Author Topic: Howto Manage Multiple Network Environment?  (Read 2742 times)

Guyou

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Howto Manage Multiple Network Environment?
« on: August 02, 2006, 03:56:34 pm »
Hi,

I'm a newbie. I recently leave my cacko for a fresh OZ/Opie.

I'm confused by the network management. On cacko, I was able to set multiple configuration for my WIFI connection (eg one for home, one for office, one for friend network...). When activatng the network, I have to select one environment and... it works.

On OZ/Opie, I did not found anithing like this. What I found is an application that seems to be a "simple" backend for the /etc/network/interfaces. Each time I change environment, I have to manually re-insert configuration.

What is the killer-app on opie to manage multiple network environment?

wsuetholz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Howto Manage Multiple Network Environment?
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2006, 10:26:49 am »
Hello, since nobody answered...  The kind of thing you are doing sounds like what the WPA_Supplicant is for.  That way things would happen automatically.

Bill

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Howto Manage Multiple Network Environment?
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2006, 06:17:27 am »
Quote
What is the killer-app on opie to manage multiple network environment?

Good question, this is not something I need so I don't know. Do we have something like this, and if not would someone like to write one?


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

law

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Howto Manage Multiple Network Environment?
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2006, 06:50:12 am »
i have written some network-profile shellscirpts incl. an gpe-applet to change them,

i can post them if someone needs them.

here are some screenshots:

http://helmsdeep.homelinux.net/%7Epat/word.../port.16522.png
http://helmsdeep.homelinux.net/%7Epat/word.../port.15841.png

the main-app is a shellscript so it should also work with opie....

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Howto Manage Multiple Network Environment?
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2006, 08:13:36 am »
Yes, could you add the scripts & applet as an enhancement type bug in the OE bugtracker please.

If someone wants to write a similar applet for Opie, then this will ought to pretty much solve the issue.


Si

P.S. hrw tells me that you can also use wpa-gui (wpagui?) under GPE. It requires QT4 though so is not a particularly lightweight solution.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2006, 08:14:39 am by lardman »
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Howto Manage Multiple Network Environment?
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2006, 08:40:53 am »
Quote
Yes, could you add the scripts & applet as an enhancement type bug in the OE bugtracker please.

If someone wants to write a similar applet for Opie, then this will ought to pretty much solve the issue.


Si

P.S. hrw tells me that you can also use wpa-gui (wpagui?) under GPE. It requires QT4 though so is not a particularly lightweight solution.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=143830\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

qt3-x11, not qt4
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

Hrw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1366
    • View Profile
Howto Manage Multiple Network Environment?
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2006, 09:49:41 am »
ops. my mistake then as I told lardman that this use qt4..
OpenZaurus 3.5.4x Release Manager
OpenEmbedded, Ångström, Poky developer
My website

Misc embedded hardware.

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Howto Manage Multiple Network Environment?
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2006, 12:08:28 pm »
Either way it's extra libs. I like the idea of some generic (between GUIs) scripts and some thin/light GUI applets to control them.


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

law

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Howto Manage Multiple Network Environment?
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2006, 03:49:41 pm »
hi,
you can find all relevant files at:

http://helmsdeep.homelinux.net/~pat/network-profiles/ (incl. .bb-files)