Author Topic: Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader  (Read 67752 times)

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #60 on: May 11, 2006, 06:01:06 pm »
Hi, I seem to be stuck. The emergency boot happened and I have a screen come up saying:

Code: [Select]
pdaXrom emergency system
==================
pdaXrom [Akita]
Loading /etc/sysconfig/keyboard/Akita/keymap.map

Processing /etc/profile... Done
-sh.3.00#

Now the notes say:

Quote
4) Screen on and emergency system will booting

Ok that seems to have happened above.

Quote
5) After booting, it will detect SD or CF and run autoboot.sh script

Has it done this?

Now the next step is step 7 (is this s typo?, as step 6 is missing)

Quote
7) After flashing, it will reboot and pdaXrom will booting - time for battery insert

Well... mine seems to have got stuck somewhere along the line or I'm a missing something here, which is entirely likely. Anyone able to help, please do. :-)
Zaurus C-1000

InSearchOf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1144
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #61 on: May 11, 2006, 06:44:22 pm »
On my C1000 loading from a CF....

I had to edit the autostart.sh and change the

LOC=$1

to

LOC=/mnt/cf

After that the install started and rebooted fine...

Try that omro
« Last Edit: May 11, 2006, 06:45:40 pm by InSearchOf »
Sharp Zaurus SL-C3100 and SL-6000L
pdaXrom Developer
Please visit pdaXrom.org for updates
My Blog
IRC #pdaxrom @ FreeNode

scheck.r

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #62 on: May 11, 2006, 06:54:43 pm »
Quote
Hi, I seem to be stuck. The emergency boot happened and I have a screen come up saying:

Code: [Select]
pdaXrom emergency system
==================
pdaXrom [Akita]
Loading /etc/sysconfig/keyboard/Akita/keymap.map

Processing /etc/profile... Done
-sh.3.00#

Now the notes say:

Quote
4) Screen on and emergency system will booting

Ok that seems to have happened above.

Quote
5) After booting, it will detect SD or CF and run autoboot.sh script

Has it done this?

Now the next step is step 7 (is this s typo?, as step 6 is missing)

Quote
7) After flashing, it will reboot and pdaXrom will booting - time for battery insert

Well... mine seems to have got stuck somewhere along the line or I'm a missing something here, which is entirely likely. Anyone able to help, please do. :-)
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126624\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

It happened the same to me. I just started again from step 1 of "Bootup emergency system" and at step 3 I kept maintaining the ON button pressed, I saw many lines like "writing block number ..." and then the system tried to reboot but then I probably messed up with the battery. So i waited a few minutes without battery and unplug, reseted the device, reinserted the battery, plug the power and turned on the Z and then it booted.

After a quick try:
* it uses fbpanel instead of matchbox-panel
* screen is quite dark right after entering run level 5 when booting and remans dark after.
* sound problem
* USB config doesn't work
* Suspend/resume seems more reliable and responsive
* Rxvt instead of aterm
* Card applet gives more details

Nice work, it seems promising. Congrats !
« Last Edit: May 11, 2006, 06:57:33 pm by scheck.r »
SL-C1000 from PriceJapan(cheap and very fast shipping) with EA-70 power adapter, iRiver USB Host cable, PDAIR case, pentopia stylus, ultra clear screen-protector from shop.brando.com.hk only $3 for shipping worldwide
4GB Hitachi Microdrive, 1GB Kingston Elite Pro CF, 4GB Transcend 150x SD, Symbol Spectrum 4137 CF WiFi(low power)
PdaXrom pdaxii13 5.4.9 updated with Kkazakov13's feed. I owned a SL-6000L before

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #63 on: May 11, 2006, 07:09:49 pm »
Quote
On my C1000 loading from a CF....

I had to edit the autostart.sh and change the

LOC=$1

to

LOC=/mnt/cf

After that the install started and rebooted fine...

Try that omro
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126631\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Did that and still nothing happened automatically, but I tried something which I tried without success earlier. I did:

[/CODE]
cd /mnt/cf
./autoboot.sh
[CODE]

And then it started the writing blocks thing, rebooted and now I have pdaXrom 1.1.0 beta4 to play with.

So that little text change helped thanks InSearchOf :-)
And of course thanks to Sashz for something new to play with.
Can't wait until all the bugs are ironed out and I can migrate to pdaXrom permanently :-)

One little thing I've noticed is that right click has changed, no longer function+screen tap. It's now shift+screen tap. Is that a planned change?

