Author Topic: Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3  (Read 3671 times)

radiochickenwax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« on: February 10, 2007, 06:02:48 pm »
I've tried a number of different versions of fluxbox including compiling the cvs version; albeit,  I did this with gcc 3.4.5 instead of gcc 3.4.6.

 The only one that's actually loaded at all seems to be "fluxbox_0.9.10_armv5tel"

from http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/cacko/pdaXrom/unstable/

It took maybe five to ten minutes to load, and it apparently won't load again.

I'm trying to run this on pdaxii13 build 5.3 for akita.   I've also tried using the "xsessions" program announced at the bottom of this page:

http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/?q=node/210

but that hasn't helped me so far.  

Any ideas?  Does anybody use this?  Any help would be appreciated.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2007, 07:41:30 pm by radiochickenwax »
ZAURII:    sl-6000 : (temporarily) bricked pdaxrom b1   ||   sl-c3200 : yonggun/Debian-EABI
OTHERS:  htc-excalibur,  axim x5,  ipaq 4355, (still trying to find useable linux setups)
thinking about gumstix to replace/augment zaurus

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2007, 07:04:39 pm »
Quote
I've tried a number of different versions of fluxbox including compiling the cvs version; albeit,  I did this with gcc 3.4.5 instead of gcc 3.4.6.

 The only one that's actually loaded at all seems to be "fluxbox_0.9.10_armv5tel"

from http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/cacko/pdaXrom/unstable/

It took maybe five to ten minutes to load, and it apparently won't load again.

I'm trying to run this on pdaxii13 build 5.3 for akita.   I've also tried using the "xsessions" program announced at the bottom of this page:

http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/?q=node/210

but that hasn't helped me so far. 

Any ideas?  Does anybody use this?  Any help would be appreciated.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153742\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

fluxbox is in the beta1 feed, I only tried the xqt version which worked fine, so the regular pdaXrom version should be ok too I presume since beta1 binaries are very stable. the only thing missing really is the config files. i would suggest using fluxconf which is great for configuring the way fluxbox works and its key bindings, etc... but before all that you need a proper fbsession files which you then symlink to .xinitrc

the xsesssion selector just relinks fbsession to .xinitrc. it assumes you already have the correct session files, ie for openbox mbsession, for fluxbox fbsession, for icewm ice-session and for xfce xfce-session

in the future, xsession package will also include those session files as well once i customised some of them to my liking...
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

radiochickenwax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2007, 07:30:46 pm »
Quote
the only thing missing really is the config files

That's not really a problem.  I have my .fluxbox files backed up.  In fact that's the reason I like fluxbox.  I've been using it for awhile, and I've grown quite accustomed to doing things that way.  Probably what keeps me from migrating to FVWM.

Quote
fluxbox is in the beta1 feed, I only tried the xqt version which worked fine,

I'll try the beta1 and X/QT packages, but I'm a little skeptical.   I suppose I'd been trying the beta3 packages and pre-beta1 packages.   This runs very slow on the standard beta3 for me also.  Takes about 5-10 minutes to load on a 3200 whereas it loads in 30sec or less on a 6000.

Quote
the xsesssion selector just relinks fbsession to .xinitrc. it assumes you already have the correct session files, ie for openbox mbsession, for fluxbox fbsession, for icewm ice-session and for xfce xfce-session


I'm still a little confused about how to do this manually, and I didn't really give more than a perfunctory look at the "xsessions" ipk.  I think I might be able to figure it out from here...
« Last Edit: February 10, 2007, 07:44:08 pm by radiochickenwax »
ZAURII:    sl-6000 : (temporarily) bricked pdaxrom b1   ||   sl-c3200 : yonggun/Debian-EABI
OTHERS:  htc-excalibur,  axim x5,  ipaq 4355, (still trying to find useable linux setups)
thinking about gumstix to replace/augment zaurus

radiochickenwax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2007, 08:15:23 pm »
A little more about the problem:

fluxbox does  load eventually, but it takes way too long.  I've been trying to load the version from beta1 on my 3200 for the past 1/2 hour, but still nothing.

The version I mentioned earlier (0.9.10) loads in under 1/2 hour, but this is still far too long.

I'm running an xterm in the .xinitrc file.  After a long while, this becomes "active" and lets me run the "top" process which shows the "X" process running at about 98.8% CPU unitl fluxbox loads.

