Author Topic: 1.1.0r121 Is Out!  (Read 38980 times)

svs57

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #105 on: October 19, 2006, 02:20:53 am »
Quote
I just installed r121 on my 860. A bit of a pain getting here, but it's got some nice stuff. I managed to get my sound working after xmms gave me the 'Cannot load esound output plugin' error by first installing the esound package from the main feed, and then running alsamixer & making sure both the 'Output Mixer Hifi Playback Swit' and the 'Output Mixer Line Bypass' are NOT muted.

As well, I found that unless I turned the 'Speaker Function' to off, it would play on the speaker as well as the headphones. I guess I'll have to turn that back on if I actually want to use the speaker (I assume for alarms). I'll have to do some more testing.

Does anyone know where alsamixer savaes it's settings? I'd definitely like to back that file up!!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144303\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

alsactl store

jrd154

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #106 on: October 19, 2006, 09:26:22 am »
Quote
Tested on SL-C3200 works fine, no problems so far, the installation a bit tricky and i had to do it manualy. great to have on sl-c3200
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=141934\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

A question for everyone that has r121 working on an sl-c3200.  Does you Z come up with the microdrive mounted as the cf?  I've got beta2 running on my sl-c3000 and it runs great, no problems that I can't work around, but it mounts the microdrive the way you would expect as /.   Shouldn't this be the case in r121?  I've tried building it the 'Manual' way as stated earlier in the thread, and from an SD card.  The SD card install works great and seems to install smoothly, whereas the manual method using the CF card displays a ton of errors.

In regard to the microdrive mounting as /mnt/cf, is this expected?  Has anyone else seen this?

Thanks,
Jason

svs57

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #107 on: October 20, 2006, 04:07:23 am »
I have problem with sound on my 750 with 1.1.0r121.
1. I see only one way to switch sound from headphones to internal speaker:
alsamixer.
Do anybody know how can I configure system to switch sound when i insert headphone

2. alsamixer work. But other program doesn't see mixer
mplayer say when I try increase volume:
[Mixer] No hardware mixing, inserting volume filter.
Mixer and zmixer doen't work

svs57

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #108 on: October 20, 2006, 04:09:11 am »
Does anybody try 4Gb SD with 1.1.0r121?

g33k

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #109 on: October 20, 2006, 02:48:09 pm »
I still can't get my Symbol Spectrum24 working!

I downloaded the firmware using the previously supplied link and copied it to my (newly created) /usr/lib/hotplug/firmware directory.

pdaXrom responds to my Spectrum24 just it did without the firmware.

To wit - when I plug the card in, I can see it in the (little card manager app on the taskbar, whatever it's called) - it shows up as "Symbol Tech?ologies LA4111 Spectrum24 Wireless LAN PC Card 1.00" The little LED on the card never lights up, even for a moment, though, and no eth0 is created. dmesg says -

pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 0
pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia0.0

When I remove the card, dmesg says -

pccard: card ejected from slot 0

With the older versions of the ROM, I was accustomed to calling "/etc/rc.d/init.d/pcmcia restart" - with this version, there is no pcmcia script I could find, so I restarted the whole system. The behavior is unchanged.

Can someone please help me figure this out?

macwiz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
    • http://www.macwiz.co.uk
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #110 on: October 20, 2006, 07:45:03 pm »
At last NAND restore...

Quote
Fn+D+M *will* work, flashing cannot overwrite it as it is in P2ROM.

Take the battery out and unplug the AC. Hold down Fn+D+M, insert the AC, then KEEP HOLDING Fn+D+M. It will take anywhere from 5-20 seconds before anything happens, then it will boot into the diag menu. Put the battery back and lock it in.

Thank you perlun.

I'm going to leave r121 until some of its little annoyances are sorted. But I'm definitely at the lower end of the learning curve.
Macwiz
c860, never quite lived up to my expectations... my fault I guess
17in MacBook Pro lovely xxxx
iPhone 3G ummm
SE P990i with UIQ3. Never enough RAM.
Pocket Loox 720 used for designing ebooks. Just don't like it though!

macwiz: apple mac support in Oxfordshire
Twitter: @boffinboy

vilefridge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #111 on: October 20, 2006, 11:50:04 pm »
Quote
Quote
If I found someone with a NAND backup of beta3 on a C750, would I be able to apply it to my Zaurus?  Is it just as easy to go the japanese route and then beta3?  I'm sorry, I've just had enough of 121.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144260\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Go the Jap route... then... you dont even have to boot into the stock rom... just do the normal OK+On... and install beta3...

and no... I would would cross breed roms...

Late
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144275\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Looks as though beta3 isn't available for the C750.  I know beta2 was, but it seems to be missing from the downloads page??

