Author Topic: Hsdpa Modem ?  (Read 39587 times)

jpmatrix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
    • View Profile
    • http://matrixmen.free.fr
Hsdpa Modem ?
« on: March 13, 2007, 07:33:31 am »
hello

i'm thinking about a umts/hsdpa modem for my zaurus.
as all CF modems are only gprs, i'm thinking about an USB HSDPA modem :

http://www.huawei.com/mobileweb/en/products/view.do?id=282

do you think this can work with the zaurus, i mean about power consumtion and modem drivers ?
**Fujitsu U1010 !!!  
**ex-Zaurus SL-C3000 owner with Debian kernel 2.6.24-yonggun

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3697
    • View Profile
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2007, 07:15:48 pm »
as far as I know, these should work as they also work on Mac OSX; I think they behave as some sort of USB serial device.

there's a good chance you'd need more usb power, but a battery powered hub might suffice?

maybe you can get to borrow one to evaluate, if so, please do let us know what happens!
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

sdjf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com and http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2007, 02:45:34 am »
Quote
hello

i'm thinking about a umts/hsdpa modem for my zaurus.
as all CF modems are only gprs, i'm thinking about an USB HSDPA modem :

http://www.huawei.com/mobileweb/en/products/view.do?id=282

do you think this can work with the zaurus, i mean about power consumtion and modem drivers ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=156098\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
There is no info on that page about power requirements.  Contact mftr before you buy to find out and compare to the known power output of your CF slot.

On my sl5500, I run a standard CF dialup modem, and am wondering if it is true that all CF modems are gprs.  I couldn't get clear info googling it.

sdjf
http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com
-----------------
sl5500 running Sharp ROM 2.38 (dead batteries)
sl6000L running Sharp ROM 1.12 (still working)
Opera 7.25 and 7.30
Socket CF 56k modem
3Com USB Ethernet Adapter
Toshiba, Lexar and Kingston SD cards
Lexar, Kingston and Transcend CF cards

jpmatrix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
    • View Profile
    • http://matrixmen.free.fr
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2007, 08:15:12 am »
hey
i've just found this new one :

http://mb.softbank.jp/mb/en/product/connec...duct/index.html

Softbank CF HSDPA card !
Compatible OS : Zaurus !

now we've to find it and discover if it is usable out of japan
**Fujitsu U1010 !!!  
**ex-Zaurus SL-C3000 owner with Debian kernel 2.6.24-yonggun

sdjf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com and http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2007, 01:16:50 pm »
It only specifically mentions the "Zaurus SL-C3000" with a vague reference to "Other PDAs".

Also says it requires a "CD-ROM drive" to prepare operating environment for C01S".

So may only be compatible with certain Zaurii.  And I don't really understand what it is, both a modem and the drivers?

sdjf
http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com
-----------------
sl5500 running Sharp ROM 2.38 (dead batteries)
sl6000L running Sharp ROM 1.12 (still working)
Opera 7.25 and 7.30
Socket CF 56k modem
3Com USB Ethernet Adapter
Toshiba, Lexar and Kingston SD cards
Lexar, Kingston and Transcend CF cards

jpmatrix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
    • View Profile
    • http://matrixmen.free.fr
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2007, 03:22:52 pm »
Quote
It only specifically mentions the "Zaurus SL-C3000" with a vague reference to "Other PDAs".

Also says it requires a "CD-ROM drive" to prepare operating environment for C01S".

So may only be compatible with certain Zaurii.  And I don't really understand what it is, both a modem and the drivers?

sdjf
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164381\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

i think (i hope?) CD drivers are only for the non linux OS, windows like, you know?

i think we should contact them in order to be sure of what we need...

i also don't like the sentence "Service Area : C01SI is for use in Japan Only."...what do they mean by that???
**Fujitsu U1010 !!!  
**ex-Zaurus SL-C3000 owner with Debian kernel 2.6.24-yonggun

nodens

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • http://
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2007, 04:56:17 pm »
Quote
Quote
It only specifically mentions the "Zaurus SL-C3000" with a vague reference to "Other PDAs".

Also says it requires a "CD-ROM drive" to prepare operating environment for C01S".

So may only be compatible with certain Zaurii.  And I don't really understand what it is, both a modem and the drivers?

sdjf
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

i think (i hope?) CD drivers are only for the non linux OS, windows like, you know?

i think we should contact them in order to be sure of what we need...

i also don't like the sentence "Service Area : C01SI is for use in Japan Only."...what do they mean by that???
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164389\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

on [a href=\"http://mb.softbank.jp/mb/en/support/after/customer/vc701/index.html]http://mb.softbank.jp/mb/en/support/after/...c701/index.html[/url] the present the VC701SI, a CF type II card with PC card adapter, and it is clearly stated that "VC701SI can be used overseas"

Update :
on seiko compatibility list they say " *The utility software for Zaurus is not offered. Please make connection from the dial-up in Zaurus. For details, please see the instructions of SL-C3000, or ask SHARP corporation."

That tends to imply that the card is seen as a serial device, wich mean it's probably recognized on all rom

<awaken dream>I wonder if I could get one and use my work Orange Business 3G access for using it when I'm on on-call team duty shift... </awaken dream>
« Last Edit: July 05, 2007, 05:30:28 pm by nodens »
« L'air pur ? c'est pas en RL, ça ? c'est pas hors charte ? »
Jean in L'Histoire des Pingouins

sdjf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com and http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2007, 07:31:28 pm »
At  http://www.sii.co.jp/vc/text/e/slc700_set.html, they include an instruction to:


  ' Select "Obtain DNS server address
   automatically" option in the "DNS
   Server Settings" screen...'