Still haven't tried the X/QT package, since I'm still waiting to see if the beta1 package will ever load completely.
ZAURII:    sl-6000 : (temporarily) bricked pdaxrom b1   ||   sl-c3200 : yonggun/Debian-EABI
OTHERS:  htc-excalibur,  axim x5,  ipaq 4355, (still trying to find useable linux setups)
thinking about gumstix to replace/augment zaurus

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2007, 08:38:25 pm »
Quote
A little more about the problem:

fluxbox does  load eventually, but it takes way too long.  I've been trying to load the version from beta1 on my 3200 for the past 1/2 hour, but still nothing.

The version I mentioned earlier (0.9.10) loads in under 1/2 hour, but this is still far too long.

I'm running an xterm in the .xinitrc file.  After a long while, this becomes "active" and lets me run the "top" process which shows the "X" process running at about 98.8% CPU unitl fluxbox loads.

Still haven't tried the X/QT package, since I'm still waiting to see if the beta1 package will ever load completely.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153756\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

you cannot run the XQt package. Its for Sharp ROM. I just mentioned it because I have run beta1 packages both in pdaXrom beta1 and Sharp ROM under XQT using the respective package feeds and observed that they behaved exactly the same under each distro, so my point is that the quality of the packages are the same for each distro feed for beta1.
fluxbox should load in under a minute...
there is something terribly wrong with your setup...
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

radiochickenwax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2007, 09:15:40 pm »
Quote
fluxbox should load in under a minute...
there is something terribly wrong with your setup...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153764\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I agree.  But where is it going wrong?  I'm thinking that this is specific to fluxbox in beta3 on my 3200, since the exact same configuration in beta1 on my 6000 works flawlessly, and openbox runs flawlessly on my 3200.

I guess I was just wondering if any other 3200 users have had this problem, or if I can just narrow it down to my machine.. in which case, I might be wasting everybody's time by posting this here, and I don't mean/want to do that.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2007, 09:17:31 pm by radiochickenwax »
ZAURII:    sl-6000 : (temporarily) bricked pdaxrom b1   ||   sl-c3200 : yonggun/Debian-EABI
OTHERS:  htc-excalibur,  axim x5,  ipaq 4355, (still trying to find useable linux setups)
thinking about gumstix to replace/augment zaurus

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2007, 09:27:05 pm »
Quote
Quote
fluxbox should load in under a minute...
there is something terribly wrong with your setup...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153764\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I agree.  But where is it going wrong?  I'm thinking that this is specific to fluxbox in beta3 on my 3200, since the exact same configuration in beta1 on my 6000 works flawlessly, and openbox runs flawlessly on my 3200.

I guess I was just wondering if any other 3200 users have had this problem, or if I can just narrow it down to my machine.. in which case, I might be wasting everybody's time by posting this here, and I don't mean/want to do that.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153773\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

one way to test is to use your openbox .xinitrc and just replace the line which starts openbox with fluxbox and see if that starts quickly. if it does, then its your fluxbox .xinitrc script...
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

radiochickenwax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2007, 09:31:49 pm »
Quote
one way to test is to use your openbox .xinitrc and just replace the line which starts openbox with fluxbox and see if that starts quickly. if it does, then its your fluxbox .xinitrc script...
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Yes I did this, and it still takes forever.

[edit:]

I've tried a bare .xinitrc file containing only:

Code: [Select]
exec fluxbox

and this takes the same amount of  time to load.

[edit2:]

Quote
you cannot run the XQt package. Its for Sharp ROM.

I think you can run XQT packages from the following feed on pdaxrom:  

[a href=\"http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/pdaxrom/download/1.1.0beta1/XQt/feed/]http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distri...beta1/XQt/feed/[/url]

but I can't confirm this yet

[edit3:]
I confirmed this feed to work, but the fluxbox program still doesn't work for me.

I'm trying  blackbox, which is similar in appearance, and also works flawlessly but I'm still stumped about why fluxbox won't work for me.  Blackbox doesn't have nearly the functionality that fluxbox has.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2007, 11:35:14 pm by radiochickenwax »
ZAURII:    sl-6000 : (temporarily) bricked pdaxrom b1   ||   sl-c3200 : yonggun/Debian-EABI
OTHERS:  htc-excalibur,  axim x5,  ipaq 4355, (still trying to find useable linux setups)
thinking about gumstix to replace/augment zaurus

