Author Topic: RiscOS on Gemini?  (Read 2087 times)

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3698
    • View Profile
RiscOS on Gemini?
« on: October 26, 2018, 02:08:02 pm »
Now that RiscOS is open source, I wonder if anyone will try building it for the Gemini?

https://www.theregister.co.uk/2018/10/23/ri...os_open_source/

I'm not sure that anyone would use it as their primary OS, and you might not get many people trying it, but it's an interesting thing.
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

salvomic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
    • View Profile
RiscOS on Gemini?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2018, 02:27:44 pm »
why not?
nice interface and a bit of ...nostalgy.

Salvo
Gemini, Psion S5 and S5mx, iPhone, iPad, Huawei MediaPad M5, some HP calculators.
Psion Fans Italia moderator

Dixit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
    • View Profile
RiscOS on Gemini?
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2018, 04:15:08 pm »
Quote from: speculatrix
Now that RiscOS is open source, I wonder if anyone will try building it for the Gemini?

https://www.theregister.co.uk/2018/10/23/ri...os_open_source/

I'm not sure that anyone would use it as their primary OS, and you might not get many people trying it, but it's an interesting thing.

Cool !

While we're at it... could some of you tech wizzes also revive another ancient OS running on ARM chips ?
It was called EPOC.

Because then at least we could get the Agenda application back to work again.

KF6GPE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
RiscOS on Gemini?
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2018, 02:18:59 pm »
I used RiscOS as a development workstation for an ARM-based settop box in the late 90's. I remember it as being very fast for its time, although the UI was a little weird. It was at the time where Mac, Windows, and X Windows did things like window sizing and copy/paste just differently enough that if you had to switch between machines, your head hurt. I may still have the workstation out in the garage from the project.

I'm not sure how suited to the Gemini it would be --- it was very mouse-centric and wanted a big screen. Looking at the source code might be fun, though.

andrewl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
RiscOS on Gemini?
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2018, 09:47:43 am »
RiscOS runs nicely on one core of the Raspberry Pi, it cannot use the other three so it will be lost on the X27's 10 - but RISCOS is quite lightweight enough that it might run in an emulator on a Gemini linux.

Needs a middle mouse button though.