Author Topic: VBA (GBA Emulator)  (Read 2267 times)

LordDavon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
    • http://
VBA (GBA Emulator)
« on: February 25, 2004, 10:13:20 pm »
In celebration of the new ROM (and to test the compiling environment), I have compiled Visual Boy Advance for the new ROM.  You can find it in the usual place.

Please give feedback (I am sure it needs some tuning).

http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/davonz

LD

Anonymous

  • Guest
VBA (GBA Emulator)
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2004, 08:18:22 am »
I\'m unable to launch VBA.
I got this message

\"Failed to init SDL: Unable to open mouse\"

I\'m under the new pdaXrom.

Since a GBA CPU seems to use the same instruction set as the Zaurus Xscale, we might get good performances. But VBA probably doesn\'t know that

LordDavon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
    • http://
VBA (GBA Emulator)
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2004, 08:30:53 am »
You need to install the SDL libs off of the feed.

LD

Anonymous

  • Guest
VBA (GBA Emulator)
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2004, 08:43:26 am »
Thanks, but I installed it before that.
Running ldconfig didn\'t help either

Here is the complete output :

VisualBoyAdvance-SDL version 1.7.1
Linux version
Seaching for file VisualBoyAdvance.cfg
Searching current dir: /home/root
Seaching home directory: /home/root
Searching PATH
Configuration file NOT FOUND (using defaults)
Seaching for file vba-over.ini
Searching current dir: /home/root
Seaching home directory: /home/root
Searching PATH
vba-over.ini NOT FOUND (using emulator settings)
Failed to init SDL: Unable to open mouse

LordDavon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
    • http://
VBA (GBA Emulator)
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2004, 09:00:27 am »
Just for fun type the following before running the app:

export DISPLAY=:0.0

Then try again.

LD

LordDavon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
    • http://
VBA (GBA Emulator)
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2004, 09:04:11 am »
Something else to try is just to make sure all the SDL libs are installed.

ipkg update

ipkg list | grep sdl | awk \'{print $1}\' | while read file; do ipkg install ${file}; done

LD

CoreyC

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
    • View Profile
    • http://
VBA (GBA Emulator)
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2004, 04:54:32 pm »
Thanks LD, here is some feedback:

Speed is about the same as the QT VBA, most roms will run slow.  I\'m going to play around with the VisualBoyAdvance.cfg file a little and see if there any settings that will improve speed.

Is there anything we can do about the output size of these emulators?  It\'s almost the size of a stamp

LordDavon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
    • http://
VBA (GBA Emulator)
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2004, 06:19:49 pm »
There should be some options that allow the screen size to change.  Try loading the emulator with --help as a parameter to get all of the options.

LD