Author Topic: Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration  (Read 9969 times)

TheWalt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #30 on: November 01, 2006, 07:40:15 am »
Tried fluxbox out, and thanks to this guide (and a little post tweaking) it's working pretty well.  One question I had thus far; is there a way to not have icons on the desktop of whatever applications are open/running?  Or did I just miss a config somewhere.

Thanks in advance
- Gemini PDA | WiFi - Android 7.1.1
- GPD Pocket | Ubuntu Mate 18.10
- Zaurus SL-C3100 | ArchLinuxARM

zi99y

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 282
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #31 on: November 01, 2006, 06:57:52 pm »
If you have icons of running apps on the desktop like the default setup, it sounds like you have included the openbox-desktop in your .xinitrc file.

Or is it that you want icons for running apps on your desktop?

TheWalt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #32 on: November 01, 2006, 09:57:22 pm »
Quote
If you have icons of running apps on the desktop like the default setup, it sounds like you have included the openbox-desktop in your .xinitrc file.

Or is it that you want icons for running apps on your desktop?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=145337\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

My bad, had both fluxbox and xfce4 on to try out and got them confused... it is xfce4 with the icons on the desktop as applications run, probably for the reason you said.

For the record, if anyone wants yet another opinion; fluxbox is very fast and does have low memory usage.  Plus the max window size feature and transparency is nice.
- Gemini PDA | WiFi - Android 7.1.1
- GPD Pocket | Ubuntu Mate 18.10
- Zaurus SL-C3100 | ArchLinuxARM

klatt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #33 on: November 02, 2006, 09:22:57 am »
Quote
How'd you know??   

Nother quick question, when I try to start up torsmo is can't load the artwiz-glispbold fonts.  I can't get it to load any fonts.  Any quick tips?  Why don't we use conkey?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=145275\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Hmm, I'm not sure. I *THINK* my fonts are loading OK.  Haven't tried anything else though I did spend a great deal of time tweaking my torsmo yesterday.

And yah I had never heard of Torsmo before, I had always used conky too....

Good Luck,
Frank

zi99y

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 282
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #34 on: November 02, 2006, 10:04:05 am »
I'm a conky person on my laptop also, but I had trouble running it on pdaxrom, something about i2c sensors.... Anyway I believe that conky would be more load on the system as it polls various functions frequently. Torsmo is very light and doesn't seem to use much resources.

Not sure about the fonts issue, mine just worked out-of-the-package!

Akitabara

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #35 on: December 06, 2006, 08:10:47 am »
Fluxbox has always been my wm of choice, it's nice to have it on the Zaurus too. Thanks for the howto  I had the "blocks between each letter" problem which was solved by turning on antialiasing.

But I've noticed it takes a loooong time (20-30 secs) to load. Being such a light wm, this shouldn't happen, but I had that same issue on a few desktops and a laptop.

The output of
Code: [Select]
# fluxbox -info in console confirms the package was compiled with XMB enabled. I believe the boot-up time could be reduced quite a lot by compiling it with
Code: [Select]
--disable-xmbThis worked for the desktops and the laptop I had. Maybe it could solve the problems with the fonts too.
 
However, I don't feel comfortable enough with pdaXrom on my Z to try any compiling yet. Could any of you test this?
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']Sharp Zaurus SL-C1000 (Akita)
pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
1GB Dane-Elec SD card
eCable USB to Ethernet adapter (it Just Works!)
No wifi CF card - yet.[/span]

dtruchan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
    • http://
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #36 on: December 06, 2006, 09:10:10 am »
Here, I compiled the latest fluxbox 1.0rc2 with
Compiled options (- => disabled):
-DEBUG
EWMH
-GNOME
-IMLIB2
-KDE
NLS
REMEMBER
RENDER
SHAPE
SLIT
TOOLBAR
XFT
-XINERAMA
XMB
XPM

it is much quicker to load.
just delete the languages you don't need from /usr/share/fluxbox/nls

 [ Invalid Attachment ]
« Last Edit: December 06, 2006, 09:10:33 am by dtruchan »
860 Debian EABI
Lexar Cards
WCF11 v2.5
Mittoni SD-CF Adapter
Gentoo

Akitabara

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #37 on: December 06, 2006, 10:11:27 am »
Wow, that was fast! Thanks a lot!
It really is quicker to load.
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']Sharp Zaurus SL-C1000 (Akita)
pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
1GB Dane-Elec SD card
eCable USB to Ethernet adapter (it Just Works!)
No wifi CF card - yet.[/span]

klatt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #38 on: December 07, 2006, 12:55:43 pm »
I can never seem to get transparency to work!

How does one enable it? - I've changed "Unfocused window alpha" down to 0 even and it doesn't seem to do anything.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Frank

zi99y

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 282
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #39 on: December 07, 2006, 01:13:07 pm »
Try changing the menu alpha or toolbar, also you will need a compatible wallpaper display the one I used was feh. can't remember exactly how it worked as I'm using icewm now (defector!!)

Have you looked at the documentation on the fluxbox site?

