Author Topic: How do I determine the Gemini "version"?  (Read 1612 times)

jsc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
How do I determine the Gemini "version"?
« on: July 07, 2018, 07:12:15 am »
I just got a new Gemini and it appears to be just running Android, no multiboot. When I start (by pressing the Esc key) and hold down the silver button as soon as it vibrates, nothing happens, Android just starts normally.

So, I gather from this that I must flash a new OS onto the machine. Therefore, I went to the "Gemini Partition Tool" page (http://support.planetcom.co.uk/partitionTool.html) to try to get a new image with a Debian OS on it. Unfortunately, the page requires that I identify my Gemini "version", by which it means model number. The choices are:

Gemini x27
Gemini x25
Gemini WiFi-only

How can I determine which one I have? There are no markings on the case and I could find no option in the settings telling me the version.

Also, is it possible to have a Debian-only machine (no Android)? The tool choices seem to require an Android partition.

Finally, what is the minimum Android partition size?

Thanks for any help.

DJO

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
How do I determine the Gemini "version"?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2018, 07:19:20 am »
Quote from: jsc
How can I determine which one I have? There are no markings on the case and I could find no option in the settings telling me the version.
Thanks for any help.

If you can make calls it's not the WiFi only version, if you have 2 SIMs (1 physical, 1 eSim) it's an x27.

Whilst you don't seem to be able to have just Linux, you can make it the first partition and have the minimum space for Android (probably around 5G) and never, ever boot into it.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2018, 07:22:41 am by DJO »

jsc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
How do I determine the Gemini "version"?
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2018, 01:29:31 pm »
Quote from: DJO
Quote from: jsc
How can I determine which one I have? There are no markings on the case and I could find no option in the settings telling me the version.
Thanks for any help.

If you can make calls it's not the WiFi only version, if you have 2 SIMs (1 physical, 1 eSim) it's an x27.

Whilst you don't seem to be able to have just Linux, you can make it the first partition and have the minimum space for Android (probably around 5G) and never, ever boot into it.

Assume I am stupid and do not know how to do either of these two things.

What are the STEP BY STEP instructions for determining the model type of my Gemini?

Dixit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
How do I determine the Gemini "version"?
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2018, 02:11:30 pm »
You have a line of symbols in the right corner.

Starting from the clock, you have the battery.

Going to the left...

- If the next one is a triangle, you have a 4G Gemini.
- If you have one triange it's the X25, if you have two triangles, its the X27.
- If you have zero triangles then you have the WiFi only.

Now, beware... that's the simple part !

If you think that is complicated, any other instruction will be more complicated.
If you do not understand the instructions and do not complete them flawlessly, then you will destroy the Gemini.

jsc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
How do I determine the Gemini "version"?
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2018, 04:09:18 pm »
Thanks very much. That was very helpful.

I have triangle, gray sim card (?) with slash through it, and a full battery symbol.

I guess that means I have an X25 with no sim card in it.

DJO

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
How do I determine the Gemini "version"?
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2018, 09:13:50 pm »
Quote from: jsc
Thanks very much. That was very helpful.

I have triangle, gray sim card (?) with slash through it, and a full battery symbol.

I guess that means I have an X25 with no sim card in it.

If you got your one in March then that's almost a certainty, if you got it recently it's unlikely.

Do you still have the box it came in? If you do if there is one IMEI number it's a x25, if there are 2 IMEI numbers then it's a x27