Author Topic: Kismet on the 6000  (Read 79098 times)

cvmiller

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #75 on: June 10, 2005, 07:36:24 am »
Quote
ok, that takes care of one aspect.  I've been trying to do it all from the console, and haven't gotten very far yet.

The first part of the problem is to get the interface up.  I've discovered that I can do a:

usbctl on 1

and that'll turn it on.  I'm still trying to get it to go in "mode monitor" that I keep reading about.  No luck so far.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=83615\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Yes, doing it all from the console is a little trickier than the GUI, but it can still be done. BTW, I have a AdHoc network setup in my Zaurus (GUI) that I just fire up before running Kismet and that works pretty well. However if you want to do it all from the console you need to do a bit more typing:
   usbctl on 1
   sleep 1
   wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_ifstate ifstate=enable
   ifconfig wlan0 1.1.1.1 up

Then start kismet. After you are done with Kismet, turning off the interface is a bit easier:
   usbctl off 1

I have run Kismet this way, while accessing my Zaurus via ethernet (a CF card) and it works fine, just not as portable ;-)

I hope this helps,

Craig...
SL-6000
ROM v1.12 (Sharp)
Belkin F8U1500 IR Keyboard
1 GB SD Card by SanDisk (ext2)

ken

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #76 on: June 10, 2005, 12:49:43 pm »
Quote
usbctl on 1
   sleep 1
   wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_ifstate ifstate=enable
   ifconfig wlan0 1.1.1.1 up

wow.  I don't think I'd ever guess the rest of it!  That seems to take care of the interface.

I noticed if I left in the "cisco,gps" part in logtypes that it'd complain about cisco things, so I took that out.  It works great in the kismet GUI, just have to play more to get the kismet console part going.  Something about "Error opening terminal: vt100" - which I think is because it's trying to open that kind of session in my bash shell.  It's getting close!

Thanks for the hints thus far.
SL-6000L Sharp ROM 1.12 - 1G SD (RiDATA) - 2G Microdrive (Hitachi)
TRENDnet TE-CF100 10/100 (no drivers needed) AmbiCom CF56M-EZ modem (no drivers needed)

cvmiller

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #77 on: June 11, 2005, 08:54:55 am »
Quote
It works great in the kismet GUI, just have to play more to get the kismet console part going.  Something about "Error opening terminal: vt100" - which I think is because it's trying to open that kind of session in my bash shell.  It's getting close!

Thanks for the hints thus far.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=83734\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Ken,

Hmm, are you starting this as root? Here's a script I have that I use to start kismet, called, not surprizingly start_kismet (in /usr/local/bin)
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh

export TERMINFO=/usr/share/terminfo
export TERM=linux

kismet_hopper &
sleep 2
kismet

I have been using this script for previous versions of Kismet (which is where I got the kismet_hopper part). I just added the TERM info with this version. I am using qkonsole for my terminal program, and I'll warn you that the lines drawn on the terminal (to separate the areas of the UI) don't look like lines, but I hadn't bothered me enough to seek a solution.

I suppose if you wanted you could add all the bring the interface up, and then shut it down afterwards in this script as well, just never needed to (since I use the GUI to bring up my AdHoc interface config).

I hope this helps,

Craig...
SL-6000
ROM v1.12 (Sharp)
Belkin F8U1500 IR Keyboard
1 GB SD Card by SanDisk (ext2)

ken

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #78 on: June 11, 2005, 01:34:17 pm »
Quote
Hmm, are you starting this as root? Here's a script I have that I use to start kismet, called, not surprizingly start_kismet (in /usr/local/bin)
[code]
#!/bin/sh

export TERMINFO=/usr/share/terminfo
export TERM=linux

ahhhhhh!  It was complaining of having to use vt100.  ok, that certainly explains it then.  I had looked at the TERM and it was showing vt100, so I was thinking, what did I do wrong, it has the vt100 that it's complaining about, why is it complaing that it doesn't have that.  I hadn't known that it did NOT want vt100.

That solves it!  Much appreciate - kismet comes right up now.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2005, 01:45:25 pm by ken »
SL-6000L Sharp ROM 1.12 - 1G SD (RiDATA) - 2G Microdrive (Hitachi)
TRENDnet TE-CF100 10/100 (no drivers needed) AmbiCom CF56M-EZ modem (no drivers needed)

cvmiller

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #79 on: June 12, 2005, 08:23:43 am »
Quote
ahhhhhh!  It was complaining of having to use vt100.  ok, that certainly explains it then.  I had looked at the TERM and it was showing vt100, so I was thinking, what did I do wrong, it has the vt100 that it's complaining about, why is it complaing that it doesn't have that.  I hadn't known that it did NOT want vt100.

