Author Topic: Pdaxii13v2  (Read 46005 times)

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Pdaxii13v2
« on: September 16, 2007, 11:24:34 pm »
The baseline for pdaXii13, ie full compatability with beta1/beta3 will be broken in the next generation of pdaXii13, ie pdaXii13v2 aka build 5.5

packages for pdaXii13 up to 5.4.9 are compatible with pdaXrom beta1/beta3 and vice versa.

Starting pdaXii13 build 5.5 aka pdaXii13v2, this compatability is no longer maintained since most of the base libraries for pdaXii13v2 will be upgraded to the latest/newer versions which are more in line with pdaXrom Latest aka r197/r198.

pdaXiiv2 will still be able to run beta1/beta3 apps, but apps compiled for pdaXii13v2 will no longer be guaranteed to be working in beta1/beta3 without upgrading the necessary libraries.

pdaXii13 build 5.4.9 can be upgraded to pdaXii13v2 via ipkg upgrade using the following feed:
http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/feed/beta3/pdaxiiv2/

it is also necessary to update /usr/bin/ipkg, /etc/ipkg.conf and /usr/lib/ipkg/ignored which can be found at the end of this thread before attempting an upgrade: https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...mp;#entry167303

alternatively, you can also install the following package which will update the above files for you and if you are connected to the internet, will run ipkg upgrade to upgrade all the packages as listed on http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/feed/pdaXii13/tmp/

http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/feed/beta3/pd...a5_armv5tel.ipk

most packages used for upgrading to pdaXiiv2 were taken from kkazakov13's feed (http://z.drun.net/packages/), however, I had to rebuild a few myself to make them compatible with pdaXii13

gtk2 - newer version and support for xim/scim
bluez-libs - added compatability link for older apps
bluez-tools - changed config to support rfcomm (dun/gprs) and cf card detection
dbus - added dependency for dbus-glib
leafpad - linked /usr/local to /usr
links - with desktop file and icon
wifi-radar - command line option
openbox - with working rotation and keyboard shortcuts

additional packages available:
xtermcontrol
gpicview
wireshark
epiphany
cellwriter
obconf
tomoe
quasar
« Last Edit: November 15, 2007, 10:56:50 pm by Meanie »
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2007, 12:35:39 am »
I guess, based on available images, I'll do a fresh 4.9 install and then update

Ugh. I'd forgotten that the CF Flash seems to write slower (but seek faster) than the microdrive. Flashing is time consuming now
« Last Edit: September 17, 2007, 02:10:27 am by adf »
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

raduga

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2007, 02:45:29 pm »
Quote
The baseline for pdaXii13, ie full compatability with beta1/beta3 will be broken in the next generation of pdaXii13, ie pdaXii13v2 aka build 5.5

Is there an initrd for build 5.5 yet?

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2007, 08:04:01 pm »
status on a fresh install of 4.9/update with the ipk:
mostly looks good.
when launching an app libcairo complains about wanting a version number (from libpng?)

fontconfig comlains that there are no cached elements


weirdly I can't seem to get dun info from the ppp modem gui (BT to phone) and while I can do hcitool scan, connect with hcitool cc, I can't do hcitool auth to get a  connection.
Edit:  sim card issues--will revisit this after a replacement
« Last Edit: September 18, 2007, 01:16:41 am by adf »
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

FinnDinn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2007, 01:50:11 pm »
I have a similiar problem with bluetooth on this alpha - cannot authenticate after the PIN prompt

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2007, 11:02:53 pm »
Quote
I have a similiar problem with bluetooth on this alpha - cannot authenticate after the PIN prompt
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167490\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Yeah--I switched SIM cards, reset all passwords-- pppd call GPRS just gets me the box on my phone to enter the pin, then tells me pairing failed. NOT good.  Glad to hear it might not be just me, though.

The question then, is where the problem lies?  Should we downgrade the bluetooth stuff? Any of it? all of it? change a config file?  

incidentally, /var/log/dmesg has some interesting info:
Linux version 2.4.20 (darkstar@aleihos)

Ignoring unrecognized tag 0x00000000
Turbo mode clock : 416.00MHZ (*2.0, active)
run mode clock : 208.00MHZ
system bus clock : 208.00MHZ (1/1)
LCD clock : 104.00MHZ (1/2)

maybe that stuff has been around for awhile and I didn't notice?  (and shouldn't "turbo" be faster  ?)

I guess this makes a good excuse to try titchy

edit--make that "try gentoo,"  titchy didn't seem to lik the cf repacement
« Last Edit: September 19, 2007, 12:34:56 am by adf »
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2007, 04:25:00 am »
Quote
I have a similiar problem with bluetooth on this alpha - cannot authenticate after the PIN prompt
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167490\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

please upgrade the two bluez packages (bluez-libs, bluez-utils) again and it should fix that...
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

FinnDinn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2007, 11:01:23 am »
Quote
please upgrade the two bluez packages (bluez-libs, bluez-utils) again and it should fix that...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167544\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thank you, it worked.
Another problem - png desktop icons are not displayed, probably a problem with libpng?

