Author Topic: Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)  (Read 76386 times)

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #75 on: September 20, 2007, 12:36:27 am »
Quote
Quote
that is my suspicion-- that the auto formatting in the script isn't handling my drive.I have replaced the original MD with a 16GB CF, which has worked just fine for pdax.
The problem is that I reformatted the "drive" using the emergency system and then got the same result, and have no idea how to make the debian installer NOT format my drive.

the drive is getting formatted as 1 big partition--and that might be the problem.possib
Are there any partition requirements,like boot flags or anything of the kind?

incidentally, I can't find anything other than "clear the hd in the diag menus

What I'd like to do, but lack the knowledge, is format the drive manually, and see if it goes. how can that be done without reflashing several times?.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167591\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

To get the installer to not format, I would try to edit the installer script.  I haven't done so, but it ought to be possible.

If you, you could send that 16g drive to me for extensive testing.

I was able to re-format the drive my way, using the debian installer that appeared during the installation.  But if it barfs before it gets that far, you may be forced to fiddle with the installation script.

Or, you could ask Neil, who I imagine is about to get inundated with questions.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167610\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I think meanie was right about the kernel not recognizing my internal CF. I guess I'll wait for an update to both the kernel and the installer...
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #76 on: September 20, 2007, 01:01:53 am »
Quote
Quote
Quote
I get "Temporary failure resolving 'debian.neilandtheresa.co.uk' when doing an apt-get update. How should I fix this? I can't ping it either, or anything (except my router, everything else says "ubknown host xyz"). Suggestions?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167613\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

you should fix you router/replace it, or change to use static ip addresses instead of dhcp since your leases do not automatically renew themselves effectively....
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167614\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I am currently using a static IP address. Given that, is there anything I can do outside of fiddling with my router? It worked mostly fine in pdaXrom.

EDIT: Using dhcp fixed it.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167617\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

that means your static ip settings were wrong. could have been netmask, route or dns settings...
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

ZDevil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #77 on: September 20, 2007, 02:32:16 am »
Quote
Quote
Quote
I get "Temporary failure resolving 'debian.neilandtheresa.co.uk' when doing an apt-get update. How should I fix this? I can't ping it either, or anything (except my router, everything else says "ubknown host xyz"). Suggestions?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167613\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

you should fix you router/replace it, or change to use static ip addresses instead of dhcp since your leases do not automatically renew themselves effectively....
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167614\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I am currently using a static IP address. Given that, is there anything I can do outside of fiddling with my router? It worked mostly fine in pdaXrom.

EDIT: Using dhcp fixed it.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167617\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Let me add some detail also for those struggling with the installer.
It is the best to install Debian via a mirror.
Dhcp does not work during installation.
The first time you try to set up your network card is bound to fail. At most you can enter your Z's IP address and WEP key, but it seems the installation forces dhcp, which is broken at this stage.

« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 04:33:09 am by ZDevil »

Life is too precious for hacking *too much*
Visit my Z screencap gallery[/color]
My EeePC 701 Black = Debian (Lenny) on IceRocks + Transcend SDHC Class6 8GB + 2GB RAM
My Zaurus SL-C3200 = Debian EABI (kernel 2.6.24.3-yonggun) on a swapped internal Sandisk Extreme III CF 16gb
My Debian EABI feed: http://matrixmen.free.fr/zaurus/debian/
My OpenBSD/Zaurus feeds:  Link1, Link2
[/i][/font][/color][/size]

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #78 on: September 20, 2007, 03:09:41 am »
yeah yeah..for those of us with supported drives  
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

