Author Topic: Ready To Surrender...  (Read 2639 times)

skot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Ready To Surrender...
« on: June 29, 2006, 09:42:01 pm »
*sigh*

So, when xfce loads, my taskbar is blank, but my menu pops up just fine.

I do not have a panel, however. When I open a console and type: xfce4-panel &

I get all manner of errors in the console (996 was the last one I got), but then a dialogue box pops up and says: "There is already a task bar running." (Or something very close to that.)

What did I do now? Or what didn't I do?

Help xfce4 gurus - you're my only hope!

iczer3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Ready To Surrender...
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2006, 09:45:59 pm »
Dear skot,

When you have a taskbar on top, I think something interacts with the xfce4 ??

In there, try open a terminal do killall xftaskbar4 and then start the menu
and see if that works.

BR,

Felix.

miskinis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
    • View Profile
    • http://
Ready To Surrender...
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2006, 09:52:00 pm »
Quote
*sigh* [...]  I get all manner of errors in the console (996 was the last one I got), but then [...]

Hi,  I tried to help you before, but you ignored my question about whether or not the
default WM runs.  I was asking this before, to see if indeed, any window manager would
run with the way your machine was at that time, after the various installs you performed.

For now, I would suggest posting the first few, or all of the errors.  You may be able to
log them to a file, using "xfce4-panel > sigh.txt 2>&1" and then posting the
contents of the sigh.txt file.  The reason I say might, is that I do not know how XFCE
is implemented internally in regard to output.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2006, 09:52:37 pm by miskinis »
_John Miskinis_

skot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Ready To Surrender...
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2006, 10:18:16 pm »
Quote
Quote
*sigh* [...]  I get all manner of errors in the console (996 was the last one I got), but then [...]

Hi,  I tried to help you before, but you ignored my question about whether or not the
default WM runs.  I was asking this before, to see if indeed, any window manager would
run with the way your machine was at that time, after the various installs you performed.

For now, I would suggest posting the first few, or all of the errors.  You may be able to
log them to a file, using "xfce4-panel > sigh.txt 2>&1" and then posting the
contents of the sigh.txt file.  The reason I say might, is that I do not know how XFCE
is implemented internally in regard to output.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=133430\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Hey there!

Yes, ROX has always run just fine. (I started by installing ROX by itself and playing with it before trying out xfce). Sorry, I thought I had mentioned that in my other post - I'm definitely not ignoring anyone! (I need the help, obviously...)

The error I get tells me that an icon is missing and I should go download it - but this is a new error. It's also the only one. So, I'm going to try resetting all the theme/icons to default and see if this works, now.

If not, I'll post the complete error list.

Thanks again!

karlto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
    • http://
Ready To Surrender...
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2006, 10:57:57 pm »
The panel sounds like the guilty party, and is pretty much the one weakness in the default setup. Have a skim through this thread for a dozen ways to deal with it.

My favourite is to use something else (fbpanel)
SL6000-L, RC12

skot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Ready To Surrender...
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2006, 12:00:26 pm »
SUCCESS!

Thanks for all the advice. The best help was found in a threaed karlo suggested. I will copy the best part right here:


Step by step (from Chero):

Download the base file :
http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/cacko/pdaXrom/....2_armv5tel.ipk

install it :
CODE
# cd /to/where/you/put/the/file
# ipkg install xfce4_4.2.2_armv5tel.ipk

This installed the files in "/", if you want them on SD instead :
CODE
# cd /to/where/you/put/the/file
# ipkg -d /mnt/card install xfce4_4.2.2_armv5tel.ipk


Make sure you have libxml2 on your system, it's in the feed.
Quit matchbox
from command prompt :
CODE
# startxfce4


Now you should be running xfce4

For plugins and additional files, look here :
http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/cacko/pdaXrom/1.1.0/rc10/chero
http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/cacko/pdaXrom/.../rc10/chero/old

One more thing to add: I had been running Beta 3 - and none of this worked for me. When I flashed back to Beta 1 - everything worked!

Thanks again for all the help! This is everything I had hoped for with my Z!

Chero

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1140
    • View Profile
    • http://users.telenet.be/zaurususer/Chero
Ready To Surrender...
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2006, 01:34:14 pm »
Quote
SUCCESS!

Thanks for all the advice. The best help was found in a threaed karlo suggested. I will copy the best part right here:


Step by step (from Chero):

Download the base file :
http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/cacko/pdaXrom/....2_armv5tel.ipk

install it :
CODE
# cd /to/where/you/put/the/file
# ipkg install xfce4_4.2.2_armv5tel.ipk

This installed the files in "/", if you want them on SD instead :
CODE
# cd /to/where/you/put/the/file
# ipkg -d /mnt/card install xfce4_4.2.2_armv5tel.ipk


Make sure you have libxml2 on your system, it's in the feed.
Quit matchbox
from command prompt :
CODE
# startxfce4


Now you should be running xfce4

For plugins and additional files, look here :
http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/cacko/pdaXrom/1.1.0/rc10/chero
http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/cacko/pdaXrom/.../rc10/chero/old

One more thing to add: I had been running Beta 3 - and none of this worked for me. When I flashed back to Beta 1 - everything worked!

Thanks again for all the help! This is everything I had hoped for with my Z!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=133606\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

It does work in beta 3 as well if you install libiconv (from beta 1 feed) first.

(new version will be up in a week or something like that)

Have fun,
Chero.
HP-95LX -> HP Jornada 680 -> SL-C860 -> SL-C3100 -> Fuji u810 -> SL-C1000 -> HTC uni -> SL-C860 -> SL-C760.
March 12 2009 : Back because the Zaurus is one of a kind.
SL-C760 : pdaXrom
Pandora pre-ordered -> received and tested : great device but not my cup of tea -> sold.