scheck.r

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • http://
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2007, 08:37:44 am »
You could try the latest fluxbox package fluxbox_1.0rc2 form here:
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=21726&st=30
SL-C1000 from PriceJapan(cheap and very fast shipping) with EA-70 power adapter, iRiver USB Host cable, PDAIR case, pentopia stylus, ultra clear screen-protector from shop.brando.com.hk only $3 for shipping worldwide
4GB Hitachi Microdrive, 1GB Kingston Elite Pro CF, 4GB Transcend 150x SD, Symbol Spectrum 4137 CF WiFi(low power)
PdaXrom pdaxii13 5.4.9 updated with Kkazakov13's feed. I owned a SL-6000L before

radiochickenwax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2007, 03:54:03 pm »
Quote
You could try the latest fluxbox package fluxbox_1.0rc2 form here:
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=21726&st=30
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thanks, but see post #10 here [a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=23205#](link)[/url]
« Last Edit: February 11, 2007, 03:54:46 pm by radiochickenwax »
ZAURII:    sl-6000 : (temporarily) bricked pdaxrom b1   ||   sl-c3200 : yonggun/Debian-EABI
OTHERS:  htc-excalibur,  axim x5,  ipaq 4355, (still trying to find useable linux setups)
thinking about gumstix to replace/augment zaurus

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #10 on: February 14, 2007, 09:17:20 am »
updated fluxbox for pdaXii13 and it loads in seconds

http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/feed/beta3/cu...-2_armv5tel.ipk
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

radiochickenwax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #11 on: February 14, 2007, 04:00:29 pm »
Quote
updated fluxbox for pdaXii13 and it loads in seconds

http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/feed/beta3/cu...-2_armv5tel.ipk
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154051\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Thanks again, meanie... testing right now.

[EDIT:]

Did you build feh or something into this?  With my bare .xinitrc,

(exec fluxbox)

it loads the pdaxrom background wallpaper and mousing over this moves it around like a layer in gimp with a transparent background.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2007, 04:38:02 pm by radiochickenwax »
ZAURII:    sl-6000 : (temporarily) bricked pdaxrom b1   ||   sl-c3200 : yonggun/Debian-EABI
OTHERS:  htc-excalibur,  axim x5,  ipaq 4355, (still trying to find useable linux setups)
thinking about gumstix to replace/augment zaurus

radiochickenwax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #12 on: February 14, 2007, 04:42:06 pm »
Quote
Quote
updated fluxbox for pdaXii13 and it loads in seconds

http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/feed/beta3/cu...-2_armv5tel.ipk
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154051\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Thanks again, meanie... testing right now.

[EDIT:]

Did you build feh or something into this?  With my bare .xinitrc,

(exec fluxbox)

it loads the pdaxrom background wallpaper and mousing over this moves it around like a layer in gimp with a transparent background.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154109\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I'm really thinking this is specific to a 3200, since it loads for everyone else in seconds.


Worse (for me), it could just be my 3200, not all 3200s.

Not much increase in speed so far when run in place of openbox in the default .xinitrc.


I've been flashing back and forth between pdaxii13 and the standard beta3, and fluxbox definitely works better in the standard beta3, but I really like what you've done with pdaxii13 overall.

Fluxbox on a 3200 is really my only gripe so far.  I guess when I get the chance, I'll try rc121 since it looks like development is expanding in a more official sense.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2007, 04:46:39 pm by radiochickenwax »
ZAURII:    sl-6000 : (temporarily) bricked pdaxrom b1   ||   sl-c3200 : yonggun/Debian-EABI
OTHERS:  htc-excalibur,  axim x5,  ipaq 4355, (still trying to find useable linux setups)
thinking about gumstix to replace/augment zaurus

tovarish

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
    • View Profile
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2007, 05:38:51 am »
I couldnt get fluxbox working on rc121 too. That and no usb suuport were the reasons i decided to stick to beta1 in my c860.
tovarish

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Fluxbox On Pdaxii13 Or Pdaxrom Beta3
« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2007, 09:35:21 am »
updated fluxbox to work with pdaXii13.
this updated fluxbox package loads pretty quickly under pdaXii13 and also contains custom keys and menu config files
use it in conjunction with xselect which is part of the xsession package to switch between openbox and fluxbox. xselect is a ncurses dialog script which runs from outside of X, ie from the console after you exit X, run xselect to get a GUI to select which window manager you want (currently only openbox and fluxbox will work) and then startx afterwards to start X using the window manager you chose.

http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/feed/custom/f...-2_armv5tel.ipk

http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/feed/custom/x...-2_armv5tel.ipk
« Last Edit: February 15, 2007, 09:38:15 am by Meanie »
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K