Also is it just me or are others finding that single taps on the scroll bars cause it run away as if it was being held down?

Also the "start" menu exit brings up the exit box, but pressing OK does nothing.

And the soft reset button doesn't seem to work anymore in the battery bay.

Also the xpdf cropping bug seems almost, but not entirely fixed. It's way better than it was though.

Looks cool though and I like the new panel :-)
« Last Edit: May 11, 2006, 07:23:30 pm by omro »
Zaurus C-1000

anunakin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
    • http://vivaphp.net
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #64 on: May 11, 2006, 07:30:33 pm »
Works for me!

Formated my old SD 128MB with:
Code: [Select]
$ mkfs.vfat -F 16 /dev/sda
Quote
12) If both LEDs flashing, that mean bad CF or SD, or non FAT16.
My two leds flashed but this install u-boot... Nice!  

My Z is back to life!  

All worked in auto mode... not need any manual change...  
« Last Edit: May 11, 2006, 07:41:48 pm by anunakin »
[img]http://www.vivaphp.net/imagens/rev2.jpg\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)

Nokia N900 32GB + microSD 2GB
Nokia N810 w/ microSD 8GB
Nokia 5310 XpressMusic w/ microSD 1GB
HP48GX->Psion Sienna->Palm m130->Tungsten T->Zaurus SL-5500->C3000->C3100 ALL SOLD

My FEED(On Line AGAIN!!!)

TheWalt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #65 on: May 11, 2006, 07:30:44 pm »
Screenshots please
- Gemini PDA | WiFi - Android 7.1.1
- GPD Pocket | Ubuntu Mate 18.10
- Zaurus SL-C3100 | ArchLinuxARM

InSearchOf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1144
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #66 on: May 11, 2006, 07:31:47 pm »
Is it just me... or does the fbpanel has a shadowing graphics bug directly above it...

just checking to see if it is something wrong with my image... because I didnt see anyone else mention anything about it...

Also I will have to compile new drivers for Specturm24 cf... I think I can get that working shortly... give me about 30 min... :-)
Sharp Zaurus SL-C3100 and SL-6000L
pdaXrom Developer
Please visit pdaXrom.org for updates
My Blog
IRC #pdaxrom @ FreeNode

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #67 on: May 11, 2006, 07:36:48 pm »
Quote
A few things:

*After changing some settings in "Look and Feel" the background remains grey and there are no icons.

*eXit doesnt work (have to kill X with ctrl+alt+bs)

*reboot doesnt work (need to open the battery and press the button to reboot)
Edit: the second time it worked

*the speaker runs at the same time as the headphones (important for me!)

*no changing of backlight with fn+3 and fn+4

*display is somehow dark at all

*CPU Config doesnt work

*USB Config also not working
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126613\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


given that it does cpu scaling, wouldn't it be reasonable for the cpuconfig to be vestigial and worthless?  The issues that you'd resolve with it are handled automatically now.

imho the usb is a major issue, the headphone/speaker thing is pretty import, as is the lighting and the look and feel.  Sashz is making fast progress, though. I guess these will be solved soon, at which point I'll flash.  HOw is the speed? the video acceleration?  Those of us who haven't flashed yet are very curious to know...
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #68 on: May 11, 2006, 07:48:38 pm »
I've noticed that if you click on the clock you get a weird pop up box saying

Quote
xmessage

please define some command

I've noticed that the suspend/resume does it's old trick of pressing suspend in the "start" menu and then later when you press the on button, the screen flashes up for an instant and goes black again.

I too can see a faint shadowing above the panel, but only visible to me on the background, not on running apps.

I'm almost loathe to say this, but things feel slower to open and close and react, on the few apps I've tested. I hope that's just me.

I also can't get the get the system to halt or reboot from the command line. The former results in a "the system is powered off" message. The only way to then turn it off is to remove the power cable and battery. The latter just hangs.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2006, 07:53:02 pm by omro »
Zaurus C-1000

anunakin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
    • http://vivaphp.net
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #69 on: May 11, 2006, 07:56:19 pm »
My firts impressions!
1- Man this is very fast... now
2- Screen is a bit dark, yeap I setup to level 6 (MAX) .... and need more backlight!
3- Suspend/Resume is very nice now not long times ever...
4- Damnit ... my screen ... I need more backlight!
5- I see this shadow above fbpanel, too, is it a LCD wron settings?