ZDevil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #79 on: September 20, 2007, 03:24:49 am »
Quote
Quote
Hey, pdaXrom works! Perhaps it is not as polished, but it does work!
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I don't want to denigrate either pdaXrom or Angstrom.  pdaXrom was a big jump from OE for me.  But it was a friggin' nightmare to try to upgrade from beta 1 to the 098 (or whatever it is/was).  I could not do it.  I semi-bricked my toy twice in trying, for a whole day.  Angstrom then came to the rescue, and it's installation and stability are great.  But that project is so focused on development and extension to various machines that the user, the guy like me who wants to install what he needs and go, is left with too many packages that are just broken, and never get fixed.  Tex, firefox, lyx, wifi-radar, and many other mission-critical packages for me were broken when I first installed, were well-known to be broken, and are at the same stage they were in March.  Can you print from Angstrom?  Use bluetooth?  Just a second.  I have a bluetooth card here I couldn't use in either Angstrom or pdaXrom.  Let's see.  OK, some setback, but I don't know what modules to load for my Belkin F8T020 adapter.  

The bright idea of titchy is to just concentrate on getting a working kernel (which do exist, all ready to go), basic utils and config, and an X server --- just for one or two machines, too, and then set it up to use the largest "feed" (distribution) available.  Makes sense to me.  You don't have to bust your balls trying to "port" firefox or tex, either of which would be a monumental task.  They are already there, tested by thousands of users.

Of course, my attitude is helped by the fact that I've used debian for years and years.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167611\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

It's tempting to hijack the topic, but I posted my reply in another dedicated thread:  
[a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=24665&st=0&p=167628&#entry167628]https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...28&#entry167628[/url]
« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 03:31:10 am by ZDevil »

Life is too precious for hacking *too much*
Visit my Z screencap gallery[/color]
My EeePC 701 Black = Debian (Lenny) on IceRocks + Transcend SDHC Class6 8GB + 2GB RAM
My Zaurus SL-C3200 = Debian EABI (kernel 2.6.24.3-yonggun) on a swapped internal Sandisk Extreme III CF 16gb
My Debian EABI feed: http://matrixmen.free.fr/zaurus/debian/
My OpenBSD/Zaurus feeds:  Link1, Link2
[/i][/font][/color][/size]

ZDevil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #80 on: September 20, 2007, 05:13:10 am »
It great to see APM work well in Debian. Suspend/resume and battery level have no issue so far.  

Now: how to adjust backlight in Debian/XFCE4? I've searched for a while but have yet to bump into a solution.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 05:14:07 am by ZDevil »

Life is too precious for hacking *too much*
Visit my Z screencap gallery[/color]
My EeePC 701 Black = Debian (Lenny) on IceRocks + Transcend SDHC Class6 8GB + 2GB RAM
My Zaurus SL-C3200 = Debian EABI (kernel 2.6.24.3-yonggun) on a swapped internal Sandisk Extreme III CF 16gb
My Debian EABI feed: http://matrixmen.free.fr/zaurus/debian/
My OpenBSD/Zaurus feeds:  Link1, Link2
[/i][/font][/color][/size]

tux

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #81 on: September 20, 2007, 09:36:29 am »
 I was tempted by the comments and tried it. Back to Cacko at the moment.

Questions: (I'll also comment at TitchyLinux Wiki)

1. The failures all seem to relate to 'identifying'  and using the disk. 6GB in my 3200, any suggestions as to which driver to pick when offered the choice?

2. I was using a PEAK 1GB SD card, might there be a problem with that? Will try a different card.

3. Given the mirror installation choice, picked http, does anyone have a 'good' UK choice?

4. Wireless networking seemed to work fine if I set static info. Would it work if I tried to install with my CF lan card as the network access? I often find the wireless link problematic on the Zs.

This seems very promising as it is a disk based 'traditional linux set up.

Cheers for now.

 
« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 11:05:59 am by tux »
3200 aka BigZ, swapped in 16GB Sandisk Extreme III CF, Cacko 1.23 full,  new SDHC >2GB module,
SL860 Cacko 1.23 full, new SDHC >2GB module,
6000L SharpRom 1.12 + Tetsu kernel,
5500 TKC home on SD x 2 (with SD>1GB),
Archos PMA30 with OPEN PMA (Giraffe),
Nokia 770 (Hackers Edition)
Nokia 800 (ITOS 2008), 4GB SDHC x 2
Asus eeepc 4G (black), with 1GB ram, dual boot Xandros on SSD with Ubuntu Lucid Lynx on 16 GB SDHC,
Tmobile G1 Android (black), with Cyanogen's  Firerat's MTD script and Amon Ra Recovery 1.7.0
Tmobile HTC Wildfire.. rooted and on Cyanogen's 7.3 nightly Rom
Kopi/Kapi on everything bar the phone and the Nokias, there is a beta for the nokias...

