Author Topic: Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?  (Read 15680 times)

harvell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
    • View Profile
    • http://
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« on: February 16, 2007, 02:13:22 pm »
So far it looks sweet.  I got the lead from Axim on the following thread

https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...08&#entry154408

I flashed it with out any hiccups.  How many other people? have this loaded?  I couldn't find any other threads about this for 5500/5600 Z's.
C1000 w/...  Cacko Lite (When I use the Z alot for business)... pdaXrom (when I see something cool and want to try it.  Best way for me to learn shell commands)
Eee PC for Mrs. Harvell  
4G SD

HoloVector

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
    • View Profile
    • http://
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2007, 03:03:20 pm »
Quote
So far it looks sweet.  I got the lead from Axim on the following thread

https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...08&#entry154408

I flashed it with out any hiccups.  How many other people? have this loaded?  I couldn't find any other threads about this for 5500/5600 Z's.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154409\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I'd like to try it but, I don't have 5500 and the models I own aren't supported.  
I think I'm coming down with what kahm's got!  I now have 3 Zaurii in house!  ;)
Current: Zaurus SL-C3200 -  Bobby (Configuring pdaXii13 Akita with Full 5.4.9 upgrade running IceWM)
Zaurus SL-C1000 - Hachiko (Configuring Cacko 1.23 with evilJazz's new kernel)
Zaurus SL-C860 - Fett (Customized Cacko 1.23 with handmade Boba Fett Theme)
Symbol WiFi CF card|Buffalo WiFi CF Card|Buffalo Ethernet CF Card|Red Piel Frama Case|PDAir Case|Black Pelican 1020 Case|Pentopia Stylii|SaruTek Protectors|Transcend SDs (4GB 150X, 1GB 80X, 256MB 45X, 128MB 45X)|2GB PNY SD|2GB SanDisk SD|Transcend CFs (1GB 80X, 512MB 80X)|Sandisk CFs (4GB, 512MB, 256MB)|256MB Netac USB-CF|RH-1 Remote
Check out the ScummVM@tyrannozaurus page if you are an "adventurer" type of person.

Jon_J

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1853
    • View Profile
    • http://
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2007, 03:33:40 pm »
I saw that yesterday on the Spanish forums.
It would be very interesting if this was ported to later clamshells and "slipstreamed" into Cacko, but I'm probably just dreaming.  
Besides, I think Cacko is already at it's last release (1.23)
C3100 Multiboot-->Angstrom 2007.12-r18 | Cacko 1.23 | ArchLinuxARM
C3200 pdaxii13v2-5.5-alpha4 Akita on NAND

Ambicom WL1100C-CF Wifi - Ambicom CF modem - Ambicom CF GPS - Belkin-F5D5050 USB LAN
Socket CF Bluetooth rev K - Iogear 4 port USB micro hub - pocket CF card reader
Targus mini USB optical mouse - 2 Targus SD card readers

zaurick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2007, 03:53:10 pm »
Quote
I saw that yesterday on the Spanish forums.
It would be very interesting if this was ported to later clamshells and "slipstreamed" into Cacko, but I'm probably just dreaming.   
Besides, I think Cacko is already at it's last release (1.23)
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

There are some other models here :

[a href=\"http://www.qtopia.net/modules/mydownloads/viewcat.php?cid=6]http://www.qtopia.net/modules/mydownloads/viewcat.php?cid=6[/url]

Are they OK ??

jfv

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
    • View Profile
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2007, 04:08:02 pm »
Aren't these two years old?
SL 5000 D  and C860 Sharp ROM
Too many accessories...