We have the power!
« Last Edit: May 11, 2006, 07:59:03 pm by anunakin »
[img]http://www.vivaphp.net/imagens/rev2.jpg\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)

Nokia N900 32GB + microSD 2GB
Nokia N810 w/ microSD 8GB
Nokia 5310 XpressMusic w/ microSD 1GB
HP48GX->Psion Sienna->Palm m130->Tungsten T->Zaurus SL-5500->C3000->C3100 ALL SOLD

My FEED(On Line AGAIN!!!)

InSearchOf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1144
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #70 on: May 11, 2006, 08:00:31 pm »
Quote
*display is somehow dark at all

I can agree BUT... I LOVE IT... it a lot more crisp... yes before I could rant and rave (Positive that is) about how bright and clear it is... but now I can say how crispt the quality is... not to "shiny" and reflective..

Another small addition...

No more OSS Mixer... its now ZMixer... it looks more to the point... but there has be a way to get rid of the CD and Line volume controls... NOT COMPLAINING ABOUT THEM!... but I might work on that...
Sharp Zaurus SL-C3100 and SL-6000L
pdaXrom Developer
Please visit pdaXrom.org for updates
My Blog
IRC #pdaxrom @ FreeNode

anunakin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
    • http://vivaphp.net
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #71 on: May 11, 2006, 08:18:41 pm »
I see a dark dot near from screen center above bigger "X"

-edited----------------------------------
After a restart this is on top-left side of bigger X

-edited-------------------------------
/etc/fstab
/dev/hda1 pointing to /mnt/cf  .... this not OK for SL-C3x00


My CF WIFI NL-2511CF Mercury, works fine, my script:
Code: [Select]
ifconfig wlan0 down
iwconfig wlan0 essid Saori mode managed key 1234567890 channel 9 power on
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.5 up
route add default gw 192.168.0.1
echo "nameserver 200.165.132.155" > /etc/resolv.conf
echo "nameserver 200.165.132.148" >> /etc/resolv.conf
echo "domain anunakin" >> /etc/resolv.conf

uname -a result:
Code: [Select]
Linux zaurus 2.6.16 #1 PREEMPT Wed May 10 01:31:48 UTC 2006 armv5tel unknown
« Last Edit: May 11, 2006, 09:01:42 pm by anunakin »
[img]http://www.vivaphp.net/imagens/rev2.jpg\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)

Nokia N900 32GB + microSD 2GB
Nokia N810 w/ microSD 8GB
Nokia 5310 XpressMusic w/ microSD 1GB
HP48GX->Psion Sienna->Palm m130->Tungsten T->Zaurus SL-5500->C3000->C3100 ALL SOLD

My FEED(On Line AGAIN!!!)

karlto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #72 on: May 11, 2006, 09:38:07 pm »
Quote
I've noticed that if you click on the clock you get a weird pop up box saying

Quote
xmessage

please define some command
fbpanel does that on my SL6000 under RC12 - I believe you can define a command in the '~/.fbpanel/default' config file to change the time...?
SL6000-L, RC12

anunakin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
    • http://vivaphp.net
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #73 on: May 11, 2006, 09:47:34 pm »
There is a error msg on hotplug in boot time about pci mapping

A shot!  
[img]http://www.vivaphp.net/imagens/rev2.jpg\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)

Nokia N900 32GB + microSD 2GB
Nokia N810 w/ microSD 8GB
Nokia 5310 XpressMusic w/ microSD 1GB
HP48GX->Psion Sienna->Palm m130->Tungsten T->Zaurus SL-5500->C3000->C3100 ALL SOLD

My FEED(On Line AGAIN!!!)

willgan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom 1.1.0beta 4 And New Bootloader
« Reply #74 on: May 11, 2006, 10:51:13 pm »
i've successfully flash pdaxrom 1.1.0 beta4..
Everything seems to work faster..
Suspend seems to work better...

There are bunch of error during startup.. but boot up with no problem..
I found one problem..
When i attach my usb ethernet adapter and assign an ip address, the whole screen (and the panel) will start to flicker.
Anyone have the same problem?

Sashz ... u're great...
My Current Z...

Zaurus C1000 - Pdaxii13
Using Pdaxrom-builder (SVN) for building packages