Author Topic: Opiereader 0.7j Bug?  (Read 6309 times)

gr8ful

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« on: July 12, 2006, 12:32:37 pm »
I am using SunriseXP to reformat websites in Plucker format for offline viewing with opiereader.  With some but not all sites, when I page down and hit the end of the page opiereader exits completely or shrinks down to an icon and I am returned to the QT workspace.

Is this possibly a bug in opiereader or is it more likely a problem with the way the software is converting the website?  Any one else having this problem in opiereader with any other document formats?

This is far and away the best doc reader for the Zaurus and I will be glad to clear up this annoying issue.

Thanks
SL-C1000, Cacko 1.23 & pdaXQTrom, 4GB Microdrive, AmbiCom WL1100C-CF Wifi card, AmbiCom BT2000-CF Bluetooth card

TimW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
    • View Profile
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2006, 07:14:09 am »
Quote
Is this possibly a bug in opiereader or is it more likely a problem with the way the software is converting the website?  Any one else having this problem in opiereader with any other document formats?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134856\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
If you can send me a copy of a file containing the problem (timwentford AT hotmail DOT com) I'll have a go at fixing it (opie-reader, not the file 8^). I doubt it is a Sunrise problem so I ought to be able to fix it.

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2006, 08:12:31 am »
TimW, so you are the quthor of OpieReader?

Thanks for that great program. I'm using it each evening now, reading a lot of books!

However, I have a feature request:

Currently, when scrolling, the lines scroll smoothly out of the screen on the top, but on the bottom they appear suddenly instead of scrolling smoothly into view.
This disturbs my reading a bit (even more in total darkness around the Zaurus when using white on black inverted mode, because the average brightness of the screen changes abruptly when a new line apears and fades out a bit while one disappears on the top). Using a quite large font size, this can be really annoying.

Would it be a lot of work to let the lines scroll into the screen smoothly on the bottom edge? That would be so great!

Thanks
daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

gr8ful

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2006, 10:07:19 am »
Quote
Quote
Is this possibly a bug in opiereader or is it more likely a problem with the way the software is converting the website?  Any one else having this problem in opiereader with any other document formats?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134856\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
If you can send me a copy of a file containing the problem (timwentford AT hotmail DOT com) I'll have a go at fixing it (opie-reader, not the file 8^). I doubt it is a Sunrise problem so I ought to be able to fix it.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134992\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Tim,

the file I'm having trouble with has been emailed.  Thanks
SL-C1000, Cacko 1.23 & pdaXQTrom, 4GB Microdrive, AmbiCom WL1100C-CF Wifi card, AmbiCom BT2000-CF Bluetooth card

TimW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
    • View Profile
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2006, 04:34:00 am »
Quote
Quote
Quote
Is this possibly a bug in opiereader or is it more likely a problem with the way the software is converting the website?  Any one else having this problem in opiereader with any other document formats?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134856\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
If you can send me a copy of a file containing the problem (timwentford AT hotmail DOT com) I'll have a go at fixing it (opie-reader, not the file 8^). I doubt it is a Sunrise problem so I ought to be able to fix it.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134992\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Tim,

the file I'm having trouble with has been emailed.  Thanks
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135017\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
The bad news is I can't reproduce your problem so I can't fix it. However, that may also be good news as I may already have fixed it. Normally I keep pretty good track of what goes into each release but my laptop broke and I don't have the full RCS stuff copied across to my new one which makes it difficult to verify I am using exactly what you have.

Anyway, I've attached the version I've been testing with, built for Sharp style ROMs (i.e. not opie) which I suggest you try. If it doesn't work, send me your ~/Settings/uqtreader.conf file in case it is something in your settings.

TimW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
    • View Profile
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2006, 04:38:43 am »
Quote
Would it be a lot of work to let the lines scroll into the screen smoothly on the bottom edge? That would be so great!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135002\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Unfortunately, it would be quite a lot of work. I did make some changes a while back which might make this easier so I'll look into it again but I can't promise anything ATM.

In the meantime, have you tried the "in place" scroll? It still has the same problem but it may not be quite as offensive.

