Author Topic: Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration  (Read 9157 times)

cal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #15 on: October 18, 2006, 08:01:24 am »
Quote
Cal: Thanks for the them, trying it now
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144148\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


how did it work out?

zi99y

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 282
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #16 on: October 18, 2006, 08:25:10 am »
Nice! It's now my main style - I've set the translucency on the panels and my mrxvt terminal and it's looking too hot!

I can't believe how nicely everything is running now, fluxbox rules! Things even seem to load quicker than they did previously in openbox..

cal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #17 on: October 18, 2006, 11:52:02 am »
Openbox was pretty fast too, when it didn't have matchbox on it.  It might be a memory thing.  Did you use the fluxbox_generate-menu command for your menu, or did you make a custom one?  I'm thinking about having tinkering with ipkg to get it to run fluxbox_generate-menu every time I install or uninstall somthing.  I might expiriment with py-panel as well.

zi99y

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 282
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #18 on: October 18, 2006, 11:57:07 am »
No, I just update the menu file manually - it's a bit labourious but I hope one day I will have every app I need there and ready so I don't have to keep installing/testing new stuff!!

(yeah..... right!)

An example of how it's speedier is the virtual keyboard xvkbd opens very quick now, before it took >2sec

cal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #19 on: October 18, 2006, 12:01:08 pm »
Should we make a wiki or add to the oesf.org wiki?  


Also, can we use this?  https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...c=17950&hl=xorg
« Last Edit: October 18, 2006, 01:04:08 pm by cal »

coklat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #20 on: October 23, 2006, 09:23:24 pm »
Hi,

I'm using pdaX 1.1.0r121. I tried to install fluxbox using the one in the r121 feed. However, so far it doesn't work or at least I don't know how to make it work
I followed the instructions (without installing feh or vdesk) and changed the .xinitrc. I got into the WM without wallpaper and the garbled font. Is there any chance for r121 to use fluxbox? Thanks
SL-C1000 owner, jumping around between Cacko, OZ & pdaXrom...
Most usable: Cacko, most fun: pdaXrom
My ideal Zaurus: Powerful like a notebook and easy to use like Palm PDA
Just a user though ;)

cal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #21 on: October 23, 2006, 09:32:00 pm »
Quote
Hi,

I'm using pdaX 1.1.0r121. I tried to install fluxbox using the one in the r121 feed. However, so far it doesn't work or at least I don't know how to make it work
I followed the instructions (without installing feh or vdesk) and changed the .xinitrc. I got into the WM without wallpaper and the garbled font. Is there any chance for r121 to use fluxbox? Thanks
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144639\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I had a simular problem with my C1000 and beta3.  I had to steal a theme and init from my desktop.  I think the default font has problems on some machines.  If you want, I can send you a replacement .fluxbox directory to get started.  Also I had better luck when logged in as a user other then root.

coklat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #22 on: October 24, 2006, 12:48:27 am »
Quote
Quote
Hi,

I'm using pdaX 1.1.0r121. I tried to install fluxbox using the one in the r121 feed. However, so far it doesn't work or at least I don't know how to make it work
I followed the instructions (without installing feh or vdesk) and changed the .xinitrc. I got into the WM without wallpaper and the garbled font. Is there any chance for r121 to use fluxbox? Thanks
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144639\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I had a simular problem with my C1000 and beta3.  I had to steal a theme and init from my desktop.  I think the default font has problems on some machines.  If you want, I can send you a replacement .fluxbox directory to get started.  Also I had better luck when logged in as a user other then root.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144641\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I would like to try it. Please post the file. Thank you:)
SL-C1000 owner, jumping around between Cacko, OZ & pdaXrom...
Most usable: Cacko, most fun: pdaXrom
My ideal Zaurus: Powerful like a notebook and easy to use like Palm PDA
Just a user though ;)

klatt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #23 on: October 24, 2006, 10:42:03 pm »
Hmmm...I'm having some font problems.  The artwiz fonts in the .xinitrc got commented out because all I could see was was numbers!

While I can see letters now all of them have a sort of square between them...I heard a while ago it was some unicode thing but how would I fix that?

Thanks,
Frank

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #24 on: October 31, 2006, 04:34:39 am »
Quote
Hmmm...I'm having some font problems.  The artwiz fonts in the .xinitrc got commented out because all I could see was was numbers!

While I can see letters now all of them have a sort of square between them...I heard a while ago it was some unicode thing but how would I fix that?

Thanks,
Frank
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144742\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Anybody figure out the font thing?  I get the same thing.
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

mjotad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • http://
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #25 on: October 31, 2006, 05:21:35 am »
Quote
Anybody figure out the font thing?  I get the same thing.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=145199\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Try switching on anti-aliasing. You'll find it under fluxbox menu - configure. It worked for me and at least one other with the same problem.

klatt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #26 on: October 31, 2006, 10:27:13 am »
Quote
Quote
Anybody figure out the font thing?  I get the same thing.
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Try switching on anti-aliasing. You'll find it under fluxbox menu - configure. It worked for me and at least one other with the same problem.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=145201\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Yup, mjotad's solution worked for me.

Here is the link for the font-problems specific thread that I started if you want to continue posting there: [a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=21829]Font Problems[/url]

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #27 on: October 31, 2006, 05:28:49 pm »
That would probably work if I could actually read any of the text on screen.  It's all just garbage.


Nevermind, found it!
« Last Edit: October 31, 2006, 05:44:42 pm by BarryW »
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

klatt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #28 on: October 31, 2006, 05:49:19 pm »
congrats

as a suggestion for those who are having trouble looking at the menus you have two options:

1) .fluxbox/init has the settings for antialiasing (search for it in the file).  Edit this from the terminal if you can open one.

2) ssh in and edit the init file from another machine

[edit]

Correction, you have 3 options -

3) keep clicking all over the menus until you get it right    

[/edit]
« Last Edit: October 31, 2006, 05:50:19 pm by klatt »

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #29 on: October 31, 2006, 06:38:31 pm »
Quote
congrats

as a suggestion for those who are having trouble looking at the menus you have two options:

1) .fluxbox/init has the settings for antialiasing (search for it in the file).  Edit this from the terminal if you can open one.

2) ssh in and edit the init file from another machine

[edit]

Correction, you have 3 options -

3) keep clicking all over the menus until you get it right   

[/edit]
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=145269\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


How'd you know??  

Nother quick question, when I try to start up torsmo is can't load the artwiz-glispbold fonts.  I can't get it to load any fonts.  Any quick tips?  Why don't we use conkey?
« Last Edit: October 31, 2006, 06:42:08 pm by BarryW »
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.