All the above are retired

Samsung Note 8 N5110
Samsung Note N7105
FBreader on the lot!

tux

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #82 on: September 20, 2007, 11:05:28 am »
Quote
I was tempted by the comments and tried it. Back to Cacko at the moment.

Questions: (I'll also comment at TitchyLinux Wiki)

1. The failures all seem to relate to 'identifying'  and using the disk. 6GB in my 3200, any suggestions as to which driver to pick when offered the choice?

2. I was using a PEAK 1GB SD card, might there be a problem with that? Will try a different card.

3. Given the mirror installation choice, picked http, does anyone have a 'good' UK choice?

4. Wireless networking seemed to work fine if I set static info. Would it work if I tried to install with my CF lan card as the network access? I often find the wireless link problematic on the Zs.

This seems very promising as it is a disk based 'traditional linux set up.

Cheers for now.

 
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167644\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
 To answer my own question: seems to be that the 128MB SD card I'm using now has let the install proceed normally.  

Of course I did do new downloads for all the files, so that might have something to do with it. The SD card change is favourite though, someone posted a comment at Titchy that using a 128 MB instead of a 1GB card sorted them out.  

Watching the mirror downloading now, my much distrusted wireless link is behaving extremely well!  

No doubt there'll be more later! (At least I can restore the hard drive if I have to after yesterday's little escapade. I'm off to shred spam in the Wiki.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 11:06:27 am by tux »
3200 aka BigZ, swapped in 16GB Sandisk Extreme III CF, Cacko 1.23 full,  new SDHC >2GB module,
SL860 Cacko 1.23 full, new SDHC >2GB module,
6000L SharpRom 1.12 + Tetsu kernel,
5500 TKC home on SD x 2 (with SD>1GB),
Archos PMA30 with OPEN PMA (Giraffe),
Nokia 770 (Hackers Edition)
Nokia 800 (ITOS 2008), 4GB SDHC x 2
Asus eeepc 4G (black), with 1GB ram, dual boot Xandros on SSD with Ubuntu Lucid Lynx on 16 GB SDHC,
Tmobile G1 Android (black), with Cyanogen's  Firerat's MTD script and Amon Ra Recovery 1.7.0
Tmobile HTC Wildfire.. rooted and on Cyanogen's 7.3 nightly Rom
Kopi/Kapi on everything bar the phone and the Nokias, there is a beta for the nokias...

All the above are retired

Samsung Note 8 N5110
Samsung Note N7105
FBreader on the lot!

ZDevil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #83 on: September 20, 2007, 11:15:37 am »
Quote
  To answer my own question: seems to be that the 128MB SD card I'm using now has let the install proceed normally.  

Of course I did do new downloads for all the files, so that might have something to do with it. The SD card change is favourite though, someone posted a comment at Titchy that using a 128 MB instead of a 1GB card sorted them out.   

Watching the mirror downloading now, my much distrusted wireless link is behaving extremely well!  

No doubt there'll be more later! (At least I can restore the hard drive if I have to after yesterday's little escapade. I'm off to shred spam in the Wiki.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167651\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Actually the first broken card I mentioned before is a 1GB Apacer SD (nude even without any label or sticker on it). The CD image failed to extract properly on this card. Then I switched to a Kingston 256MB SD and everything went well.
@adf: Perhaps you can give your other SDs a chance. That may work.

Yes, the Debian installation process is quite fun in itself. I had never imagined that would be possible when I got my first Z!  
Hardware-wise the basic things (like suspend/resume, shutdown, system clock, etc) seem to be working well out of the box. Package-wise I can't say enough how good it is.