I'll post again once I've taken a fresh look at getting the scrolled-on part of the screen to appear more gracefully.

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2006, 05:05:10 am »
Quote
Unfortunately, it would be quite a lot of work. I did make some changes a while back which might make this easier so I'll look into it again but I can't promise anything ATM.

In the meantime, have you tried the "in place" scroll? It still has the same problem but it may not be quite as offensive.

I'll post again once I've taken a fresh look at getting the scrolled-on part of the screen to appear more gracefully.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135103\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Yes, I have tried the in-place scroll. I don't really like it as well as the rolling scroll.
The rolling scroll allows jumping back and forth with the eyes and reading always about in the middle of the screen, with slightly varying reading speed. The in-place scroll does not, at least for the text displayed at the edges. And the screen is always split into two non-continous text parts.
 
Thanks for looking into it.
Just a matter of convenience, nothing critical, so if it costs too much time, please leave it as it is. There may be more important things to do.

Thanks a lot!
daniel
« Last Edit: July 14, 2006, 05:06:34 am by daniel3000 »
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

gr8ful

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2006, 06:49:30 pm »
Quote
Quote
Quote
Quote
Is this possibly a bug in opiereader or is it more likely a problem with the way the software is converting the website?  Any one else having this problem in opiereader with any other document formats?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134856\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
If you can send me a copy of a file containing the problem (timwentford AT hotmail DOT com) I'll have a go at fixing it (opie-reader, not the file 8^). I doubt it is a Sunrise problem so I ought to be able to fix it.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134992\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Tim,

the file I'm having trouble with has been emailed.  Thanks
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135017\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
The bad news is I can't reproduce your problem so I can't fix it. However, that may also be good news as I may already have fixed it. Normally I keep pretty good track of what goes into each release but my laptop broke and I don't have the full RCS stuff copied across to my new one which makes it difficult to verify I am using exactly what you have.

Anyway, I've attached the version I've been testing with, built for Sharp style ROMs (i.e. not opie) which I suggest you try. If it doesn't work, send me your ~/Settings/uqtreader.conf file in case it is something in your settings.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135102\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Tim,

Thanks for the updated opiereader, unfortunately the problem continues. I've emailed my .conf file.  However, I converted the USA Today site today and it displays and scrolls correctly.  Very odd, and as I said, happens very infrequently.  So, if you don't find anything obvious, don't spend a lot of time on it.  I really appreciate opiereader and your support.

Thanks again
SL-C1000, Cacko 1.23 & pdaXQTrom, 4GB Microdrive, AmbiCom WL1100C-CF Wifi card, AmbiCom BT2000-CF Bluetooth card

TimW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
    • View Profile
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2006, 03:09:17 am »
Quote
Tim,

Thanks for the updated opiereader, unfortunately the problem continues. I've emailed my .conf file.  However, I converted the USA Today site today and it displays and scrolls correctly.  Very odd, and as I said, happens very infrequently.  So, if you don't find anything obvious, don't spend a lot of time on it.  I really appreciate opiereader and your support.

Thanks again
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135239\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
This time I think I have found it. Using your conf file I was able to reproduce the problem quite easily - then it was just a matter of time narrowing it down 8^).

The problem was that sometimes the end page was so short compared to the other pages that the status bar was getting confused and ended up dividing by zero. If you toggle the bar off in the old version should probably be okay but I've attached a fixed version, anyway.

gr8ful

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2006, 10:37:03 am »
Quote
Quote
Tim,

Thanks for the updated opiereader, unfortunately the problem continues. I've emailed my .conf file.  However, I converted the USA Today site today and it displays and scrolls correctly.  Very odd, and as I said, happens very infrequently.  So, if you don't find anything obvious, don't spend a lot of time on it.  I really appreciate opiereader and your support.

Thanks again
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135239\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
This time I think I have found it. Using your conf file I was able to reproduce the problem quite easily - then it was just a matter of time narrowing it down 8^).

The problem was that sometimes the end page was so short compared to the other pages that the status bar was getting confused and ended up dividing by zero. If you toggle the bar off in the old version should probably be okay but I've attached a fixed version, anyway.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135508\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Tim,
That fixed the problem, thanks very much for your responsiveness.  In your email to me you mentioned some of the settings I had selected.  Is there any documentation anywhere that explains these settings and exactly what they do?  I've played around with some and discovered what they do, but I am clueless on many.