As a regular dial-up user with a standard CF modem, I had LOTS of trouble with timing out when I tried connecting to my ISP, using automatic DNS address detection.

If you are using dialup, this is a heads up that putting in a precise DNS address (which I obtained from Customer Support at my ISP in the U.S.), made a HUGE difference in my ability to get online.

They just talk about being SL series compatible.  Another heads up is that if you use a CF modem and respawning of ttyS0 happening, getting online can be a bear on Qtopia-based ROMs (Sharp, Cacko, etc).  See my writeup about disabling respawning of ttyS0 at:

http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com/respawn.html

I was writing a script to automate disabling/enabling, but stopped working on it, not knowing if there was interest.  Let me know if you want me to finish debugging it.

sdjf
http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com
-----------------
sl5500 running Sharp ROM 2.38 (dead batteries)
sl6000L running Sharp ROM 1.12 (still working)
Opera 7.25 and 7.30
Socket CF 56k modem
3Com USB Ethernet Adapter
Toshiba, Lexar and Kingston SD cards
Lexar, Kingston and Transcend CF cards

merli

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
    • http://
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2007, 03:50:46 am »
Regarding Huawei look here. http://www.kanoistika.sk/bobovsky/archiv/umts/ I am using this modem on ubuntu and with fix working great. I did not try it on my C1000 yet.
merli
------
SL-C1000 - pdaxii13 5.3.3 but considering go back to beta1
Wifi D-link DCF-650W CF card - not using
bluetooth Billionton BT CF card and Samsung SGH-i310 GPRS
Pretec Cheetah 133x 4GB SD, Pretec Cheetah 80x 1GB CF

jpmatrix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
    • View Profile
    • http://matrixmen.free.fr
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #9 on: July 06, 2007, 07:04:58 am »
Quote
Regarding Huawei look here. http://www.kanoistika.sk/bobovsky/archiv/umts/ I am using this modem on ubuntu and with fix working great. I did not try it on my C1000 yet.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164411\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

could you plug into your Zaurus to try it and tell us if it works ? please
**Fujitsu U1010 !!!  
**ex-Zaurus SL-C3000 owner with Debian kernel 2.6.24-yonggun

jpmatrix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
    • View Profile
    • http://matrixmen.free.fr
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #10 on: July 06, 2007, 07:16:13 am »
Quote
<awaken dream>I wonder if I could get one and use my work Orange Business 3G access for using it when I'm on on-call team duty shift... </awaken dream>

we have the same dream, with the same provider, in the same country
**Fujitsu U1010 !!!  
**ex-Zaurus SL-C3000 owner with Debian kernel 2.6.24-yonggun

sdjf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com and http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #11 on: July 06, 2007, 09:49:48 am »
Quote
Quote
Regarding Huawei look here. http://www.kanoistika.sk/bobovsky/archiv/umts/ I am using this modem on ubuntu and with fix working great. I did not try it on my C1000 yet.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164411\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

could you plug into your Zaurus to try it and tell us if it works ? please
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164421\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

What language is that in?  Translation engine I use needs to be told before it will work.

Thanks,
sdjf
http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com
-----------------
sl5500 running Sharp ROM 2.38 (dead batteries)
sl6000L running Sharp ROM 1.12 (still working)
Opera 7.25 and 7.30
Socket CF 56k modem
3Com USB Ethernet Adapter
Toshiba, Lexar and Kingston SD cards
Lexar, Kingston and Transcend CF cards

merli

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
    • http://
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2007, 06:22:39 am »
Quote
Quote
Quote
Regarding Huawei look here. http://www.kanoistika.sk/bobovsky/archiv/umts/ I am using this modem on ubuntu and with fix working great. I did not try it on my C1000 yet.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164411\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

could you plug into your Zaurus to try it and tell us if it works ? please
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164421\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

What language is that in?  Translation engine I use needs to be told before it will work.

Thanks,
sdjf
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164438\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

It is in SLovak language :-)
merli
------
SL-C1000 - pdaxii13 5.3.3 but considering go back to beta1
Wifi D-link DCF-650W CF card - not using
bluetooth Billionton BT CF card and Samsung SGH-i310 GPRS
Pretec Cheetah 133x 4GB SD, Pretec Cheetah 80x 1GB CF

craigtyson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
    • View Profile
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #13 on: August 08, 2007, 03:49:18 am »
I am trying to use the Huawei e220 on my C1000 (cack0 lite).  lsusb recognises the device and I get a /dev/ttyUSB0 device.  How do I setup a network connection to use it ?
Craig
SL-C1000, Angstrom GPE 2007.12r13
Ambicom WL1100C, SanDisk UltraII 1GB SD
 
Old Faithfull - SL-5500 battery out of the C750 (see below) TKC v1 (New) 1GB SD
Dead - SL-C750, Cacko 1.23 lite (Dropped, very messy!)
Ambicom WL1100C, SanDisk Dead - 1GB SD
Keep your Z on a bungee, you never know.....

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3697
    • View Profile
Hsdpa Modem ?
« Reply #14 on: August 08, 2007, 08:29:08 am »
Quote
I am trying to use the Huawei e220 on my C1000 (cack0 lite).  lsusb recognises the device and I get a /dev/ttyUSB0 device.  How do I setup a network connection to use it ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=165925\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

you should be able to treat is a just another serial device; as root check if the /dev/modem device exists and if not make a link

Code: [Select]
cd /dev
ls -la modem
ln -s /dev/ttyUSB0 /dev/modem

you should now be able to use regular ppp diallup scripts to connect, many fine examples here on forums.

also try installing minicom, then running "minicom -s", change the serial port to be /dev/ttUSB0, then enter "AT" to see if you get an OK, then try "ATD01234567;" and see if it dials your number.

let us know how you get on please!
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.