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #112 on: October 21, 2006, 07:49:52 am »
Quote
Looks as though beta3 isn't available for the C750.  I know beta2 was, but it seems to be missing from the downloads page??
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
[a href=\"http://mail.pdaxrom.org/contrib/1.1.0beta3/Zaurus-7x0-860/]http://mail.pdaxrom.org/contrib/1.1.0beta3/Zaurus-7x0-860/[/url]

I'm personally sticking with beta2 for now. I found a few things didn't work for me in 3.

HTH
GROG!

vilefridge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #113 on: October 22, 2006, 02:44:56 am »
Quote
Quote
Looks as though beta3 isn't available for the C750.  I know beta2 was, but it seems to be missing from the downloads page??
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
[a href=\"http://mail.pdaxrom.org/contrib/1.1.0beta3/Zaurus-7x0-860/]http://mail.pdaxrom.org/contrib/1.1.0beta3/Zaurus-7x0-860/[/url]

I'm personally sticking with beta2 for now. I found a few things didn't work for me in 3.

HTH
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144446\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thanks for the advice & link.  I'm successfully back to beta2, and happy as can be

kellyharding

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geekgothgrrl.co.uk
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #114 on: October 22, 2006, 11:15:05 pm »
Quote
Quote
I do have a SD card I can use. I'll give it a try over the weekend and see how it goes.

Thanks,

Kelly
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=143368\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
How did this work out?  Did you try, and were you successful?  As I'd said, when I tried Beta4 I had problems with uboot barfing on CF, although when I installed uboot for the R121 install, it's happy with CF.

j
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144315\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Nope I didn't give it a try in the end, been too busy recently. I may do at some point, but for now Cacko will stay on it as it works well enough for my needs presently (which keep changing depending on what I'm doing).

I'm keeping an eye on this thread though and the bugtracker. If the person who managed to get r121 to NAND restore posts how they managed it I'd be very interested as I've tended to get a ROM installed, set up and configured and then use NAND backup/restore from time to time.

Kelly
SL-C860: cacko 1.23(currently pdaxii3 to test)
1Gb SD, 2Gb CF, various 512Mb SD and CF cards, Socket LP wifi, Socket Rev F Bluetooth. 2Gb SD and 4Gb CF on order.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
PC: Athlon64 3000+ with XP/SimplyMepis
Mac: G4 Quicksilver 733 with OS X.4.9
Laptop: iBook G4 (2005) 1.42Ghz, OS X 4.9
Server: Dual PIII/500 with Debian 'etch'

cycle_55

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #115 on: November 10, 2006, 01:05:27 am »
Quote
There  - www.pdaXrom.org
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=141786\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I am just wondering why, if the new uboot allows booting from any device we are still using internal flash. Thanks.

cycle_55
C3100,  1.1.0beta3, Rox, Ambicom WL100C-CF wireless , Buffalo ethernet

InSearchOf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1144
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #116 on: November 10, 2006, 11:19:42 am »
Because it is the fastest means when it comes to speed...

SD and CF are slower...

Late
Sharp Zaurus SL-C3100 and SL-6000L
pdaXrom Developer
Please visit pdaXrom.org for updates
My Blog
IRC #pdaxrom @ FreeNode

cycle_55

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #117 on: November 10, 2006, 03:34:32 pm »
Quote
Because it is the fastest means when it comes to speed...

SD and CF are slower...

Late
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=146005\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


My next question then has to be why make us go to uboot if that is the case. Especially since most of us only boot up once and then just suspend. I'm obviously missing something here. I'm sure that most of us understand that we are not using a Zaurus because of it's lightening speed. I'm just curious and wouldn't mind seeing something on booting from other than the built in flash. Thanks.

cycle_55
C3100,  1.1.0beta3, Rox, Ambicom WL100C-CF wireless , Buffalo ethernet

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #118 on: November 10, 2006, 04:06:16 pm »
Quote
Quote
Because it is the fastest means when it comes to speed...

SD and CF are slower...

Late
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=146005\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


My next question then has to be why make us go to uboot if that is the case. Especially since most of us only boot up once and then just suspend. I'm obviously missing something here. I'm sure that most of us understand that we are not using a Zaurus because of it's lightening speed. I'm just curious and wouldn't mind seeing something on booting from other than the built in flash. Thanks.

cycle_55
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=146019\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

if i remember correctly there was a post that sashz mentions that he broke his bootlloader and the only way to boot for him was to create an alternate bootloader, hence he created uboot and made all of you use it too
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

InSearchOf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1144
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0r121 Is Out!
« Reply #119 on: November 10, 2006, 04:55:04 pm »
Well he didnt create uboot... he decided to implement u-boot into his rom... U-boot fits in the same boat as Lilo... Syslinux... and Grub... just a variation of these..

And U-Boot *WILL* work with booting from alternate mediums... but it is just that no one that I know of... has configured uboot to boot from an external/internal cf... or SD... on a Z

Late
Sharp Zaurus SL-C3100 and SL-6000L
pdaXrom Developer
Please visit pdaXrom.org for updates
My Blog
IRC #pdaxrom @ FreeNode