Thanks....great app!!!
SL-C1000, Cacko 1.23 & pdaXQTrom, 4GB Microdrive, AmbiCom WL1100C-CF Wifi card, AmbiCom BT2000-CF Bluetooth card

xamindar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.radnimax.com
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2006, 03:09:46 am »
While we are on the opie reader subject.... When I have gone to a link in a book file with opie reader that link then shows as strikethrough instead of underlined.  How do I turn this off?  It drives me nuts to have all the text links as strikethrough.  I have no idea what many of the settings do so I probably missed it.  Thanks for the wonderful program, I use it all the time.
SL-C3100 happily Dualbooting Japanese Rom 1.02 and Debian Eabi
Replaced internal CF with 8gb seagate cf hard drive
Ambicom CF GPS
CyberPower battery powered USB hub
D-link DCF-650W (MAN THIS THING IS HUGE!!)

TimW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
    • View Profile
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2006, 03:49:16 am »
Quote
While we are on the opie reader subject.... When I have gone to a link in a book file with opie reader that link then shows as strikethrough instead of underlined.  How do I turn this off?  It drives me nuts to have all the text links as strikethrough.  I have no idea what many of the settings do so I probably missed it.  Thanks for the wonderful program, I use it all the time.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135658\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Errr...none of the settings turn it off - however, expect one soon (now that you mention it 8^).

TimW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
    • View Profile
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2006, 03:57:16 am »
Quote
Tim,
That fixed the problem, thanks very much for your responsiveness.  In your email to me you mentioned some of the settings I had selected.  Is there any documentation anywhere that explains these settings and exactly what they do?  I've played around with some and discovered what they do, but I am clueless on many.

Thanks....great app!!!
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
There are some very old help files [a href=\"http://www.timwentford.uklinux.net/help/reader.html]on my website.[/url] But they are *very* old.

I'm afraid it's the usual thing with free-time being scarce - which do I do, add a new feature, fix a bug or finally get around to updating the documentation? The documentation usually loses.

If you have any specific questions, feel free to ask - either here or by e-mail. Although that is probably a less efficient use of my time I can respond to questions in "coffee-break" time - whereas writing proper documentation would require a chunk of "quality time", which I already have too little of 8^).

ken

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #13 on: August 07, 2006, 07:25:27 am »
Quote
If you have any specific questions, feel free to ask - either here or by e-mail. Although that is probably a less efficient use of my time I can respond to questions in "coffee-break" time - whereas writing proper documentation would require a chunk of "quality time", which I already have too little of 8^).

aieee.   I was using opiereader 0.7j and was quite happy with it.  At some point, I decided to use 0.7m, simply because it was newer (usually your updates do something good, so I didn't mind).  Unfortunately, it would seem the 'm' introduced a condition I can't get rid of (even going back to 'j' and removing the .conf file did no good).

In full screen mode, the bar on the bottom now shows.  I can't get it to do a completely fully screen anymore (I like to have the entire screen black, with white text).  The bottom bar will always show up if I do a page up or down.  Initially, it does a full screen black (with a tiny blue at the top) now, but when I do a pgup or pgdn, the darn bar at the bottom now shows up.

Is there any way you can think of where I can go back to the behavior of having an entire full screen black?

note: When I switched back to 'j', I couldn't quit the program by tapping on the x in the upper right corner anymore either.  it lights up, but doesnt do anything

Thanks ...
« Last Edit: August 07, 2006, 07:56:39 am by ken »
SL-6000L Sharp ROM 1.12 - 1G SD (RiDATA) - 2G Microdrive (Hitachi)
TRENDnet TE-CF100 10/100 (no drivers needed) AmbiCom CF56M-EZ modem (no drivers needed)

tovarish

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
    • View Profile
Opiereader 0.7j Bug?
« Reply #14 on: August 08, 2006, 09:50:58 am »
i had ken's problem even with the j version so i am presently using the i version.
tovarish