That solves it!  Much appreciate - kismet comes right up now.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=83855\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Ken,

Glad to hear you are having success. Actually if you _want_ to use vt100 you can, just change 'linux' to 'vt100' in my script. I think the real complain was that it didn't know where to get the terminfo. I changed mine to vt100 just to see if it would fix the "line drawing" problem, and it didn't. But Kismet works. I switched it back to 'linux' because I like the color output (vt100 was only b&w).

Let me know if you get sound working (I lack /usr/bin/play).

Happy sniffing,

Craig...
SL-6000
ROM v1.12 (Sharp)
Belkin F8U1500 IR Keyboard
1 GB SD Card by SanDisk (ext2)

pelendur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #80 on: June 12, 2005, 12:17:23 pm »
Quote
Glad to hear you are having success. Actually if you _want_ to use vt100 you can, just change 'linux' to 'vt100' in my script. I think the real complain was that it didn't know where to get the terminfo. I changed mine to vt100 just to see if it would fix the "line drawing" problem, and it didn't. But Kismet works. I switched it back to 'linux' because I like the color output (vt100 was only b&w).

Let me know if you get sound working (I lack /usr/bin/play).

Happy sniffing,

Craig...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=83931\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

The line drawing problem can be easily fixed by changing the simpleborders option in kismet_ui.conf to true, i.e. simpleborders=true.  As for sound, the kismet_3.0.1c-20031228_arm.ipk mentioned earlier in this thread has /usr/bin/play and the various required sound files.  You should be able to extract those files from the ipk.  Hope this helps.

Patrick
SL-6000L (thanks Santa's elves) with Sharp 1.12 ROM
SL-5500 with tkc ROM 1.0 & Pocketworkstation
Ambicom WL1100C Wifi card
Ambicom BT2000E BT card
Lexar 512Mb SD, Viking 256 Mb CF

ken

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #81 on: June 12, 2005, 01:35:31 pm »
This is great!  For the longest time, we were forced to use the 2003 version of kismet.  Now the 6K can use the latest version of kismet, and all of the issues one by one are falling away.

I looked in the 2003 kismet, and indeed play, the sound files and a number of other things were there.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2005, 01:36:09 pm by ken »
SL-6000L Sharp ROM 1.12 - 1G SD (RiDATA) - 2G Microdrive (Hitachi)
TRENDnet TE-CF100 10/100 (no drivers needed) AmbiCom CF56M-EZ modem (no drivers needed)

cvmiller

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #82 on: June 22, 2005, 07:07:28 am »
Quote
I looked in the 2003 kismet, and indeed play, the sound files and a number of other things were there.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=83949\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

It took a while, but I finally found some time to tease apart the older Kismet ipk (v 3.01) and you are right the sound player (play and sox) and wav files are there.

I created a new tar file of just the files I wanted on my linux laptop, and untarred them onto the Zaurus, and now Kismet has sound again!

Thanks to all for your help in getting this very useful utility running again on the Zaurus!

Craig...
SL-6000
ROM v1.12 (Sharp)
Belkin F8U1500 IR Keyboard
1 GB SD Card by SanDisk (ext2)

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #83 on: June 22, 2005, 02:36:05 pm »
Just to let you guys know there is a newer version at the kismet web site.  Oh, one quick question, how the hell do you turn off e-mail notifications??
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

anmol10

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #84 on: June 28, 2005, 01:47:07 pm »
Thanks all for testing out the latest version of Kismet. I'm still using the 2003 version.

Just wondering if the latest version still had the problem of Kismet (console) hanging after an hour or so. On my SL 6000s, Kismet tends to hang after an hour or so of scanning for networks. (I'm using Kismet to scan wifi networks and obtain an approximate idea of my location, so I need it running hours at a time).

Any ideas if Wellenrieter would be a better solution?

-A

cvmiller

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #85 on: June 29, 2005, 07:45:22 pm »
Quote
Thanks all for testing out the latest version of Kismet. I'm still using the 2003 version.

Just wondering if the latest version still had the problem of Kismet (console) hanging after an hour or so. On my SL 6000s, Kismet tends to hang after an hour or so of scanning for networks. (I'm using Kismet to scan wifi networks and obtain an approximate idea of my location, so I need it running hours at a time).