Jon_J

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1853
    • View Profile
    • http://
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2007, 04:14:36 pm »
I looked at the one for the C3000
It's 27mb, and when you extract the hdimage1.tgz, it's 21.8mb
How does this fit on a C3000's flash when it is only 16mb?

nevermind, hdimage1 goes onto the hard drive. opps  
« Last Edit: February 16, 2007, 04:20:44 pm by Jon_J »
C3100 Multiboot-->Angstrom 2007.12-r18 | Cacko 1.23 | ArchLinuxARM
C3200 pdaxii13v2-5.5-alpha4 Akita on NAND

Ambicom WL1100C-CF Wifi - Ambicom CF modem - Ambicom CF GPS - Belkin-F5D5050 USB LAN
Socket CF Bluetooth rev K - Iogear 4 port USB micro hub - pocket CF card reader
Targus mini USB optical mouse - 2 Targus SD card readers

Jon_J

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1853
    • View Profile
    • http://
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2007, 04:21:31 pm »
Quote
Aren't these two years old?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154421\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
From website:
------------------------------
Category: ROM flash images
Download Now! Zaurus c3000 flash rom Popular    Version: Submitted Date 2006/11/5
Description :  This is the ROM flash image for the Sharp Zaurus c3000, containing Qtopia 2.1.2
------------------------------
The current Cacko 1.23 uses qtopia 1.5.4
« Last Edit: February 16, 2007, 04:24:52 pm by Jon_J »
C3100 Multiboot-->Angstrom 2007.12-r18 | Cacko 1.23 | ArchLinuxARM
C3200 pdaxii13v2-5.5-alpha4 Akita on NAND

Ambicom WL1100C-CF Wifi - Ambicom CF modem - Ambicom CF GPS - Belkin-F5D5050 USB LAN
Socket CF Bluetooth rev K - Iogear 4 port USB micro hub - pocket CF card reader
Targus mini USB optical mouse - 2 Targus SD card readers

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2007, 05:19:28 pm »
Quote
I looked at the one for the C3000
It's 27mb, and when you extract the hdimage1.tgz, it's 21.8mb
How does this fit on a C3000's flash when it is only 16mb?

nevermind, hdimage1 goes onto the hard drive. opps 
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154424\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


ironically, i had been waiting for this c3000 release for ages and it got released after the c3000 was EOPed (end of production) and i given up on it and had to make my own custom distro....
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

Jon_J

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1853
    • View Profile
    • http://
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2007, 05:26:40 pm »
Quote
Quote
I looked at the one for the C3000
It's 27mb, and when you extract the hdimage1.tgz, it's 21.8mb
How does this fit on a C3000's flash when it is only 16mb?

nevermind, hdimage1 goes onto the hard drive. opps 
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154424\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


ironically, i had been waiting for this c3000 release for ages and it got released after the c3000 was EOPed (end of production) and i given up on it and had to make my own custom distro....
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154437\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Ok, here comes a really off the cuff question...
could this C3000 qtopia version somehow be "merged" into Cacko and be run on a C3100/C3200 or a C1000?
Or would this be pointless?
« Last Edit: February 16, 2007, 05:27:08 pm by Jon_J »
C3100 Multiboot-->Angstrom 2007.12-r18 | Cacko 1.23 | ArchLinuxARM
C3200 pdaxii13v2-5.5-alpha4 Akita on NAND

Ambicom WL1100C-CF Wifi - Ambicom CF modem - Ambicom CF GPS - Belkin-F5D5050 USB LAN
Socket CF Bluetooth rev K - Iogear 4 port USB micro hub - pocket CF card reader
Targus mini USB optical mouse - 2 Targus SD card readers

Jon_J

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1853
    • View Profile
    • http://
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2007, 05:49:40 pm »
I noticed there are some different programs and games in this archive. (hdimage1.tgz)
I extracted the game "fifteen" and it's .desktop, and *.png file and copied this to my cacko C3100
When I tried to run fifteen in a console, it complained about missing libqtopia2.so

This must be a newer library, so I gave up on this idea, since the dependencies could "snowball" if I pursued  this.  
« Last Edit: February 16, 2007, 05:50:11 pm by Jon_J »
C3100 Multiboot-->Angstrom 2007.12-r18 | Cacko 1.23 | ArchLinuxARM
C3200 pdaxii13v2-5.5-alpha4 Akita on NAND

Ambicom WL1100C-CF Wifi - Ambicom CF modem - Ambicom CF GPS - Belkin-F5D5050 USB LAN
Socket CF Bluetooth rev K - Iogear 4 port USB micro hub - pocket CF card reader
Targus mini USB optical mouse - 2 Targus SD card readers

Snappy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 793
    • View Profile
    • http://
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #10 on: February 16, 2007, 10:15:27 pm »
I just flashed my 5500 with it. My take on it ... it works ... but the built-in apps is kinda like a throw back to the dark ages ...

