Author Topic: Ambicom Wireless Card Install  (Read 2556 times)

Computer_geek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Ambicom Wireless Card Install
« on: March 03, 2004, 10:54:56 am »
I have a SL-5600 and was wondering if there was any Linux drivers I need to get to install the ambicom (WL1100c-CF) wireless CF card?  I don\'t see anyting on the CD and didn\'t want to plug it in before I knew for sure.

jorvic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • http://
Ambicom Wireless Card Install
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2004, 02:03:30 pm »
Thats the same card im using right now. Though its on a 5500. I just plugged it in and was good to go. Mainly using it on OZ so cant be for sure about the sharp ROM but I would bet it works fine. Mine uses the hostapp modules but most of that was taken care of for me. I just plugged this in and it worked

dz

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 589
    • View Profile
    • http://www.dangerz.net
Ambicom Wireless Card Install
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2004, 02:23:04 pm »
ehh i used that card on a sl5600..  it was ok, but i didnt like its range and compatibility with my linksys router

i got the linksys wifi card instead
http://www.dangerz.net
c860 : Cacko
The greatest experience we can have is the mysterious.
- Albert Einstein

jorvic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • http://
Ambicom Wireless Card Install
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2004, 02:46:35 pm »
The ambicom is the only wifi card I\'ve really spent some time using. How would you say its range compares with other wifi cards? I figured I might attempt to crack that one open and make a larger antenna for it. Then just buy a nicer CF wifi card and leave it alone.

Computer_geek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Ambicom Wireless Card Install
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2004, 09:21:57 pm »
All I had to do was configure it in the network settings and it worked fine.

LXLibrarian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • http://
Ambicom Wireless Card Install
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2004, 02:58:45 pm »
Well, my Ambicom card (running on a 5500 with default ROM) gives me trouble constantly. Sometimes, I have to eject the card, reinsert it and then it MIGHT work. If it doesn\'t work, I have to eject it again and then reboot. Sometimes the reboot freezes the Zaurus. Then, I have to do a hard reset. Luckily, I do regular backups!!

After a hard reset, the card works for a while, and then stops. It\'s not the network settings - could it be my ROM? Anyone know how I can fix this?

Thanks in advance.

mp2100zaurus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • http://
Ambicom Wireless Card Install
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2004, 05:23:32 pm »
The WL-1100C-CF works perfectly well for me in my 5500, with the Sharp ROM (2.37, so it\'s older, but I think the newer Sharp ROMs work just as well).
SL-5500 w/Sharp 2.37
Ambicom cf56m-ez modem
Ambicom wl1100c-cf wifi
IrDA to T68 mobile

dmay

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • http://
Ambicom Wireless Card Install
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2004, 08:40:09 pm »
I\'ve been useing the Ambicom WL-1100C-CF card witth my 5600 with no
problems, worked great out-o-box.  Currently useing the standard Sharp 1.32  ROM, but it also worked fine with the OZ 3.3.6pre ROM for the couple
of weeks that I had it loaded.  Since it\'s the only CF wireless card I own I
can\'t give you any comparison there.  Not quite the same range as my
laptop with built in wireless but, that\'s expected since the antenna is only a
fraction of that available on the laptop.

Anonymous

  • Guest
Ambicom Wireless Card Install
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2004, 02:45:05 pm »
When I plug the wl1100c-cf into the sl-5600 (using the sharp rom), it is immediately detected and the networking screen shows its MAC. However, the card doesn\'t see my wireless network. The network is there -- various laptops in my house are using it -- but the card sees nothing. Any ideas on what I might try next? TIA -- wylbur.

Anonymous

  • Guest
Ambicom Wireless Card Install
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2004, 05:24:24 pm »
when I tap the network icon in the tool tray, the card tries to connect: the card led blinks and the base station led also blinks. When I watch the network config screen, I can see the signal strength detected, but the essid isn\'t detected and dhcp doesn\'t work. Ideas? - wylbur