Author Topic: Wi-fi  (Read 1937 times)

howdouknow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • http://www.nokiagate.com
Wi-fi
« on: December 18, 2007, 12:18:18 pm »
Hello, bear with me please, I'm a total newbie to this whole Linux thing.

I have a CL-3200. It came with an ambicom WL1100C card. When I insert the card, the light blinks once, but it doesn't detect any networks.

I did some searching, and found this thread:
https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=24802

From what I can see, I need to edit "/etc/pcmcia/hermes.conf" to get it to work.


Where is it though? I've been browsing the hard drive but can't find this file.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2010, 12:27:37 pm by InSearchOf »

sidmoraes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wi-fi
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2007, 03:57:43 pm »
With Sharp and Cacko rom's, this card works, without any changes.

What did you make to "detect networks"?

Did you configured any connections? "Settings->Network"...
SL-C1000 ( Cacko-Rom 1.23 ) + SL-C3100 ( Cacko-Rom 1.23 )
2Gb SD, usb host cable made by myself, CF modem Xircom,
CF wifi Zonet, Hawking CF 10/100 ethernet,
 USB net, USB CD-Writer Sony CRX10U, CF to PCMCIA adapter,
PCMCIA 2G disk Toshiba, USB charger self-made,
USB BLuetooth,
RH2 ( Wired control for Z ) made by myself,
Serial cable, also made ...

dlj0

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Wi-fi
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2007, 12:27:11 am »
Quote from: howdouknow
Hello, bear with me please, I'm a total newbie to this whole Linux thing.

I have a CL-3200. It came with an ambicom WL1100C card. When I insert the card, the light blinks once, but it doesn't detect any networks.

What you have to do very much depends on the os you have.  If you are dealing with the Sharp ROM, then maybe the previous reply will help.  If not, go to an xterm (or whatever gives you a command line) and see what

/sbin/ifconfig -a

gives you.  If that is configured, I would want to see the output of

lsmod

since there is a tendency for zauri to load both the hostap and the orinoco drivers, which conflict with each other.  Which one you want depends on which firmware (and maybe hardware) you actually have on the card.  For me, I needed to blacklist the hostap modules, and use the orinoco.  Others have to do the opposite.  Try both to see.

Once you have that figured out, and have configured /etc/network/interfaces , then maybe try dhclient.  This is very powerful, and can even override fscked up configuration files.
Zaurus:  SL C3100
ROM:  eabi debian/sid