Author Topic: Help Wanted Please  (Read 1223 times)

phillvs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Help Wanted Please
« on: August 16, 2006, 02:40:00 pm »
Hi all,

Have not used or looked at my C860 for some 6 months or so, because I get so frustrated with it and with pdaXrom. I must say that it is definately the best OS for the machine, by far, but I do have some problems with it. Good work by all of you.

Here is my first problem, perhaps you can help.

The WiFi network doesn't seem to work - it used to work in an earlier beta. I have looked through this forum but can't see anything to help. I have followed the link (can't remember where now) which suggested that the networking profile should be named after the interface such as eth0 or wlan but those two don't work.

I have tried to run cardctl to get info on the adapter but that program doesnt seem to be present.

I have tried to find the wlan.conf files (cant remmebr the file names of the top of my head) which used to be in the /etc/pcmcia directory (if I remember correctly) but now I can't find it anywhere.

Has anyone any idea how to get the WiFi network running please.

Phill
Phill

Using:
C860 with pdaXrom
5600 with theKompany Rom

louigi600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
Help Wanted Please
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2006, 03:25:54 pm »
Beta4 no longer uses pcmcia-cs from Davi Hinds but uses the new stuff ... try pccardctl.

when you have the card inserted what do you get if you run
"iwconfig" and do you see any errors when you look at "dmesg" ?

If the gui wizzard fails but the modules get loaded correctly you could try using iwconfig to set up wireless networking.
Regards
David

SL-c760*  pdaXrom latest
SL-c860    pdaXrom latest ;-)
SL-c1000  pdaXrom Latest
Acer Aspire One running slackware and Clash
Toshiba AC100 running ARMedslack and Clash

*with some hardware problems but good for testing

wsuetholz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Help Wanted Please
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2006, 06:13:07 pm »
Quote
Beta4 no longer uses pcmcia-cs from Davi Hinds but uses the new stuff ... try pccardctl.

when you have the card inserted what do you get if you run
"iwconfig" and do you see any errors when you look at "dmesg" ?

If the gui wizzard fails but the modules get loaded correctly you could try using iwconfig to set up wireless networking.
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Good, this answers [a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=20969]my question[/url] from from the other day.

Bill

phillvs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Help Wanted Please
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2006, 08:03:23 pm »
Quote
Beta4 no longer uses pcmcia-cs from Davi Hinds but uses the new stuff ... try pccardctl.

when you have the card inserted what do you get if you run
"iwconfig" and do you see any errors when you look at "dmesg" ?

If the gui wizzard fails but the modules get loaded correctly you could try using iwconfig to set up wireless networking.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=138837\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thanks for the help.
Here are the things I have found so far:

iwconfig comes back with errors:
lo             no wireless extension
irda0        no wireless extension
sit0          no wireless extension

wifi0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"test"  
          Mode:Master  Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00  Bit Rate:11Mb/s  
          Sensitivity=1/3  
          Retry min limit:8   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
         
wlan0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"test"  
          Mode:Master  Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00  Bit Rate:11Mb/s  
          Sensitivity=1/3  
          Retry min limit:8   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


I don't really know what these are, except irda is the IR port. Looks to me as if it is saying that the modules for these interfaces have not loaded, anyway what to do now?

Also, pccardctl works fine. I can see the WiFi card settings as I used to do with the old system.

Also, dmesg doesn't seem to give any errors but I have attached the output here as a .txt file. Do you see anything wrong here?

Anymore help you can give will be most welcome.

Phill
Phill

Using:
C860 with pdaXrom
5600 with theKompany Rom

louigi600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
Help Wanted Please
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2006, 05:19:23 pm »
Quote
iwconfig comes back with errors:
lo             no wireless extension
irda0        no wireless extension
sit0          no wireless extension

wifi0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"test" 
          Mode:Master  Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00  Bit Rate:11Mb/s   
          Sensitivity=1/3 
          Retry min limit:8   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
         
wlan0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"test" 
          Mode:Master  Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00  Bit Rate:11Mb/s   
          Sensitivity=1/3 
          Retry min limit:8   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

Those are not errors:
iwconfig is telling you that lo,irda0,sit0 are not wireless devices while it appears that
your card got recognised (probably with hostAP extensions) wlan0 and wifi0.

So far it looks like the card is working fine OS level ... maybe some stuff is broken on beta4 and the giu wizzard is not working.
You could try setting up wireless networking manually like this:
iwconfig wlan0 essid "your wireless lan ID"
if you use wep do also
iwconfig wlan0 key "your key"
wait for a few seconds while the card associates and then try
iwconfig wlan0
you should noe se the mac address of the access point instead of "00:00:00:00:00:00"
if this is the case you can now obtain ip address via dhcp
dhcpcd wlan0

If you use WPA I can't help you off hand ... if not you should be ok now.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2006, 05:23:02 pm by louigi600 »
Regards
David

SL-c760*  pdaXrom latest
SL-c860    pdaXrom latest ;-)
SL-c1000  pdaXrom Latest
Acer Aspire One running slackware and Clash
Toshiba AC100 running ARMedslack and Clash

*with some hardware problems but good for testing