Author Topic: Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii  (Read 25901 times)

chiark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
    • http://www.chiark.com
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2006, 04:10:43 am »

Xromer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2006, 08:21:53 am »
Quote
http://www.hpcfactor.com/support/cesd/s/0109.asp 
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126368\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Many thx, chiark, this evening i will update my sigmarion and will try again Linexec and HaRET and see what' s going on Loading the Zauri kernel on the SIG.
I' ll let you know.
BYEZ!
[span style=\'font-size:10pt;line-height:100%\']I don't know how, but i' ll do!!!
This is how i like to live! :)[/span]

Ipaq hx4700

chiark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
    • http://www.chiark.com
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2006, 08:27:31 am »
no worries

The absolute best way of doing this would be to reflash the ROM to get rid of CE totally, but I guess that's the second step after getting the drivers etc working.

Best of luck.  It'd be great to have the Sig3 running Linux.

Xromer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2006, 07:57:54 am »
Quote
no worries

The absolute best way of doing this would be to reflash the ROM to get rid of CE totally, but I guess that's the second step after getting the drivers etc working.

Best of luck.  It'd be great to have the Sig3 running Linux.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126401\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Right Chiark i' m near, i fixed all the DLL problems, finding a program called executable_check, that tells me what the error comes out when utilities run.
With this i made HaRET finally run!!! I' m checking all the GPIO and other SIG III settings.
Yesterday i spoke with Sashz and realized that could do a try to start the Zauri Kernel and PdaXrom tree on the SIG.
This evening i'll try and let you know!
I' m looking forward to try!!!  
If it works i'll let you know all the steps i made.
Now the question is "Where can i find detailed Zauri internals?" to compare them with the SIG.
BYEZ!!!
« Last Edit: May 12, 2006, 08:05:30 am by Xromer »
[span style=\'font-size:10pt;line-height:100%\']I don't know how, but i' ll do!!!
This is how i like to live! :)[/span]

Ipaq hx4700

chiark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
    • http://www.chiark.com
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #19 on: May 12, 2006, 09:10:57 am »
Great stuff, well done
I've just read the documentation for HaRET, and for the good that it did me it might as well have been written in martian
Zaurus internals are fairly well known: something like the 860 might be a good bet as that uses an ATI graphics chip rather than the on-chip solution found in the SL-Cxx00 range.

Xromer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #20 on: May 12, 2006, 11:25:03 am »
Quote
Great stuff, well done
I've just read the documentation for HaRET, and for the good that it did me it might as well have been written in martian
Zaurus internals are fairly well known: something like the 860 might be a good bet as that uses an ATI graphics chip rather than the on-chip solution found in the SL-Cxx00 range.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126727\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Right, that was the thing i would like to know.
I remember that one of the Zauri used the Imageon chip but i didn' t remeber which.
Now the only issues could be the Asic.
Between 1 hour i' ll be home and try.
I' ll let you know.
BYEZ!
[span style=\'font-size:10pt;line-height:100%\']I don't know how, but i' ll do!!!
This is how i like to live! :)[/span]

Ipaq hx4700

Xromer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #21 on: May 12, 2006, 01:33:20 pm »
Quote
Quote
Great stuff, well done
I've just read the documentation for HaRET, and for the good that it did me it might as well have been written in martian
Zaurus internals are fairly well known: something like the 860 might be a good bet as that uses an ATI graphics chip rather than the on-chip solution found in the SL-Cxx00 range.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126727\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Right, that was the thing i would like to know.
I remember that one of the Zauri used the Imageon chip but i didn' t remeber which.
Now the only issues could be the Asic.
Between 1 hour i' ll be home and try.
I' ll let you know.
BYEZ!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126745\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

UFF, no way, it tried all the utilities, like haret, hpcboot, linexec, but they need to be specifically compiled for WinCE.net and i don' t like to install WinCe development KIT, as i need to install windows, because the WinCe SDK do not run on Vmware, has some issues.
So now i have installed all i found on the net about Wince.
And trying to port some PocketPC apps, adding the DLLs that lack.
:-(
« Last Edit: May 12, 2006, 01:37:57 pm by Xromer »
[span style=\'font-size:10pt;line-height:100%\']I don't know how, but i' ll do!!!
This is how i like to live! :)[/span]

Ipaq hx4700

chiark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
    • http://www.chiark.com
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #22 on: May 12, 2006, 04:27:24 pm »
i'll recompile haret for u with the sig3 sdk - it'll be monday before I get the chance tho.