Any ideas if Wellenrieter would be a better solution?

-A
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=86207\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

If you read the change file in the latest Kismet, it sounds like this problem might be solved in the most recent release.

Craig...
SL-6000
ROM v1.12 (Sharp)
Belkin F8U1500 IR Keyboard
1 GB SD Card by SanDisk (ext2)

anmol10

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #86 on: July 07, 2005, 06:20:44 pm »
Arrgh! I've spent the last few days seeking a reliable wireless network scanner which can run on the Zaurii for hours on end (I can arrange an external battery). I'm trying to build software which can approximate my location (kinda rough indoor GPS) based on wifi access points, similar to the IBM placelab project.

- Kismet 2003
Installs cleanly, but freezes up after an hour or so.  It seemed like kismet_client would die after a while, so I wrote a shell script which invoked kismet_server for 100 seconds (after network configuration), kill it, and then sleep for 2  minutes. The system freezes up after a few tries (5-7).

- Kismet 2005
Installs cleanly, thanks to Craig and Ken's instructions. Same problem though, freezes up even faster (10-15 minutes). I looked at the changelog, but wasn't sure what is exactly causing the freezeups.

- Wellenreiter II
Installs cleanly, doesn't freeze up, but scanning slows down after 5-6 minutes, ultimately coming to a halt

- iwlist wlan0 scan
This should give me a list of available networks, which is basically what I care about. However, the iwlist scan command is apparently not implemented in the SL6000 iwtools package

For all these, I'm storing my log files on a 256 MB CF card, so it isn't running out of disk space. I've been using two SL6000s with the Sharp ROM, so its not about a particular Zaurus. I'm in an area where I can see atleast 15 access points and several networks. Kismet 2005 with the same configuration (except source=) works fine on my Knoppix laptop for hours on end.

AFAIK, there are only two possible causes. Either the Zaurus/Kismet combination is running out of memory, or the network card is put into a bad state. I'm not sure what to try next to diagnose and fix the problem. Probably something to check how much memory is being used.

If someone here has Kismet / Wellenreiter working for hours on end without dying out, I would love to know how.

Sorry for the long post, but I'm looking for any ideas.

Thanks,
-Anmol
« Last Edit: July 07, 2005, 06:26:25 pm by anmol10 »

ken

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #87 on: July 07, 2005, 10:36:32 pm »
Quote
For all these, I'm storing my log files on a 256 MB CF card, so it isn't running out of disk space.

probably running out of space.  try this. do a terminal session and then type:

df -h

check how much space is on /home
SL-6000L Sharp ROM 1.12 - 1G SD (RiDATA) - 2G Microdrive (Hitachi)
TRENDnet TE-CF100 10/100 (no drivers needed) AmbiCom CF56M-EZ modem (no drivers needed)

anmol10

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #88 on: July 13, 2005, 07:42:47 pm »
Quote
probably running out of space.  try this. do a terminal session and then type:

df -h


Alright, fixed it!  I basically ended up doing the following,

- Followed Craig's instructions (usbctl, wlanctl-ng) after every run to shutdown the wireless card
- Used a C application instead of a bash script

The error seemed to be from the driver. I was running 'free' and 'df' in my bash script, and watching out for substantially low memory or disk space.

So now I have a Zaurus application(KismetManager) that continiously scans for 802.11 access points and bluetooth devices in  proximity. It fires up every 60 seconds, scans, stores networks and BTids into a log file and goes back to sleep. Its going to be part of a larger application that maps these to a BuddyList and known locations, and also records my speech and  motion when interesting events occur. If only I had a SL6000 expansion sleeve, I could also take images at the 'interesting' moments. Its been running for the last 5 hours straight ;-)

Cool, thanks a lot guys. All of this stuff is open source, and although we don't have a stable release yet, I can post links to our CVS.

-Anmol

eji

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
    • http://charlatan.blogspot.com/
Kismet on the 6000
« Reply #89 on: July 29, 2005, 04:27:31 pm »
Can anyone post the instructions in this thread? The ZUG site has been down for a few days since getting hacked, and the Kismet step-by-step has gone with it.
Zaurus SL-6000L w/ Sharp ROM v1.12 - 1GB SanDisk CF - 1GB Lexar SD - Socket Rev. E BT CF | Mac OS X 10.5.x - iMac 24" 2.8Ghz | SIP: 864753@voip.brujula.net - 1 747 603 3461 (Gizmo/SIPhone)