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #40 on: January 17, 2007, 05:14:16 pm »
Fluxbox seems to eat all Control key presses. I can't use Ctrl+C or Ctrl+Q, both of which are really annoying. Is there any workaround? I have them mapped correctly in my xmodmap.

Thanks in advance.
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #41 on: January 18, 2007, 03:36:44 pm »
Nobody else has had this issue?

Just as a note, Ctrl seems to work when selecting things in ROX-filer, but nowhere else. Even in ROX-filer it won't let me use Ctrl+button xyz.

Any ideas on where the problem is? It wasn't working in the first place, so th issue isn't some config file I messed up.
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo

wyvvie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #42 on: January 21, 2007, 08:12:10 pm »
Quote
Nobody else has had this issue?
I haven't, but I'm wondering if I can point you in the right direction...

I don't use the vanilla 'akita.xmodmap_us', instead I hand-altered the 'akita.xmodmap_us' and don't bother to use a 'userdefined.xmodmap'; there's no symlink to the akita one, as I changed .xinitrc to point directly at my modified file:
Code: [Select]
xmodmap /etc/X11/kb/akita.xmodmap_usThe 'inputconfig.py' and 'kernel.map' are also none-standard; I use the ones to correct the 'no period or question mark when in console mode' error. I can post these up if you need them.
Quote
Just as a note, Ctrl seems to work when selecting things in ROX-filer, but nowhere else. Even in ROX-filer it won't let me use Ctrl+button xyz.
I use XFE, so can't help you there either ;;
Quote
Any ideas on where the problem is? It wasn't working in the first place, so th issue isn't some config file I messed up.
I'm wondering if it's because you stuck with the defaults - maybe you should try tweaking the aforementioned files and see if you can get results?

EDIT: Hmm, I'm not sure of how much use any of the above will be to you, now that I've noticed you're using 1.1.0 beta1, but I thought I'd give it a go ^__^
« Last Edit: January 21, 2007, 08:29:06 pm by wyvvie »
Zaurus SL-C1000 running Beta3 with Fluxbox
                         Symbol (LA-4137) CF Wifi
                         Dane-elec 1G SD
                         Numerous spare Kingston/Sandisk CF cards

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #43 on: January 21, 2007, 09:00:31 pm »
Quote
Quote
Nobody else has had this issue?
I haven't, but I'm wondering if I can point you in the right direction...

I don't use the vanilla 'akita.xmodmap_us', instead I hand-altered the 'akita.xmodmap_us' and don't bother to use a 'userdefined.xmodmap'; there's no symlink to the akita one, as I changed .xinitrc to point directly at my modified file:
Code: [Select]
xmodmap /etc/X11/kb/akita.xmodmap_usThe 'inputconfig.py' and 'kernel.map' are also none-standard; I use the ones to correct the 'no period or question mark when in console mode' error. I can post these up if you need them.
Quote
Just as a note, Ctrl seems to work when selecting things in ROX-filer, but nowhere else. Even in ROX-filer it won't let me use Ctrl+button xyz.
I use XFE, so can't help you there either ;;
Quote
Any ideas on where the problem is? It wasn't working in the first place, so th issue isn't some config file I messed up.
I'm wondering if it's because you stuck with the defaults - maybe you should try tweaking the aforementioned files and see if you can get results?

EDIT: Hmm, I'm not sure of how much use any of the above will be to you, now that I've noticed you're using 1.1.0 beta1, but I thought I'd give it a go ^__^
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=151968\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Actually, this is on r121.

I have hand-edited my xmodmap file, as well as the inputconfig.py file to fix most of the mappings. I haven't fiddled with the kernel.map file, and it would be awesome to have a fixed version.

Sadly, my Z is dead for the moment. Linux is having issues with keeping a Conics restore file in caps, so I'll have to extract it with windows. I'll see if it works without a fixed inputconfig.py but with a custom xmodmap, then try fiddling.

A totally fixed inputconfig.py and kernel.map would be much appreciated as I'm too lazy to totally fix the inputconfig one.

Thanks for responding. I was getting worried!
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo

wyvvie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Fluxbox: The Ultimate Configuration
« Reply #44 on: January 21, 2007, 09:31:28 pm »
Quote
Actually, this is on r121.
Oh bum - I did actually mean r121... put it down to tiredness =_=
Quote
Sadly, my Z is dead for the moment. Linux is having issues with keeping a Conics restore file in caps, so I'll have to extract it with windows.
Whereas I've not had a problem in Debian with my Conics SL-CXXXX-NAND.zip O_o Good luck with the extraction/restore.

I've attached the inputconfig and kernel.map. All credit goes to whoever posted these versions - I can't recall who made them (there was a thread posted on this some time ago), but they work for me
Quote
Thanks for responding. I was getting worried!
No problem - I hope I can help you for a change (I've used some of the ipks you've compiled)
Zaurus SL-C1000 running Beta3 with Fluxbox
                         Symbol (LA-4137) CF Wifi
                         Dane-elec 1G SD
                         Numerous spare Kingston/Sandisk CF cards