Xromer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #23 on: May 12, 2006, 05:46:24 pm »
Quote
i'll recompile haret for u with the sig3 sdk - it'll be monday before I get the chance tho.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126798\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Perfect chiark, so i have the time to study deeper the pdaxrom builder and the Zauri kernel.
 
[span style=\'font-size:10pt;line-height:100%\']I don't know how, but i' ll do!!!
This is how i like to live! :)[/span]

Ipaq hx4700

chiark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
    • http://www.chiark.com
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #24 on: May 18, 2006, 03:53:07 am »
Just a quick ping to let you know I'm not dead - I'll try to do this tomorrow.

Xromer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #25 on: May 18, 2006, 09:10:27 am »
Quote
Just a quick ping to let you know I'm not dead - I'll try to do this tomorrow.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=127536\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

EHEHEHE! Do not worry, in the meanwhile i' m finishing to compile all the feed that i need for the GPE PIMS and Kernel Stuff of the Beta3.
When you' ll compile the haret tool i' ll begin to dump the GPIO of te SIG and see if the Corgi kernel can be modified to fit in the SIG.
:-)
BYez!
« Last Edit: May 18, 2006, 09:11:38 am by Xromer »
[span style=\'font-size:10pt;line-height:100%\']I don't know how, but i' ll do!!!
This is how i like to live! :)[/span]

Ipaq hx4700

matrixcore

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #26 on: May 19, 2006, 12:14:26 am »
Quote
Quote
Just a quick ping to let you know I'm not dead - I'll try to do this tomorrow.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=127536\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

EHEHEHE! Do not worry, in the meanwhile i' m finishing to compile all the feed that i need for the GPE PIMS and Kernel Stuff of the Beta3.
When you' ll compile the haret tool i' ll begin to dump the GPIO of te SIG and see if the Corgi kernel can be modified to fit in the SIG.
:-)
BYez!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=127593\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Hi everyone, i have a spare sig i could use for testing and i also have a working gentoo system which i could use to compile. If there's anything i can do to help you, i'll be pleased in doing so.

Regards

Dima202

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #27 on: May 19, 2006, 04:59:27 pm »
Quote
Quote
Great stuff, well done
I've just read the documentation for HaRET, and for the good that it did me it might as well have been written in martian
Zaurus internals are fairly well known: something like the 860 might be a good bet as that uses an ATI graphics chip rather than the on-chip solution found in the SL-Cxx00 range.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126727\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Right, that was the thing i would like to know.
I remember that one of the Zauri used the Imageon chip but i didn' t remeber which.
Now the only issues could be the Asic.
Between 1 hour i' ll be home and try.
I' ll let you know.
BYEZ!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126745\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
The C860 uses the Radeon Imageon chips but I believe it's Imageon 100?

Xromer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #28 on: May 20, 2006, 05:29:51 am »
Quote
The C860 uses the Radeon Imageon chips but I believe it's Imageon 100?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=127809\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Uhm.... yes i know, but i don' t think that the Video driver could be the problem, as in the ATI site it' s specifically said that the Imageon has linux support.
I think the problem could be the GPIO interface and the Asic chip.
Also i didn' t find the sound chip documentation.
But imagine that we can reach it (I have to because i need), the very big issue, is the battery utilization.
As the OS would be load totally in the SDRAM or SD memory, because the WinCE.Net system is ROM loaded, i saw in many posts that loading every time from flash or USB decreases the Battery duration very much.
UHM... i have a Jornada 720 loading linux like the Sig III, but i haven' t yet seen any big difference about battery duration.
We will see.
[span style=\'font-size:10pt;line-height:100%\']I don't know how, but i' ll do!!!
This is how i like to live! :)[/span]

Ipaq hx4700

cmonex

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Pdaxrom On Sigmarion Iii
« Reply #29 on: May 22, 2006, 08:02:39 pm »
wow, good luck, keep up the good work!!

i don't know what haret etc is, this is all over my head, so i can only support you by wishing good luck etc etc  but i'd like to learn...

oh and i can help with hacking pocketpc apps. let me know what app you need.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2006, 08:03:34 pm by cmonex »