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2007, 10:30:33 pm »
Quote
Quote
please upgrade the two bluez packages (bluez-libs, bluez-utils) again and it should fix that...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167544\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thank you, it worked.
Another problem - png desktop icons are not displayed, probably a problem with libpng?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167561\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

probably a problem with rox. it has a bug which does that from time to time. running rox-fix should fix it...
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

FinnDinn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2007, 05:25:10 pm »
Quote from: Meanie,Sep 19 2007, 06:30 PM
Quote from: FinnDinn,Sep 20 2007, 01:01 AM
Another problem - png desktop icons are not displayed, probably a problem with libpng?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167561\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

probably a problem with rox. it has a bug which does that from time to time. running rox-fix should fix it...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167616\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
[/quote]

Sorry, but I couldn't find anything by that name neither on forum except this post, nor on the disk   Reinstalling rox doesn't seem to help.

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2007, 05:29:19 pm »
Quote from: FinnDinn,Sep 20 2007, 01:25 PM
Quote from: Meanie,Sep 19 2007, 06:30 PM
Quote from: FinnDinn,Sep 20 2007, 01:01 AM
Another problem - png desktop icons are not displayed, probably a problem with libpng?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167561\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

probably a problem with rox. it has a bug which does that from time to time. running rox-fix should fix it...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167616\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Sorry, but I couldn't find anything by that name neither on forum except this post, nor on the disk   Reinstalling rox doesn't seem to help.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167686\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
[/quote]
gnome-vfs version problem."relocation error." this is, of course after doing some creative linking to make a couple other libraries work.

Type "rox"in a terminal, you'll see clearly

edit: i may have described a unique problem caused by me--not a pdaxii13v2 issue
« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 08:28:59 pm by adf »
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

canguy247

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #11 on: September 21, 2007, 09:31:17 pm »
Hey Meanie,

Once again nice work Meanie.  It is amazing how much work you put into this.  I just have one quick question.  I want to upgrade my pdaxii13 to 5.4.9, then to pdaxii13v2.  The only problem is that I have a non-standard setup.  My SL-C1000 has the FULL version on SD.  If I use pdaXii13-custom.tgz, and then pdaxiiv2-upgrade, will it work?

Thanks again Meanie.

Canguy
SL-C1000 - Debian 2.6.24.4-yonggun (from SD)
Pandora preordered
4GB Transcend 150X SD
16GB AData CF
USB Host cable
Bluetooth USB Dongle/Linksys WCF12 CF Wifi
TRENDnet TE-CF100 10/100 Wired ethernet CF / DM9601 usb ethernet
Palm III keyboard neoprene case

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2007, 10:16:43 am »
Quote
Hey Meanie,

Once again nice work Meanie.  It is amazing how much work you put into this.  I just have one quick question.  I want to upgrade my pdaxii13 to 5.4.9, then to pdaxii13v2.  The only problem is that I have a non-standard setup.  My SL-C1000 has the FULL version on SD.  If I use pdaXii13-custom.tgz, and then pdaxiiv2-upgrade, will it work?

Thanks again Meanie.

Canguy
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167753\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

i am not sure whether it will work on the c1000 with a full install on SD since I cannot test it. the only way to find out is for someone to try it out.
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

canguy247

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #13 on: September 22, 2007, 04:46:48 pm »
Quote
Quote
Hey Meanie,

Once again nice work Meanie.  It is amazing how much work you put into this.  I just have one quick question.  I want to upgrade my pdaxii13 to 5.4.9, then to pdaxii13v2.  The only problem is that I have a non-standard setup.  My SL-C1000 has the FULL version on SD.  If I use pdaXii13-custom.tgz, and then pdaxiiv2-upgrade, will it work?

Thanks again Meanie.

Canguy
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167753\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

i am not sure whether it will work on the c1000 with a full install on SD since I cannot test it. the only way to find out is for someone to try it out.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167765\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
OK.  I guess I will be backing up my SD and internal flash tomorrow and try it.  Just wanted to know if it was theoretically possible.  Thanks Meanie.
SL-C1000 - Debian 2.6.24.4-yonggun (from SD)
Pandora preordered
4GB Transcend 150X SD
16GB AData CF
USB Host cable
Bluetooth USB Dongle/Linksys WCF12 CF Wifi
TRENDnet TE-CF100 10/100 Wired ethernet CF / DM9601 usb ethernet
Palm III keyboard neoprene case

canguy247

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Pdaxii13v2
« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2007, 01:59:37 pm »
Quote
Quote
Quote
Hey Meanie,

Once again nice work Meanie.  It is amazing how much work you put into this.  I just have one quick question.  I want to upgrade my pdaxii13 to 5.4.9, then to pdaxii13v2.  The only problem is that I have a non-standard setup.  My SL-C1000 has the FULL version on SD.  If I use pdaXii13-custom.tgz, and then pdaxiiv2-upgrade, will it work?

Thanks again Meanie.

Canguy
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167753\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

i am not sure whether it will work on the c1000 with a full install on SD since I cannot test it. the only way to find out is for someone to try it out.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167765\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
OK.  I guess I will be backing up my SD and internal flash tomorrow and try it.  Just wanted to know if it was theoretically possible.  Thanks Meanie.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167777\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

So, I upgraded to 5.4.9 using the custom.tgz, and then installed the upgrade ipk for v2, which installed all of the updates.  Everything works great except for a couple of issues.  The main one is that IceWM does not have any apps in the start menu.  Is this normal behaviour?

Canguy
SL-C1000 - Debian 2.6.24.4-yonggun (from SD)
Pandora preordered
4GB Transcend 150X SD
16GB AData CF
USB Host cable
Bluetooth USB Dongle/Linksys WCF12 CF Wifi
TRENDnet TE-CF100 10/100 Wired ethernet CF / DM9601 usb ethernet
Palm III keyboard neoprene case