Author Topic: Problems Installing Pdaxrom  (Read 10977 times)

Antikx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1147
    • View Profile
    • http://tyrannozaurus.com
Problems Installing Pdaxrom
« Reply #30 on: September 17, 2006, 01:13:52 pm »
Quote
That works... I did it before for someone else... I believe I still have the base NAND.. but it it set to the default which is i believe 53mb root and the rest user space...

Let me know... I'm planning on going to beta4 again! this weekend... and it is sunday... so hopefully Holovector can hook you up...

Late
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=141636\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Cool.
Sounds like Holovector is gonna get me setup, but thanks and have fun with Beta4!
Kanpai,
-Antikx (Twitter, Mugshot and PodNova)
C1000 - pdaXrom R198 (Celestial Environment)
tyrannozaurus.com
[img]http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/files/category_pictures/general_1.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Zaurus news/blogs feed from Zaurus users
Free Windows, Linux, or Web RSS readers.
Featured pages at tyrannozaurus:
Sharp Petition, ScummVM, Cacko, pdaXii13, and Celestial Environment

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
Problems Installing Pdaxrom
« Reply #31 on: September 17, 2006, 03:16:19 pm »
I am glad your Zaurus is alive again!
But what is this Fn-D-M menu?
I tried it on my C3100 and it brings up the same menu as D+M, except that the title "SERVICE(x/3)" is written in black instead of red.
The menu seems to contain the same items.

Interesting, didn't know about this.
So the D+M menu is stored in flashable NAND and the Fn+D+M is stored in real ROM?

daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

HoloVector

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
    • View Profile
    • http://
Problems Installing Pdaxrom
« Reply #32 on: September 17, 2006, 04:38:03 pm »
Quote
Quote
That works... I did it before for someone else... I believe I still have the base NAND.. but it it set to the default which is i believe 53mb root and the rest user space...

Let me know... I'm planning on going to beta4 again! this weekend... and it is sunday... so hopefully Holovector can hook you up...

Late
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=141636\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Cool.
Sounds like Holovector is gonna get me setup, but thanks and have fun with Beta4!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=141646\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Ok pdaXrom is installed on my 1000.  I'm going to do a NAND backup now then cut it to CD.  Where and when do you want to meet.  I'm in South St. Vital.
I think I'm coming down with what kahm's got!  I now have 3 Zaurii in house!  ;)
Current: Zaurus SL-C3200 -  Bobby (Configuring pdaXii13 Akita with Full 5.4.9 upgrade running IceWM)
Zaurus SL-C1000 - Hachiko (Configuring Cacko 1.23 with evilJazz's new kernel)
Zaurus SL-C860 - Fett (Customized Cacko 1.23 with handmade Boba Fett Theme)
Symbol WiFi CF card|Buffalo WiFi CF Card|Buffalo Ethernet CF Card|Red Piel Frama Case|PDAir Case|Black Pelican 1020 Case|Pentopia Stylii|SaruTek Protectors|Transcend SDs (4GB 150X, 1GB 80X, 256MB 45X, 128MB 45X)|2GB PNY SD|2GB SanDisk SD|Transcend CFs (1GB 80X, 512MB 80X)|Sandisk CFs (4GB, 512MB, 256MB)|256MB Netac USB-CF|RH-1 Remote
Check out the ScummVM@tyrannozaurus page if you are an "adventurer" type of person.

Antikx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1147
    • View Profile
    • http://tyrannozaurus.com
Problems Installing Pdaxrom
« Reply #33 on: September 18, 2006, 12:09:25 am »
Quote
I am glad your Zaurus is alive again!
But what is this Fn-D-M menu?
I tried it on my C3100 and it brings up the same menu as D+M, except that the title "SERVICE(x/3)" is written in black instead of red.
The menu seems to contain the same items.

