Author Topic: Problem running Ultima4  (Read 3408 times)

SteelMyst

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • http://
Problem running Ultima4
« on: March 14, 2004, 06:36:53 pm »
A window pops up very brielfy then I get dropped back to the terminal with error \'Fatal signal: Segmentation Fault (SDL Parachute Deployed)\'

I have all four SDL files installed to /mnt/user.  u4 and the ultima zip are in /home/root. Oh, and I\'m running X11 on an 860. Thanks in advance.

Nick
C860 w/Cacko 1.21b | 512 MB SD | Socket Bluetooth | Ratoc CF USB Host | Linksys WiFi | Pocketop Keyboard | GrinderGear Basecamp

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2004, 12:22:30 pm »
ah... ok, then nothing has changed since the last time I tried it.

*sigh*

Scott
ps: anyone know how to fix this?

LordDavon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
    • http://
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2004, 12:27:12 pm »
Yup.  You need to extract the tar file to /usr/local or /usr.  Then, the ultima4.zip and optional u4upgrad.zip files need to be in  the current directory where u4 is run, a subdirectory named \"ultima4\" off the current directory, /usr/lib/u4/ultima4, /usr/local/lib/u4/ultima4.

The ultima4 zip file downloaded is called ultima4-1.01.zip, so be sure to rename it to ultima4.zip.

It runs on my device which is running the latest pdaXrom.


LD

SteelMyst

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • http://
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2004, 04:00:00 am »
Now I\'m getting a new error.  \'xu4: error: unable to load datafiles: Is Ultima IV installed?\' Currently u4 is in /usr/lib/u4 and I have the zip under the ultima4 sub-directory. I did rename the zip and tried putting u4 under /usr only, but I still got the same error. Aside from the 4 SDL libs (obatined from pdaXrom.org feed) are there any other packages I need?  Again, Thanks in advance.

Nick
C860 w/Cacko 1.21b | 512 MB SD | Socket Bluetooth | Ratoc CF USB Host | Linksys WiFi | Pocketop Keyboard | GrinderGear Basecamp

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2004, 09:32:48 am »
I did not understand ld\'s post *at* *all*

I have some files at zaurus.spy.org/feed/xu4 ... etc.

I downloaded and then renamed  the ultima1.1whateever file to ultima4.zip -- and then got the upgrade
images.  I put them in some dir.  I went to / and untarred the ultima \"u4\" program... the tar file -- NOT the zip.
I cd back to the dir where ultima4.zip is -- I *did* *not* unzip the ultima4 or the u4u*.zip upgrade file.
ran \"u4\" .. and it worked.  It\'s very nice.

However, I think this is version .8 and I get random sdl parachute errors .... so it\'s too unstable to play.

I think ld means that you can put the u4.zip and u4u*.zip in those dirs that he listed, so you don\'t have
to always have them relative to your pwd (ie: .) ...  I\'ll try that.

LordDavon -- could we get the version numbers in the files you make?  
ie: u4 has version .9 and exult has like 1.10.rc2 .... I think xu4 .9 fixes many crashes, etc.

other than that, the game is pretty much amazing.  if you go full screen, though, you can\'t
control-alt + arrow to switch screens, you can\'t even alt-tab to switch apps...
but it is nice.

now for exult.

I\'ll speak to you, ld, about getting mame compiled with the trubo hard coded to be on --
so we can at least use mame!!!!

Oh, btw, I played xu4 with the turbo mode set from \"3\" to \"2\" (ie: 199mhz) .. and the
game ran just fine.

Scott
ps: thanks again ld!

LordDavon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
    • http://
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2004, 10:22:14 am »
Quote
Now I\'m getting a new error.  \'xu4: error: unable to load datafiles: Is Ultima IV installed?\' Currently u4 is in /usr/lib/u4 and I have the zip under the ultima4 sub-directory. I did rename the zip and tried putting u4 under /usr only, but I still got the same error. Aside from the 4 SDL libs (obatined from pdaXrom.org feed) are there any other packages I need?  Again, Thanks in advance.

Nick

Try entering the directory where the ultima4.zip file is in and launching u4.

LD

LordDavon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
    • http://
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2004, 10:23:21 am »
Quote
I did not understand ld\'s post *at* *all*

I have some files at zaurus.spy.org/feed/xu4 ... etc.

I downloaded and then renamed  the ultima1.1whateever file to ultima4.zip -- and then got the upgrade
images.  I put them in some dir.  I went to / and untarred the ultima \"u4\" program... the tar file -- NOT the zip.
I cd back to the dir where ultima4.zip is -- I *did* *not* unzip the ultima4 or the u4u*.zip upgrade file.
ran \"u4\" .. and it worked.  It\'s very nice.

However, I think this is version .8 and I get random sdl parachute errors .... so it\'s too unstable to play.

I think ld means that you can put the u4.zip and u4u*.zip in those dirs that he listed, so you don\'t have
to always have them relative to your pwd (ie: .) ...  I\'ll try that.

LordDavon -- could we get the version numbers in the files you make?  
ie: u4 has version .9 and exult has like 1.10.rc2 .... I think xu4 .9 fixes many crashes, etc.

other than that, the game is pretty much amazing.  if you go full screen, though, you can\'t
control-alt + arrow to switch screens, you can\'t even alt-tab to switch apps...  
but it is nice.

now for exult.

I\'ll speak to you, ld, about getting mame compiled with the trubo hard coded to be on --
so we can at least use mame!!!!

Oh, btw, I played xu4 with the turbo mode set from \"3\" to \"2\" (ie: 199mhz) .. and the
game ran just fine.

Scott
ps: thanks again ld!

I will put the u4 .9 binary up today some time.

LD

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2004, 03:13:21 pm »
thanks.

LordDavon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
    • http://
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2004, 07:59:44 pm »
It is on the feed as well as the ultima6 port.

LD

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2004, 09:27:48 am »
nice ... thank you.

what\'s your recommendation for an apple][ emulator for the Z?
have you run any of them?

Scott

LordDavon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
    • http://
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2004, 09:44:35 am »
There is already an Apple II emulator on the feed.  Kegs is an Apple IIgs emulator.

LD

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2004, 12:37:39 pm »
er, right.... so this is the one that you recommend...

see, I\'m going to compile them on sparc, etc... so it\'s great that
we have them in the feed -- but notice that steem is binary only.
that doesn\'t help us on arm.... it doesn\'t help me on sparc, etc.

Scott

LordDavon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
    • http://
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2004, 12:59:33 pm »
Steem is not an option at this time.  Once they release the code (and hoping it is not too assembler optimized) then porting should be fairly easy.

LD

PaulB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • http://
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2004, 09:53:52 am »
LordDavon:

I\'ve been trying nuvie. Extracted the binary from your tar. Made one dir with the binary, the Ultima6 game files (converted to lower case names) and a nuvie.cfg in it. This is what I get:

Loading Config from \'/home/root/.nuvierc\': Failed.
Loading Config from \'nuvie.cfg\': Done.
Attempting to set vid mode: 320x200x16x2 Software Surface
Using scaler: Point
Initial gametime: 7-04-0161 08:00 A.M.
Fatal signal: Segmentation Fault (SDL Parachute Deployed)

I\'m running pdaXrom 1.0.0 with the feed versions of sdl*.

LordDavon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
    • http://
Problem running Ultima4
« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2004, 11:27:17 am »
I am getting the same.  I am not sure of the issue.  strace is telling me that there is a problem with memory.  I am going to see what I can find.

LD