder "boot-images"
- Reboot the Z, launch the altboot menu and select "Boot from [SD | CF]

To create your own loop-image or to install this release directly onto a SD or CF card
you'll need to:
 - Copy one of the files from tarballs/*.rootfs.tar.gz onto SD, CF or into /home
 - Reboot your Z
 - Launch altboot and select "Advanced/Install tar.gz" (or whatever that was called  )
 - Follow the instructions (loop-file installs into a loop-image with user-defined size / name, "direct install" installs the FS directly onto the card which *must* be ext2-formatted in this case!
- Select "Boot from [CF | SD] when the altboot menu shows up

Please note(1): If your SD / CF card is large enough you can install multiple loop-images and a direct install onto it

Please note(2): When booting from SD / CF you'll see the message "* * *Booting external rootfs * * *" (or something to that effect). Each and every message after this is coming from the new rootfs!
Since altboot is installed into the new rootfs you'll get a second altboot menu right after this above message is printed. Do not touch it if you do not know what you are doing.

Please note(3): When booting from something else but flash you'll see some errors about not beeing able to mount /sys and /proc. You can safefly ignore them.

General Notes about the GPE Image
- The image is based on the OZ 3.5.4.1 sources from yesterday
- Yes, it runs the new and shiny 2.6.15 kernel
- Sound works out of the box
- All hotkeys (except the ones printed on the LCD) work (thanks florian!):
-- The Calendar, Adresses, E-Mail and Menu buttons work as expected
-- Pressing Home switches through all open windows
-- Fn+Home minimizes all windows and shows the desktop
- The installed apps include (beside others):
-- Abiword
-- Gnumeric
-- Gaim
-- Gftp
-- A working and pre-configured (!) mplayer (read /usr/etc/mplayer/mplayer.conf to enable correct playback in the VT)
-- Gxine (untested!)
- The 2.6.15 kernel is compiled in "quiet" mode. There will be no message what-so-ever until after the kernel is booted. This is completly normal
- During boot a Splashscreen with the GPE logo will show up and hide all boot-messages. Use Fn+Left-Arrow to show the messages.
- The first boot can take a few minutes due to run-time configuration. This is completely normal.

Have fun  
« Last Edit: May 26, 2006, 06:34:06 am by CoreDump »
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2006, 05:07:19 am »
Quote
- Yes, it runs the new and shiny 2.6.15 kernel
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120416\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

2.6.16 is even newer and shinier
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2006, 05:17:07 am »
Quote
Quote
- Yes, it runs the new and shiny 2.6.15 kernel
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120416\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

2.6.16 is even newer and shinier
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120424\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Doh, releasing a new kernel while I'm stuck at work is cheating  
BTW: I like your sig    
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.

cal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2006, 12:55:18 pm »
Is it bad to change your rom every other day?  I'm really excited about all your ROMs.  I'm going to have to look into altboot.  Can you mix kernels with altboot, or do all roms need to use the same one?

cal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2006, 12:59:35 pm »
BTW, it took me a few minutes to figure out that I needed to hit "fn left" to see the boot screen and answer some questions.  The instructions kind of implied that you could, but you don't have too.

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2006, 12:59:47 pm »
Quote
Is it bad to change your rom every other day? 

Not really

Quote
I'm really excited about all your ROMs.  I'm going to have to look into altboot.  Can you mix kernels with altboot, or do all roms need to use the same one?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120719\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

All ROMs use the same kernel.
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.

cal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2006, 01:14:14 pm »
I just installed the ROM, I get to the GPE splash screen, and do the FN Left to answer the install questions.  Now I'm at the blank screen with the "X" cursor.  The screen flashes a little every few minutes, and otherwise I get nothing.   Its been about 7 or 8 minutes.
  Any ideas?

[problem solved]
I erased the user partition of memory with the pdaxrom installler.  Then everything worked.  I must have had something leftover from my attempt at OZ GPE that was messing things up.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2006, 02:03:30 pm by cal »

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2006, 01:52:35 pm »
Quote
I just installed the ROM, I get to the GPE splash screen, and do the FN Left to answer the install questions.  Now I'm at the blank screen with the "X" cursor.  The screen flashes a little every few minutes, and otherwise I get nothing.   Its been about 7 or 8 minutes.
  Any ideas?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120725\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

How did you install the image? Did you flash it?
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2006, 02:00:45 pm »
Quote
BTW, it took me a few minutes to figure out that I needed to hit "fn left" to see the boot screen and answer some questions.  The instructions kind of implied that you could, but you don't have too.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120722\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

That actually is a bug   (fixed)
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.

cal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2006, 02:13:11 pm »
CoreDump.  You are the man!  GPE Works and it is beautiful.  Xine works well.  Excuse me, while I go sing the praises of CoreDump
« Last Edit: March 28, 2006, 02:32:46 pm by cal »

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2006, 03:01:33 pm »
Quote
CoreDump.  You are the man!  GPE Works and it is beautiful.  Xine works well.  Excuse me, while I go sing the praises of CoreDump
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120737\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Glad you like it  
« Last Edit: March 28, 2006, 03:10:29 pm by CoreDump »
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2006, 05:14:30 pm »
quetions:

Do usb,cf, and sd  all work as expected?
does sd support cards larger than 1 gig?
will it work (with special emphasis on will it work with altboot) on a 3100?
I am hoping to try different guis/setups/optimizations for different situations on different sd cards.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2006, 05:15:19 pm by adf »
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2006, 01:04:43 am »
Quote
quetions:

Do usb,cf, and sd  all work as expected?

Dunno for USB (didn't try it with kernel 2.6) but SD and CF work fine.

Quote
does sd support cards larger than 1 gig?

Can't say as I do not own a card >= 1>G but I didn't hear of any problems in this direction

Quote
will it work (with special emphasis on will it work with altboot) on a 3100?

Quite possible, yeah. As long as you use the propper Kernel for a 3100.
However, /etc/fstab and friends are going to be setup totally wrong but that can be fixed manually.

Note: The loop-file comes with its own altboot installed. You should be able to boot into init=/bin/sh at the _second_ altboot prompt in case you encounter serious problems.

Quote
I am hoping to try different guis/setups/optimizations for different situations on different sd cards.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120763\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

And that's exactly where altboot (and 3.5.4) shines  
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.

Mahoro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #13 on: May 26, 2006, 04:07:23 am »
I couldn't download, is there any hentges rom ?
I don't want to install apps one by one
Zaurus 5500- 3.5.2 64mb memory
XP- Qtopia 1.7

Kingston CF 512 RAM on FAT
DigitFilm SD 256 RAM on ext2
Panasonic SD 256 RAM <- can't manage to put ext2 in it :(

Targus universal keyboard <- Not working in 3.5.2
Symbol CF wifi <- worked, but have a bump on the back of the card :(
Intel CF wifi <- not working well :(

2 broken stylus...(bought another one in Japan but I broke that within 2 week after. = o o = )
(managed to glue it w/ krazy glue :)

Battery box <-DIY (Stuffs were bought in RadioShack)

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
New: Hentges Rom Rc For Akita
« Reply #14 on: May 26, 2006, 06:34:50 am »
Quote
I couldn't download, is there any hentges rom ?
I don't want to install apps one by one
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=128460\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I've updated the URL  
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.