The Notes, Pictures and possibly other apps all do one *stupid* thing: They scan the internal and I think external media for the supported documents and present a "protected" view of available files. I think it may seem like a way to be user friendly, but when you think of how many files one can squeeze into a 1gb sd card (or 4gb sdcard ... I've not tested this yet), then you know it's going to take a long time!

Besides, users who choose a linux device, should at least know about directory structure to be comfortable in navigating through a browse dialog right? I mean, even Windows have that!

I might install some of the apps from the oz/sharp feed and see if they work. Post back later.
Snappy!
------------------------
Akita (Daily use)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-C1000 with Cacko 1.23 full
Accessories: Wifi XI-825 CF  |  16GB (6) SDHC (Transcend) | 1GB 80x CF (RiDATA PRO-2) </span>

Collie (Sandbox)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-5500 with OZ/GPE 3.5.4.1 alpha3 build 2006-04-27
Accessories: 512MB A-Data SD | 64MB Toshiba SD</span>

Antikx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1147
    • View Profile
    • http://tyrannozaurus.com
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2007, 12:48:16 am »
Quote
Aren't these two years old?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154421\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
But even the 80's are coming back in style.  
Kanpai,
-Antikx (Twitter, Mugshot and PodNova)
C1000 - pdaXrom R198 (Celestial Environment)
tyrannozaurus.com
[img]http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/files/category_pictures/general_1.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Zaurus news/blogs feed from Zaurus users
Free Windows, Linux, or Web RSS readers.
Featured pages at tyrannozaurus:
Sharp Petition, ScummVM, Cacko, pdaXii13, and Celestial Environment

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2007, 12:52:12 am »
Quote
Quote
Aren't these two years old?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154421\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
But even the 80's are coming back in style.  
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154481\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

unless it can run netfront and/or opera, i don't think it would be worth upgrading to. besides, the same reason why some people are staying on SharpROM/Cacko and not moving to OPIE applies to this new ROM.
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

harvell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
    • View Profile
    • http://
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #13 on: February 17, 2007, 02:58:22 am »
Quote
I just flashed my 5500 with it. My take on it ... it works ... but the built-in apps is kinda like a throw back to the dark ages ...

The Notes, Pictures and possibly other apps all do one *stupid* thing: They scan the internal and I think external media for the supported documents and present a "protected" view of available files. I think it may seem like a way to be user friendly, but when you think of how many files one can squeeze into a 1gb sd card (or 4gb sdcard ... I've not tested this yet), then you know it's going to take a long time!

Besides, users who choose a linux device, should at least know about directory structure to be comfortable in navigating through a browse dialog right? I mean, even Windows have that!

I might install some of the apps from the oz/sharp feed and see if they work. Post back later.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154473\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I do agree with you on that.  However I'm giving it the wife test.... If it's friendly enough for her to use it than it would be a victory for me.  I'm tired of her asking me to check my "palm thingy" for phone numbers and addresses.  I'm still testing it myself.  I'll try to post some screenshots.
C1000 w/...  Cacko Lite (When I use the Z alot for business)... pdaXrom (when I see something cool and want to try it.  Best way for me to learn shell commands)
Eee PC for Mrs. Harvell  
4G SD

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3703
    • View Profile
Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?
« Reply #14 on: February 17, 2007, 03:50:03 pm »
long ago I asked Maslovsky about making a qtopia2 rom with qtopia1 libraries for backward compatibility, so that we could have the best of both worlds. He seemed to think it was quite a difficult thing to do, and at the time there wasn't a compelling reason to do so maybe.

one of the snags is that sharp/cacko is based on qtopia 1.5.4 which was never fully opened under GPL, and sharp apps are of course not opensource, but fortunately they run with qtopia1.7 libraries which if (if I understand correctly) what most developers for sharp/cacko use.

I think that trying to have both q2 and q1 apps running at same time will be too demanding on memory since two fairly large s/w libraries will be in use at the same time.

OZ with opieII & qtopia2 might be the way forward for those who want everything really up to date.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2007, 03:50:17 pm by speculatrix »
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.