Author Topic: Partitions And Oz 3.5.4.1rc2  (Read 3368 times)

silencer51

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • http://tchalikias.blogspot.com
Partitions And Oz 3.5.4.1rc2
« on: May 10, 2006, 08:12:21 pm »
I finally went ahead and installed OZ 3.5.4.1rc2 on my 3100.

First impressions are great! :-)

However, I have a question:

Before I flash OZ I had pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1. I used fdisk to reformat the microdrive ending up with 3 partitions:

/dev/hda1 -> system files etc.

/dev/hda2 -> ext2 storage space (/home)

/dev/hda3 -> vfat partition for windows connectivity

However, I did not format the partitions - I thought the installation program would do that.

While OZ installed perfectly and works ok, I had to manually format /dev/hda2 to ext2fs. I can't however format /dev/hda3 to vfat, mkfs.vfat doesn't seem to be there...

Also, I installed a couple of programs from the feed through the console (ipkg install etc.), it seems the only available destination is /.

When the Z boots it doesn't automagically mount /dev/hda2 as /home.

What should I do? Can someone clarify how the partition table works with the 3100 and 3.5.4.1rc2?
Zaurus SL-5500 with:
128MB CF Card                                    
128MB SD Card
Symbol WiFi CF Card (working, sorta... overheats and shuts down!)
OZ 3.5.4 & GPE

Zaurus SL-C3100 with:
pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 & XFCE4, /dev/hda1 256MB swap, /dev/hda2 512MB ext3, /dev/hda3 3328MB FAT32 for stuff
D-Link DCF-660 WiFi CF Card
1GB SD Card
128MB SD Card
128MB CF Card (for flashing)
USB Host Cable

& a Sony VAIO PCG-C1XD Picturebook with accessories...

[img]http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/7319/usbar21mw.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

TheWalt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Partitions And Oz 3.5.4.1rc2
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2006, 09:15:25 pm »
Quote
What should I do? Can someone clarify how the partition table works with the 3100 and 3.5.4.1rc2?
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I followed the guide posted here [a href=\"http://openzaurus.berlios.de/Spitz/Install]http://openzaurus.berlios.de/Spitz/Install[/url] which worked perfect.  It does mention that only root is formatted and you have to do any other partitions after.

For me once I formatted hda2 it auto mounted without problems on reboot.  It also mentions you have to install dosfstools before you can format vfat.

Hope this helps
- Gemini PDA | WiFi - Android 7.1.1
- GPD Pocket | Ubuntu Mate 18.10
- Zaurus SL-C3100 | ArchLinuxARM

silencer51

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • http://tchalikias.blogspot.com
Partitions And Oz 3.5.4.1rc2
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2006, 09:47:16 pm »
Hmm... Weird. I formatted /dev/hda2 on the first boot, but on subsequent reboots it would not mount automagically...

I repartitioned my hd like this:

/dev/hda1 2500MB -> /

/dev/hda2 1500MB -> /media/hdd

/dev/hda3 rest of space swap
Zaurus SL-5500 with:
128MB CF Card                                    
128MB SD Card
Symbol WiFi CF Card (working, sorta... overheats and shuts down!)
OZ 3.5.4 & GPE

Zaurus SL-C3100 with:
pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 & XFCE4, /dev/hda1 256MB swap, /dev/hda2 512MB ext3, /dev/hda3 3328MB FAT32 for stuff
D-Link DCF-660 WiFi CF Card
1GB SD Card
128MB SD Card
128MB CF Card (for flashing)
USB Host Cable

& a Sony VAIO PCG-C1XD Picturebook with accessories...

[img]http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/7319/usbar21mw.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

TheWalt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Partitions And Oz 3.5.4.1rc2
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2006, 10:48:09 pm »
Quote
/dev/hda2 1500MB -> /media/hdd

my /dev/hda2 auto mounts to /home not /media/hdd

check with the DF command and see what /dev/hda2 is listed for you.
- Gemini PDA | WiFi - Android 7.1.1
- GPD Pocket | Ubuntu Mate 18.10
- Zaurus SL-C3100 | ArchLinuxARM

Da_Blitz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pocketnix.org
Partitions And Oz 3.5.4.1rc2
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2006, 11:14:03 pm »
for me i like a

/dev/hda1 -> root
/dev/hda2 -> /home
/dev/hda3 -> swap

just means that when i upgrade or change things all my user pref's are still there, add in a music and video folder and im set, i use the same setup at home
Personal Blog
Code
Twitter

Gemini Order: #95 (roughly)
Current Device: Samsung Chromebook Gen 3
Current Arm Devices Count: ~30
Looking to acquire: Cavium Thunder X2 Hardware

silencer51

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • http://tchalikias.blogspot.com
Partitions And Oz 3.5.4.1rc2
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2006, 05:46:23 am »
Quote
Quote
/dev/hda2 1500MB -> /media/hdd

my /dev/hda2 auto mounts to /home not /media/hdd

check with the DF command and see what /dev/hda2 is listed for you.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126468\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I changed the /etc/fstab file so that /dev/hda2 mounts to /media/hdd ;-)

Everything works now, I am happy!
Zaurus SL-5500 with:
128MB CF Card                                    
128MB SD Card
Symbol WiFi CF Card (working, sorta... overheats and shuts down!)
OZ 3.5.4 & GPE

Zaurus SL-C3100 with:
pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 & XFCE4, /dev/hda1 256MB swap, /dev/hda2 512MB ext3, /dev/hda3 3328MB FAT32 for stuff
D-Link DCF-660 WiFi CF Card
1GB SD Card
128MB SD Card
128MB CF Card (for flashing)
USB Host Cable

& a Sony VAIO PCG-C1XD Picturebook with accessories...

[img]http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/7319/usbar21mw.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

DaemonsGR

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
    • View Profile
Partitions And Oz 3.5.4.1rc2
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2006, 06:02:16 am »
Quote
Hmm... Weird. I formatted /dev/hda2 on the first boot, but on subsequent reboots it would not mount automagically...

I repartitioned my hd like this:

/dev/hda1 2500MB -> /

/dev/hda2 1500MB -> /media/hdd

/dev/hda3 rest of space swap
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=126461\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Sorry but 2500M + 1500M = 4000M.... What is the rest of the space???
Tasos Varoudis (Tech)
Tasos Varoudis (Architecture)

Zaurus sl-c3100 + Wlan, Lan ,BT ,etc
NOW running... pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 + OOo + custom apps/setup + debian +.. not yet installed OpenBSD snapshot

WAS:Cacko 1.23 + X/QT + debian

Home-Net
Debian WIFI Router ,OpenBSD Bridge Firewall ,Win 2k Domain Server , :) Sun Fire v120 , :) Gentoo Main Server: Dual PIII

silencer51

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • http://tchalikias.blogspot.com
Partitions And Oz 3.5.4.1rc2
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2006, 06:19:20 am »
Heh, there are about 100mbs left... ;-) 4GB = 4096mbs...
Zaurus SL-5500 with:
128MB CF Card                                    
128MB SD Card
Symbol WiFi CF Card (working, sorta... overheats and shuts down!)
OZ 3.5.4 & GPE

Zaurus SL-C3100 with:
pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 & XFCE4, /dev/hda1 256MB swap, /dev/hda2 512MB ext3, /dev/hda3 3328MB FAT32 for stuff
D-Link DCF-660 WiFi CF Card
1GB SD Card
128MB SD Card
128MB CF Card (for flashing)
USB Host Cable

& a Sony VAIO PCG-C1XD Picturebook with accessories...

[img]http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/7319/usbar21mw.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]