Looking forward to your hands-on report.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 11:16:06 am by ZDevil »

Life is too precious for hacking *too much*
Visit my Z screencap gallery[/color]
My EeePC 701 Black = Debian (Lenny) on IceRocks + Transcend SDHC Class6 8GB + 2GB RAM
My Zaurus SL-C3200 = Debian EABI (kernel 2.6.24.3-yonggun) on a swapped internal Sandisk Extreme III CF 16gb
My Debian EABI feed: http://matrixmen.free.fr/zaurus/debian/
My OpenBSD/Zaurus feeds:  Link1, Link2
[/i][/font][/color][/size]

urkden

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #84 on: September 20, 2007, 11:24:58 am »
I'm trying it also and it looks awesome. Just some problems at certain step of installation related to SD card (1 GB) and some weird wifi problems with my CF card (I don't know why but it work randomly in the instalation process, especially after first reboot).

Now, lets play a little with apps to see what can we make with this little.

alijames

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #85 on: September 20, 2007, 11:31:08 am »
Quote
3. Given the mirror installation choice, picked http, does anyone have a 'good' UK choice?
Try http://mirror.ox.ac.uk/debian/

Plenty of bandwidth here!!

Cheers,

Alistair
Alistair James

C3100 PdaXii13 Akita (with Full Hdimage)
Ambicom CF WLAN
Pharos CF LAN
Socket CF Bluetooth
Kingston 2GB SD
ZTek USB->Serial

Fatty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #86 on: September 20, 2007, 12:01:02 pm »
Quote
yeah yeah..for those of us with supported drives 
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167626\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Me too... My int CF is not a popular one, and I've got exactly the same issue as yous. Thinking about replacing it with a sandisk.
C1000 - Empty, waiting for Sharp ROM.
C3100 - dualbooting Andromeda Debian from 2or0 and Zubuntu 2.0 from Cortez
iPhone 3G.
Kohjinsha - Win 7

urkden

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #87 on: September 20, 2007, 12:05:31 pm »
Quote
Quote
yeah yeah..for those of us with supported drives 
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167626\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Me too... My int CF is not a popular one, and I've got exactly the same issue as yous. Thinking about replacing it with a sandisk.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167656\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Maybe there is another way of installing like doing a NAND backuo/restore and copying the data directly to the CF in another linux machine...

Fatty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #88 on: September 20, 2007, 12:09:03 pm »
Quote
Maybe there is another way of installing like doing a NAND backuo/restore and copying the data directly to the CF in another linux machine...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167657\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Well, if only our internal CF can be recognized and mounted by the debian kernel
C1000 - Empty, waiting for Sharp ROM.
C3100 - dualbooting Andromeda Debian from 2or0 and Zubuntu 2.0 from Cortez
iPhone 3G.
Kohjinsha - Win 7

ZDevil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian On C3xxx (merged Topics)
« Reply #89 on: September 20, 2007, 12:20:58 pm »
tux seems to be hinting that the CF recognition issue may have to do with the failure of the SD card to properly handle the CD installation image. My 1gb SD also failed.
[Well, I suddenly remember that the same 1gb SD card failed to install Debian EABI too!]
So, perhaps ...
-- try a different and smaller SD
-- restore the CF to its original partition state as descibed in Meanie's website, and just let the Debian installer reformat & repartition it?
« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 12:21:59 pm by ZDevil »

Life is too precious for hacking *too much*
Visit my Z screencap gallery[/color]
My EeePC 701 Black = Debian (Lenny) on IceRocks + Transcend SDHC Class6 8GB + 2GB RAM
My Zaurus SL-C3200 = Debian EABI (kernel 2.6.24.3-yonggun) on a swapped internal Sandisk Extreme III CF 16gb
My Debian EABI feed: http://matrixmen.free.fr/zaurus/debian/
My OpenBSD/Zaurus feeds:  Link1, Link2
[/i][/font][/color][/size]