Interesting, didn't know about this.
So the D+M menu is stored in flashable NAND and the Fn+D+M is stored in real ROM?

daniel
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=141654\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
From what I've gathered it is an emergency Diag Menu that can't be over writen by a NAND restore. Interesting hey?
Kanpai,
-Antikx (Twitter, Mugshot and PodNova)
C1000 - pdaXrom R198 (Celestial Environment)
tyrannozaurus.com
[img]http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/files/category_pictures/general_1.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Zaurus news/blogs feed from Zaurus users
Free Windows, Linux, or Web RSS readers.
Featured pages at tyrannozaurus:
Sharp Petition, ScummVM, Cacko, pdaXii13, and Celestial Environment

Pazu_Z

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Problems Installing Pdaxrom
« Reply #34 on: October 16, 2006, 12:05:25 am »
Hi,

I've the same problem as Antikx with my C1000. So after bricking it, I waited until the next morning and tried Fn-D-M (simply pushing D-M does not work). Nothing happens; the restore diaglogue doesn't show up. Just to check the CF, I tried it again with my C860. D-M worked instantly on the C860, but Fn-D-M doesn't work at all.
Is there any chance that there is a key combination for the restore command other than Fn-D-M?

Edit: The main problem seems to be that I cannot power up the C1000. Pushing OK before and while plugging in does not help.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2006, 11:33:50 am by Pazu_Z »
C3200 & C1000 & C860 & SL5600, Sharp-ROM with pdaXQtROM, Cacko-ROM 1.23, Haicom HI-302CF
Pazu's World :: My Zaurus Webpage :: GPS Utility Page

Antikx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1147
    • View Profile
    • http://tyrannozaurus.com
Problems Installing Pdaxrom
« Reply #35 on: October 16, 2006, 07:40:56 pm »
Quote
Hi,

I've the same problem as Antikx with my C1000. So after bricking it, I waited until the next morning and tried Fn-D-M (simply pushing D-M does not work). Nothing happens; the restore diaglogue doesn't show up. Just to check the CF, I tried it again with my C760. D-M worked instantly on the C760, but Fn-D-M doesn't work at all.
Is there any chance that there is a key combination for the restore command other than Fn-D-M?

Edit: The main problem seems to be that I cannot power up the C1000. Pushing OK before and while plugging in does not help.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144076\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Hmmm... strange.
Are you pressing Fn+D+M while the battery case is open, then tapping the rest button and then letting go of Fn+D+M. If I remember correctly the Zaurus needs to be plugged in while you're doing this.
Kanpai,
-Antikx (Twitter, Mugshot and PodNova)
C1000 - pdaXrom R198 (Celestial Environment)
tyrannozaurus.com
[img]http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/files/category_pictures/general_1.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Zaurus news/blogs feed from Zaurus users
Free Windows, Linux, or Web RSS readers.
Featured pages at tyrannozaurus:
Sharp Petition, ScummVM, Cacko, pdaXii13, and Celestial Environment

Pazu_Z

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Problems Installing Pdaxrom
« Reply #36 on: October 21, 2006, 03:37:38 pm »
Wow, this was really scary ... Leaving the Zaurus without battery for some days, pushing Fn-D-M, then hitting reset with the battery lock open really did the trick. Thank you, Antikx. My C1000 is back to life again ...
Lesson learned: Stay calm, take your time before writing off your Z -- and don't meddle with operating systems you don't really understand. "A cobbler should stick to his last."
C3200 & C1000 & C860 & SL5600, Sharp-ROM with pdaXQtROM, Cacko-ROM 1.23, Haicom HI-302CF
Pazu's World :: My Zaurus Webpage :: GPS Utility Page

Antikx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1147
    • View Profile
    • http://tyrannozaurus.com
Problems Installing Pdaxrom
« Reply #37 on: October 21, 2006, 07:56:11 pm »
Quote
Wow, this was really scary ... Leaving the Zaurus without battery for some days, pushing Fn-D-M, then hitting reset with the battery lock open really did the trick. Thank you, Antikx. My C1000 is back to life again ...
Lesson learned: Stay calm, take your time before writing off your Z -- and don't meddle with operating systems you don't really understand. "A cobbler should stick to his last."
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144465\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Cool. Glad to hear you're up and running.

Staying calm is a good idea, I agree, but not meddling with an OS you don't understand... that's just no fun at all!
Myself and a few others have proved that you can't really brick a modern Zaurus, no matter how hard you try... so go nuts! (disclaimer: I'm not talking about hardware mods)
I'm still learnig to take NAND backups before messing around.
Kanpai,
-Antikx (Twitter, Mugshot and PodNova)
C1000 - pdaXrom R198 (Celestial Environment)
tyrannozaurus.com
[img]http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/files/category_pictures/general_1.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Zaurus news/blogs feed from Zaurus users
Free Windows, Linux, or Web RSS readers.
Featured pages at tyrannozaurus:
Sharp Petition, ScummVM, Cacko, pdaXii13, and Celestial Environment