Author Topic: Morse Code Input  (Read 9820 times)

jfr

• View Profile
Morse Code Input
« Reply #30 on: May 01, 2007, 12:26:22 am »
To do the timing on the Z, you'd need to be confident that your userland program would be able to measure the timings of events with 10 to 20mS accuracy - preferably 10mS or better. I lacked that confidence, but I'd be very interested if anyone could prove me wrong.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=160035\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

10 mS is a long, long time to the computer.  I make video games for a living, and we try to get 60 frames per second.  Every 16.7 mS, the games I work on need to do physics calculations, transform and draw thousands of polygons, process artificial intelligence, and so on.  Granted, the hardware we develop for is designed for this sort of thing, but you can do a whole heck of a lot in twenty milliseconds of computational time.

I would be really surprized if multitasking on the Z would skew your timings too much.  I expect you could use a standard message pump and take for the time stamp the time that you get the callback to process the event, and that the amount of time that this would be off -- probably on the order of microseconds -- would be far less than the amount of variation time your program has to account for when looking at human-provided input.  

[Hmm... It appears that a single task may get up to ten milliseconds in one go, on the high end.  That computing quantum is higher than I thought, and may actually cause you a problem.  I don't know what the actual time is for the Z.  It may be, though, that multiple timings are skewed by the same amount, and, especially since your task will be the only one running, I don't think it'll be an issue.]

Armagon
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=160140\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I think you're very likely to be right - and for the archive, I agree with your point.